How Long to Wait

Status
Not open for further replies.

elishagt

New Member
Sunshine had been doing well for 2 years on 2 units of Prozine once a day (PM). Suddenly last week her BG shot up to the 300-400s so my vet told me to double her dose to 4units. It has been 5 days, and it still has not brought her levels down. How long should I wait to see if I need to increase? How do I know if I need to go to twice a day? I'm planning on doing a blood curve this weekend and then giving the results to my vet (he wanted me to bring her in and have them, but she gets so stressed that it skews the results).

Thanks for the help and support!!
-Elisha
Louisiana
 
I'm glad you're home testing. Can you post her bg numbers? Do you have a ss?

A 2 unit increase is a very risky move, Prozinc needs to be given twice a day otherwise your kitty is going without insulin for half the day.
 
has prozinc been out 2 years already? wow! time flies if it has been.

shooting insulin once a day is a very rarely successful thing to be honest. and simply doubling the dose and keeping it at only once a day i fear may be dangerous in all honesty. rather than doubling it and staying at once a day, i would go to two times a day shooting first, then increase the dose from there if need be. mind you, i don't know if i would go 2 units twice a day rather than 1 unit twice a day but someone here should be able to help you decide on which of those would be better.
 
I should have added that I didn't go up two right away....I went up to 3 units for 4 days and when I didn't see any results, I went up to 4 (I thought it was too risky also to jump up right away).

I think that I agree with you about going twice a day. Hopefully the curve tomorrow will point me in the right direction. So frustrating when this happens after years of maintenance and even a 4 month honeymoon at the beginning of the year.
 
Actually Prozinc has only been out for 1 year. Manufacturers recomendation is 1 unit twice a day.

Could she have an infection? How are her teeth? What is her general health like. Any bg #'s for us?
 
Rob,
You're right! I checked my notes and saw that my vet switched us to Prozine early May (before we were using PZI).

She had full blood work done last week because I was worried about her, and the only thing not normal was her glucose and slight anemia (on the low end of normal). Even her thyroid (she was diagnosed with hyperthyroidism in June) is normal with her medication. Except for her losing weight and the constant loose bowel movements (she was diagnosed with IBS as a young cat....yes, poor girl has medical issues), she seems healthy.

Her last BGs are the following (they were taken every other day due to my crazy work schedule):
117
159
339
419
376
285
356
356
442 (taken this evening)

Thanks for everyone's input....think that I will work with the blood curve and move her to a b.i.d. schedule. So great to know that there are others out there to be a sounding board off of.
 
IBD can be helped by moving to a grain free [or at least gluten free] diet. There are a few foods that are grain free AND low carb.

What are you feeding?

Also I would encourage you to follow up on the IBD with an ultrasound and perhaps more to look for potential more serious things.

Weight loss might be from the thyroid issue and it might be from something more serious related to the IBD. It's good to just follow through on that and not let it go too far.

You can read about IBD here:
http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/IBD
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top