How late is too late to dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shell

Member Since 2022
Pumpkin just tested at 196 PMPS, so he was given a half dose.

If I test him again in 15 minutes and it has risen significantly above 200, can I give him the rest of his regular dose, or should I now just leave things as they are until the morning?

Edit: It's getting late, so I will leave things until the morning. I was only adamant about doing a curve on Monday. But, if it needs to wait until I can get more days now of full doses, then I must wait. It would still be interesting to know how much of a grace period between doses. I have heard an hour is okay. But for me, the question never has come up.
 
Last edited:
Just leave things as they are for tonight. Don’t shoot twice no matter what. For future reference, you could stall to see if he comes up on his own without food before deciding what dose to give.
 
Just leave things as they are for tonight. Don’t shoot twice no matter what. For future reference, you could stall to see if he comes up on his own without food before deciding what dose to give.
Very helpful. Thank you so much! Holding.
 
Not wanting to sound like a nag but there's a reason you never shoot twice or shoot again after a fur shot no matter how sure you are you've missed. Your aim (obviously) is to lower his numbers but higher numbers are easier to deal with than really low numbers.
Years ago we had a former member who was sure her fur shot had missed. She asked our advice and we basically begged her not to shoot again. She did and the results were not good. I'll just leave it at that.
 
Shell --

I'm going to put this out here for your consideration. You are no longer "new" to managing your cat's diabetes. With new members, we recommend that they do not give a shot if numbers are below 200. Like I said, Pumpkin was diagnosed in September and you've been giving him insulin for approximately 8 months. The difference between a pre-shot of 196 and 200 is insignificant. You could have given your kitty his PM shot.

In addition, we try to encourage members to begin to shoot progressively lower numbers. The mantra with glargine is, "Shoot low to stay low." You will see flatter curves if you are shooting lower numbers. Just as an example, take a look at Tansi's spreadsheet. Cindy shoots low numbers. Granted, she's experienced. Karamella is on a remission trial and was diagnosed in January. These spreadsheets will give you an idea of what happens when you shoot lower numbers. It's completely counterintuitive -- numbers do not necessarily plummet if you shoot low. I'd encourage you to give some thought to what would be a comfortable number for giving a shot and gradually work your way down.
 
Shell --

I'm going to put this out here for your consideration. You are no longer "new" to managing your cat's diabetes. With new members, we recommend that they do not give a shot if numbers are below 200. Like I said, Pumpkin was diagnosed in September and you've been giving him insulin for approximately 8 months. The difference between a pre-shot of 196 and 200 is insignificant. You could have given your kitty his PM shot.

In addition, we try to encourage members to begin to shoot progressively lower numbers. The mantra with glargine is, "Shoot low to stay low." You will see flatter curves if you are shooting lower numbers. Just as an example, take a look at Tansi's spreadsheet. Cindy shoots low numbers. Granted, she's experienced. Karamella is on a remission trial and was diagnosed in January. These spreadsheets will give you an idea of what happens when you shoot lower numbers. It's completely counterintuitive -- numbers do not necessarily plummet if you shoot low. I'd encourage you to give some thought to what would be a comfortable number for giving a shot and gradually work your way down.
Ah, got it! Thank you for that!! I see the spreadsheets and I just regret missing that shot, then.
 
Not wanting to sound like a nag but there's a reason you never shoot twice or shoot again after a fur shot no matter how sure you are you've missed. Your aim (obviously) is to lower his numbers but higher numbers are easier to deal with than really low numbers.
Years ago we had a former member who was sure her fur shot had missed. She asked our advice and we basically begged her not to shoot again. She did and the results were not good. I'll just leave it at that.
Thanks! This is very noted. Never shoot twice. I didn't. But, I am glad that I know for sure now to never, ever shoot twice.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top