WYMoreta
Member Since 2020
Hi all,
Here's a link to my previous thread: Gizmo - dosing difficulty
I've been trying to get better about dosing her at lower AMPS/PMPS BG levels to keep her level. I once freaked out when I had dosed below 200 and then read the thread to never dose below 200 (as a newcomer). I took that 200 to heart, and have a hard time not freaking out when I do dose below 200. However, Gizmo's been diabetic 5 months, and well monitored for 3, so I am trying to read the numbers and do more <relatively> low BG dosing.
A couple of questions:
We still seem to be chasing the dose. (i.e. this morning 3/31, she was 170 normal AMPS and 164 after waiting a 1/2 hour with no food and no shot). I couldn't see giving her a full dose (1.25) with that, so gave her 0.8. Is it better to settle on a regular dose (maybe 1 Fat?), and not try to watch so closely, or is it better to look at each individual day and follow that?
Is it safe to give Gizmo a full dose at an increasing BG from 167 to 175 (i.e. 3/20)?
How important is it to monitor ketones? I have read (and re-read) Prozinc Dosing Methods, and I see where ketones are discussed several times, but I don't see it a lot in the active posts. And what do you think of the urine vs blood monitoring of ketones? I can't imagine trying to catch the urine while my cat is going, but I also couldn't imagine sticking my poor cat's ears multiple times a day.
Overall, how am I doing? Is there something I should be doing differently?
Thanks,
P.S. - Now to see if I can get the How Low Can You Go Limbo song out of my head.
P.P.S. Tagging a few people: @Marje and Gracie, @JanetNJ , @Deb & Wink
Here's a link to my previous thread: Gizmo - dosing difficulty
I've been trying to get better about dosing her at lower AMPS/PMPS BG levels to keep her level. I once freaked out when I had dosed below 200 and then read the thread to never dose below 200 (as a newcomer). I took that 200 to heart, and have a hard time not freaking out when I do dose below 200. However, Gizmo's been diabetic 5 months, and well monitored for 3, so I am trying to read the numbers and do more <relatively> low BG dosing.
A couple of questions:
We still seem to be chasing the dose. (i.e. this morning 3/31, she was 170 normal AMPS and 164 after waiting a 1/2 hour with no food and no shot). I couldn't see giving her a full dose (1.25) with that, so gave her 0.8. Is it better to settle on a regular dose (maybe 1 Fat?), and not try to watch so closely, or is it better to look at each individual day and follow that?
Is it safe to give Gizmo a full dose at an increasing BG from 167 to 175 (i.e. 3/20)?
How important is it to monitor ketones? I have read (and re-read) Prozinc Dosing Methods, and I see where ketones are discussed several times, but I don't see it a lot in the active posts. And what do you think of the urine vs blood monitoring of ketones? I can't imagine trying to catch the urine while my cat is going, but I also couldn't imagine sticking my poor cat's ears multiple times a day.
Overall, how am I doing? Is there something I should be doing differently?
Thanks,
P.S. - Now to see if I can get the How Low Can You Go Limbo song out of my head.
P.P.S. Tagging a few people: @Marje and Gracie, @JanetNJ , @Deb & Wink