How low is too low?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shachsmom

Member Since 2019
Precious has not needed insulin for a full week. I’m thrilled and his vet thinks he’s going into remission.

My question is, if he is in remission, how low can his bg get before I get concerned? It seems to be getting lower and lower. Tonight it was under 100.

I hope I’m worrying for nothing and that this is normal.

I appreciate all the help I’ve received from this forum. You all are incredible!
 
Since your signature days you're using the AlphaTrak meter, "normal" BG would be in the 70-120ish range (human meters read lower, so the low end on a human meter is often quoted at around 50).

That said, you shouldn't have to worry about "too low" if you're NOT giving insulin injections. The only exception is a rare (in cats) medical condition called an insulinoma, which doesn't apply in your case.
 
Normal pet lab BG is considered to be in the 68 to 150 range (up to 175 using IDEXX lab values) so Precious is staying within normal limits and today's numbers were definitely well within normal range. On occasion, non diabetic cats can read below 68 so as mentioned you don't need to worry about numbers going too low.

I agree with Bron that usually we would recommend reducing the dose of insulin gradually to ensure a strong remission but that is a little more difficult to do with Vetsulin because it can cause steep, fast drops in BG even with tiny doses in some cats. Given the readings you are getting now, I'd continue testing for a period of 14 consecutive days. If Precious can go without insulin for that period of time, then we would consider him to be in remission. Your half way there.

If you get a number above 125 or so, it would be a good idea to check BG again about 3 hours post meal to see if BG has come down on its own. If BG has dropped, that is a good indication Precious' pancreas is working well and doing its job.

Good luck. Do keep us posted as we love success stories.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top