How do you know when to see if cat is entering remission?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sock's mom

Member
Hello! I was just curious on signs for cat remission. Socks is getting .5u 2x a day of lantus and her numbers are usually pretty consistent in staying under 120s for the last week or 2. When would I know if I should cut back on her dose more to see how her BG reacts? She's only been on insulin 1 month but i was just curious..I've read the posts and I see how to test and check BG but maybe i missed posts on how to test for remission? Or is that even a thing? I just was unsure if there would be other signs or if you are just supposed to start testing less insulin slowly over time and seeing how the BG numbers react? I hope this makes sense lol thank you!
 
Hello! I was just curious on signs for cat remission. Socks is getting .5u 2x a day of lantus and her numbers are usually pretty consistent in staying under 120s for the last week or 2. When would I know if I should cut back on her dose more to see how her BG reacts? She's only been on insulin 1 month but i was just curious..I've read the posts and I see how to test and check BG but maybe i missed posts on how to test for remission? Or is that even a thing? I just was unsure if there would be other signs or if you are just supposed to start testing less insulin slowly over time and seeing how the BG numbers react? I hope this makes sense lol thank you!
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Wendy&Neko
 
Typically a cat earns dose reductions until there isn't a smaller dose than "zero". So for example with Socks, that 0.5 unit dose would go down to 0.25 units, then down to 0.1 units. And depending on her numbers, there might be a smaller dose called a drop. After that, there is a trial phase we call an OTJ (off the juice) trial where we see how the cat does for 14 days without insulin and if they stay in normal blood sugar values.

The answer to the question "how does a cat earn reductions" depends on what dosing method you are following. Your last post you talked about following Tight Regulation, but your signature and spreadsheet say SLGS.
 
About reductions
If you are going to follow SLGS , this is from the sticky note for SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

I see on your post from 1-10 your u said
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-enough-data-to-start-tr.297386/#post-3235885
I will hold off before changing my ss info to TR until I can tell that I'll be able to check her BG more often on a regular schedule. Thank you again for the help and info
 
About reductions
If you are going to follow SLGS , this is from the sticky note for SLGS
Hold the dose for at least a week:
  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

I see on your post from 1-10 your u said
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-enough-data-to-start-tr.297386/#post-3235885
I will hold off before changing my ss info to TR until I can tell that I'll be able to check her BG more often on a regular schedule. Thank you again for the help and info
Thank you, after I asked I went back through all of the Stickys and found the info. I have to read and research after my kids go to bed so I am not all there most nights while I'm reading and i cant comprehend it lol I appreciate your help
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top