How to deal with sorta-remission BG readings? Shoot once a day?

soreto

Member Since 2025
Kitty was diagnosed 7 months ago. I used the SLGS method & in that time, he has gone from super high BG all the way to under 200.

I've now gotten to the point where I regularly struggle with whether to shoot or not because he has BG readings that are 'normal' for a non-diabetic cat. (between 80-120 on a pet meter)

I read about the Tight regulation method & it seems I am stuck on phase 3 & 4. Last month, it went like this-

1) he'll be on 1.25u for a week or so; his BG will dip too low, so i'll drop the dose to 1u.
2) he'll be on 1u for a week or so; his BG will go too high, so i'll up the dose back to 1.25.

This month, he is steadily having BG that is under 200- sometimes in the 'normal' range, other times between 120-200. Is this what it looks like transitioning to remission? There are multiple days where I've only shot once a day due to the AM reading being in the normal range.
 
A non-diabetic cat's glucose level is between 50-120, I do not give dosing advice, but changing dose according to the BG, it can very well be the reason for the ups and downs, Lantus I do know that since it is a Depot insulin, it takes about 7 days for the system to adjust to the cats system, remission happens when you stop using insulin altogether due to decreasing the dose 0.25u at a time, until there's no insulin dependency, example if you look at Corky's spreadsheet, click below in blue, you will see that his BG numbers are most in the low two digit BG numbers, that does not mean he is on remission, unfortunately he will be a lifetime diabetic so far, all cats are different of course, He is on ProZinc, if your cats' BG numbers fluctuate, it very well be the changes in doses, called Bounce, he will bounce from low to high numbers till he's body gets used to the dose Just give it time. I will tag a member that can give you dosing advice, is a holiday weekend, be a bit patient, but do not change the dose on the BG, and in this case, you should test at least every 3-4 hours tio make sure the dose change does not dive the B G too low
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
It would be very helpful to see what the actual numbers look like. Even the most experienced members want to see what your data looks like especially if you are dealing with numbers that are looking like your cat's close to remission. It's really hard on the caregiver if stop insulin and them find your cat's numbers are skyrocketing because your decision was premature.

When a cat is in better numbers, the insulin dose is tapered to what amounts to a drop twice a day. Once a day dosing is not a good way to manage dosing.

With Lantus, you can shoot low numbers. If you look at the TR instructions or look on the Lantus board, you'll see that those members who are following TR will give a dose as long as numbers are above 50. With SLGS, most members shoot above 90. (These numbers are based on a human meter.)

Is there any way you can resurrect numbers from your meter? Getting numbers on our spreadsheet will help us see what's going on with your cat's numbers.
 
Back
Top