How to adjust dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Meowluv

Member Since 2013
If Ferdinand is only a little below 200 or maybe right around there when I test should I give the full 3 units or another dosage? How do I determine what dosage to give and won't giving him different doses all the time make him sick? This is all so confusing!

Melody
 
Hi Melody,

It's time for you to put some information in your signature that will help us help you better. Because you have written a new post, we have to search back through all your posts to find the insulin and meter and other information about your cat in order to help you. These bits of information will be in every post you do, just like your SS.

Would you please provide us with some more information and put this in your user control panel? It helps us to help you better.

Go to the upper left corner of your screen and click on the words, User Control Panel
On the next screen, a row of tabs is presented. Select the Profile tab
On the next screen, there are a number of choices along the left hand side. Select Edit Signature from the left hand list of options.
A free form text box appears.
We like to see information like your name, your cats name age and sex, the diagnosis date for the diabetes (e.g. DX 4/30/13), what meter you are using for testing, what insulin you are using , what you are feeding (wet or dry, what brands/style of food), any complicating health issues your cat may have, any additional medications your cat is receiving.

Click on submit to save this information. Now, this will appear at the end of every post you make. You can update the info when you need to.

Think of this as having some very useful information at our finger tips for those that are replying to your posts.

Would you please do those updates when you get a chance? Thanks.
 
Hi Melody,

It looks like you are using ProZinc and getting some very nice numbers. Usually if you are getting preshot numbers too low to dose, it is time to reduce the dose. I would suggest you restart at two units, be sure to get some midcycle numbers. If he is dipping into the 40/50 range at midcycle or your preshot numbers are still under 200, then reduce the dose again. If he is high overall after 3 cycles, then raise by .25 units for the next two cycles.

Our general guidelines for a regulated cat are mid 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir, but above 40 which is hypo range. Here is a huge document with everything you ever needed to know about PZI:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799

We have a PZI forum where everyone who posts has experience with your insulin. If you would like, you can post there and get daily dosing advice:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewforum.php?f=24

BTW, great job on testing and setting up your spreadsheet! :-D
 
Yes I will put that info in my siggy. I am also having a very hard time with the ss as it won't automatically update.

How do you handle varying dosage when talking to your veterinarian? What does he/she say? I think my vet would flip out! She already chewed me for doing that recently.
 
Do you all think he is on to high a dosage at 3 units? I've wondered if maybe he isn't on to high of a dosage. Vet started him out at 2 units and went up from there. At one point he was on 5 units.
 
Meowluv said:
Yes I will put that info in my siggy. I am also having a very hard time with the ss as it won't automatically update.

How do you handle varying dosage when talking to your veterinarian? What does he/she say? I think my vet would flip out! She already chewed me for doing that recently.

Thanks for the information in your signature. It makes a big difference for the people helping you.

On the SS not automatically updating. Go to google, sign in, select Drive from the menu, open your spreadsheet.
Click on File, publish to the web, make sure the "Automatically republish when changes are made" box has a check mark in it.
 
Meowluv said:
Do you all think he is on to high a dosage at 3 units? I've wondered if maybe he isn't on to high of a dosage. Vet started him out at 2 units and went up from there. At one point he was on 5 units.

It might be too high. I do not have much experience with PZI beyond the basics. I would suggest you are ready now to post over in the Insulin Support Group, PZI subforum. There are members there that are using PZI. There is even a member, Rob & Harley, that creates custom dosing scales for members based on the information in the SS.

With PZI, I know it is possible to change the dose with each shot, based on what that number is. I don't know how to advise on that though.

When you post, you want to have your subject say: "6/3 Ferdinand Newbie help" Be sure to put the question mark icon radio button on so people know you have a question.

Most vets discourage home testing because it does not generate any revenue for them. They also don't like people changing the doses based on those home testing numbers, even though it is the best thing you can do for your cat.

Have you been sharing the BG numbers with your vet? Have you told him the reasons why you have changed the dose, to keep your cat Fedinand safe. Did you tell him you think the dose is too high?
 
4 units did seem high for a starting dose. It gave you a near hypo number (42) on 5/23 but you reduced from there. You are getting good preshot numbers now on 2 units, but we need some midcycle numbers to see how low he goes.

We are big on starting low and going slow - we like to see cats start on one unit and then slowly increase as you get numbers.

I think your 2 units is good - if that is where you are today (your ss is not updated?) - but midcycle numbers would tell us for sure. Once you get those numbers on a 2 unit dose, then you will know whether he needs to go up or down in dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top