? How low is too low to shoot low? Mimi 5/29 am+12 @79

Her brother woke me up at +11 and I gave him some of his morning food while Mimi watched licking her lips so I gave her a tiny piece of food- probably didn’t affect the 79 reading but wondering if it was lower initially.. when it’s 79 does it mean that it was like 40 something only a few hours ago?


I’m thinking of going down to just 1.5 and shooting it to stay low or should I wait and see if she’s rising?
 
Most experienced people will shoot anything over 50 as long as they can monitor. It's really hard to guess what her number was before the 79. She could have been lower, higher, or flat. If you are able to monitor today, it's safe to shoot her regular dose if she doesn't drop. You'll want to get a +1 and a +2 no matter what.
 
You can never tell. TR says to reduce when under 50, so I think you're OK to keep your dose. Deep breath.....it will be OK. Test, feed, shoot. Test again at 1, or 2, and a mid day as well if you can swing it.
 
Ok so her +1 is 85, just fed some MC because I think she’s going to get too close to the sharks very soon...
(Fed her PS, one hour ago, and it’s dropping)
 
BFD1BE9C-40FC-4853-A811-2E3E7EDDBD19.gif
Congrats on shooting your first green number! Hoping you will see s nice flat run of green. For some reason tags are not getting to me.
 

Attachments

  • BFD1BE9C-40FC-4853-A811-2E3E7EDDBD19.gif
    BFD1BE9C-40FC-4853-A811-2E3E7EDDBD19.gif
    18.4 KB · Views: 101
You shot a 60 before. By now, you should have enough +1 data to have a good idea how much a meal will raise her numbers. If her snack was, using it as an example, a quarter of her meal, then calculate the amount her numbers went up as roughly a quarter of her normal food bump. Or whatever percent that snack was. That can give you a rough idea what her non food influenced number would be.
 
You shot a 60 before. By now, you should have enough +1 data to have a good idea how much a meal will raise her numbers. If her snack was, using it as an example, a quarter of her meal, then calculate the amount her numbers went up as roughly a quarter of her normal food bump. Or whatever percent that snack was. That can give you a rough idea what her non food influenced number would be.

I missed that. Lol.
 
Ok Mimi +2.5 is 48, went to test again on the Relion meter because I’m almost out of test strips for freestyle and it’s 66.

I know I need to stick with the same meter but numbers this different mean reductions vs. no reductions you know?

Should I wait or feed her some LC/ MC?
 
Her brother woke me up at +11 and I gave him some of his morning food while Mimi watched licking her lips so I gave her a tiny piece of food- probably didn’t affect the 79 reading but wondering if it was lower initially.. when it’s 79 does it mean that it was like 40 something only a few hours ago?


I’m thinking of going down to just 1.5 and shooting it to stay low or should I wait and see if she’s rising?
I would have held the dose. There was no reason to reduce it and just taking off the fat wouldn’t affect the cycle, due to the depot, although you might see some effect later in the cycle like less duration.

You can’t look at a 79 at AMPS and a 185 last night and deduce that she was at any specific number. It could be that 79 was the nadir.
 
I would have held the dose. There was no reason to reduce it and just taking off the fat wouldn’t affect the cycle, due to the depot, although you might see some effect later in the cycle like less duration.

You can’t look at a 79 at AMPS and a 185 last night and deduce that she was at any specific number. It could be that 79 was the nadir.
Ohhh so you can kind subtract and get results?
I think I’ve done fat and skinny doses because someone mentioned it on here one time and also Mimi wasn’t holding reductions that well?
She seems to be sensitive to the skinny and fat doses. so I should have just stayed at 1.5+?
 
I’m going to give her some MC right now

how are they so off consistently? Ok here me out for a second- if the freestyle consistently reads lower than the Relion could that be a reason she was never holding reductions well?
Think about it- if she got a number below 50 it was a reducie or better yet like now below 40.
That’s why I’m so confused by how the different meters like this can be so off and if I switch to Relion entirely will she finally hold reductions because I won’t be reducing whenever she drops below 50 or 40 (even though I know there’s that long term diabetic protocol with 3 below 50)
Do you know what I mean? I might just switch to Relion maybe these freestyle test strips aren’t that great? I do know I’ll test myself on the freestyle and I’ll get 85 let’s say (if I’ve had no food in hours) and then directly after I will get 110 on Relion!)


Also ignore the times on the devices- the Relion has to be set correctly seeing as I don’t ever use it
 

Attachments

  • 1FA1CBD8-8FCA-468B-BF20-F531BF1C289C.jpeg
    1FA1CBD8-8FCA-468B-BF20-F531BF1C289C.jpeg
    70.4 KB · Views: 56
Ohhh so you can kind subtract and get results?
I don’t know what you mean or are asking.


I think I’ve done fat and skinny doses because someone mentioned it on here one time and also Mimi wasn’t holding reductions that well?
For the most part, until cats are more tightly regulated and just need dose tweaks, most cats do better with adjustments of 0.25u when they need an increase or decrease. I wouldn’t have suggested that you fatten or skinny a dose at this point but since you were already shooting it, I suggested you hold the dose.

I’m going to give her some MC right now

how are they so off consistently? Ok here me out for a second- if the freestyle consistently reads lower than the Relion could that be a reason she was never holding reductions well?
Think about it- if she got a number below 50 it was a reducie or better yet like now below 40.
That’s why I’m so confused by how the different meters like this can be so off and if I switch to Relion entirely will she finally hold reductions because I won’t be reducing whenever she drops below 50 or 40 (even though I know there’s that long term diabetic protocol with 3 below 50)
Do you know what I mean? I might just switch to Relion maybe these freestyle test strips aren’t that great? I do know I’ll test myself on the freestyle and I’ll get 85 let’s say (if I’ve had no food in hours) and then directly after I will get 110 on Relion!)

Also ignore the times on the devices- the Relion has to be set correctly seeing as I don’t ever use it
All I can tell you is what we’ve said before: stick with one meter. It’s smart to buy a backup meter of the same brand. I would never ur a backup meter of a different brand because then you get into this quandary that you are in. I’d stop trying to make sense of one brand of meter’s numbers against another. It’s just a recipe to drive you crazy.
 
+4 93 , waited to feed again, tested at +4.5 got 74, went ahead with some HC only because I have to leave for a few hours and nervous will drop as closer to NADIR. Left food out for +5.5 and +6.6. (MC for both) I might have gone over with the MC but I get nervous if Im not there to test. :(
 
Back
Top