How Quickly Does their BG Increase After Eating?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stephanie Luedke

Member Since 2020
My little guy, Felix, just finished eating and his BG is at 74. Obviously I didn't give him his 1.5 units of Lantus after eating because of that number but I'm just worried and wondering how long it takes for their numbers to start increasing after eating?

Attached is his spreadsheet.

Long story short, he hasn't needed his PM shot the last 3 nights now but he is still getting 1.5 units in the AM.
 

Attachments

I don’t agree with your vet. I think it’s safe to shoot over 200 and that’s what we do here on Lantus. You may want to check out the Lantus forum sticky notes. Here’s a link:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

also, when you’ve got a minute do you mind setting up your signature? It helps know the basics about your cat at a glance without having to ask too many questions like what food is he on or when was he diagnosed, etc:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/

I think it’s takes about 30 minutes for the food to start bringing the levels up but others will correct me if that’s no right :cat:
 
One more thing, the other option when you got the 74 would be to stall and test again in 30 minutes to see if he’s BG has gone up and it’s safe to shoot

skipping doses so often with Lantus is not great because it reduces the depot. It’s better to start working on that dose decrease. We recommend adjusting doses based on the lowest number in the cycle not the pre shot numbers. The other option, as you’ll see on the sticky note, when you got the 191 and the 212 would be to give a token dose instead of skipping the dose completely. But again at the 212, I would have given him his regular dose
 
Hi Stephanie
Could you set up your signature so that we can see information about Felix please. We are happy to give dosing information but can’t without a SS and information about Felix. At the moment I can’t download your current SS on my device. ETA If you set up your signature then you can transfer your SS to the signature and we will be able to see the SS much better.
Have you looked at which dosing methods you want to follow?
 
Last edited:
Hi Stephanie
Could you set up our SS please and your signature so that we can see information about Felix. We are happy to give dosing information but can’t without a SS and information about Felix. At the moment I can’t download your current SS on my device.
Have you looked at which dosing methods you want to follow?
I was able to open it from my phone and she’s on Lantus but no protocol selected. She does test quite a lot which is awesome!!!
 
Sorry, this forum is very new to me so I didn't know about the signature. There's a lot of information on here and it can be overwhelming so I didn't know I needed a signature. I added it now.
Felix is 9 years old and is a Ragdoll. He was diagnosed in October 2019 and we started him very slowly on insulin and small doses because he is very sensitive to very small amounts and very small increases. His numbers go crazy for days when there is even the smallest of increase in his dosage. He doesn't have any other major health concerns - all his blood work is great whenever we get it checked.
As far as home testing goes - we typically use 2 Freestyle Libres each month, they last usually the whole 14 day period. I have tried very hard to home test but it has proven incredibly difficult with him. He is not an aggressive boy but when I try to test him he becomes incredibly aggressive. I have even tried drugging him but even then, he barely bleeds. And I have absolutely tried everything to warm his ear to get the blood flow going but he somehow isn't much of a bleeder - the vet has even said this many times even before his diagnosis. I feel like a huge failure in that regard because I know how important it is and have tried and tried many times. I have tried making it the most positive experience by giving him his favorite treats and keeping a calm environment but it doesn't work for him. I still continue to try though.
I'm not sure what's wrong with people accessing my spreadsheet. I'll try to figure that out.
I understand that you would typically shoot for anything above 200 - I'm not sure if that's best for Felix because he again, is very sensitive to his insulin and very often drops pretty low when he gets his dose. I do agree with reducing the dose though when needed. I think my question wasn't so much about dosing because it sounds like Felix might be a little more sensitive to changes in dosing but more so just about getting insulin once per day and seeing if anyone else has experience with that?
 
No need to apologize. It is a LOT of information. I totally get it. It was overwhelming for me at first as well. I remember someone asking me if I was following TR or SLGS and I was like, can you speak English please? ;) When you set up the ss, make sure you make it public and add the link to it on your signature. That way we can click on it and access it. Let us know if you need help some folks here can help you get it set up :)

if the libre works for you, then that’s great. The important thing is you’re monitoring his BG levels you’re doing the best you can and you’re going great so hang in there and I know we can help you get Feliz regulated:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
Thank you! He had another hypo yesterday. I'm not sure if this will work but I have attached the spreadsheet. He went into the 50s in the 5:00pm hour - 13 hours after getting his AM dose. He didn't get an injection last night but got one this AM.
 

Attachments

I'm not sure what the issue is but I'll try to figure it out when I have a minute.
6.4.20 AMPS 362 +3=301 +4=260 +5= 246 +6=241 +7=263 +8=225 +9=192 +10=155 +11=114 PMPS=74.
After he ate he continued to go down into the 60s and eventfully 50s. He didn't have any symptoms and wasn't acting weird but I did give him some honey and then after a while he started to go up and had the following readings (again, didn't get his PM dose) +2=194 +3=298 +4=322 +5=328 +6=321 +8=313

This morning AMPS he was at 348. I gave him 1.25 units and we're at +6 right now and he's at 265.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top