How often should I test

Status
Not open for further replies.

milfordcollector

Member Since 2012
Afternoon everyone! I gave Sabrina her 1st dose of Lantus yesterday morning ( RX 1iu every 12 hrs.) AMBS was 272, + 9hr 132, PMBS 242, threw up overnight. This morning had trouble getting her out from under my bed...AMBS 252, +2 320. As I'm just starting out how often should I test her BG & @ how many hrs in should I be seeing her lowest level? Also, what is is the best way to collect urine for ketone testing.....she's a very private kitty & dashes off when anyone goes near her food or litterbox....she's also difficult when testing for BG even though she gets a treat & extra loving! :evil: I have created her profile & spreadsheet on google docs, but alas, I'm not good with computers :oops: & am having trouble publishing everything. Any help would be greatly appreciated....thank you Cindy & Sabrina (milfordcollector) :dizcat
 
1) Before every shot, to make sure it is safe

2) Sometime between +5 to +7 hours after the shot to see how low she goes. Some folks do this at night by setting an alarm; others by coming home during lunch, and some only manage it during weekends or days off.

3) a before bed check allows you to see if you're going to be up all night monitoring your cat due to low values or can go to sleep
 
Definitely before every shot. For newbies, we usually suggest using 200 as your "don't shoot" number. So if the reading is 200 or less you want to skip the shot. Your next reading will probably be considerably higher, but that is expected.

As you learn how your cat responds to the dose, you will be able to lower the "don't shoot" number. This is done by testing between shots. You can test around midpoint as was already suggested. You can also test more frequently - every 2-3 hours in between shots. This is what we refer to as a curve. You usually will not want to do a curve until your cat has been on its current dose for about a week. That is how long it usually takes for the body to adjust to a new dose. Once you know how your cat is responding to the dose, you will be able to determine if a dose change is needed and eventually lower your don't shoot range.

Also, every time you test, you want to reward Sabrina with a low carb treat, even if you are not successful in testing. She will soon assoicate getting treats with testing and begin to be more cooperative. :mrgreen:
 
hi Cindy

if the spreadsheet is on Google docs/drive, you need to make sure it Shared so we can view it (there should be a blue icon, top right in the spreadsheet that lets you share with anyone with a link)

then add the spreadsheet to your signature in this forum by going to "User Control Panel" at the top of the page (just under The FDMB icon)
click on the "Profile" tab
click on "Edit Signature"
It should look like the code below - just add in your spreadsheet url - make sure you have enough matching "[" and "]" - they go in pairs.

eg.
 
Please everyone...think I got it posted!

Anyone looking....I think I finally got Sabrina's profile & spreadsheet posted :RAHCAT Please let me know if you can access her information.....I'm going to do a BG in about 20 minutes & post that....let me know your opinion. Again any suggestions on ketone testing....switched her to high protein, low carb wet fancy feast about 2 months ago....just started the lantus yesterday....should I be testing ketones right from the get go? thanks again, Cindy & Sabrina confused_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top