How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sampson

Status
Not open for further replies.

mccat2

Member
How do you know when your babies have had enough?

As some of you have read Sampson continues to have issues and now he is blind and I believe he may be suffering, but it's hard to tell. He is suffering from IBD (severe) and is a transient diabetic. He went blind last Friday and the ER and my Vet believe it is from high blood pressure but I never got a true reading from the ER and my vet was a 170 (which is not horribly high). My vet said he had a detached retina. Sammy is 17 years old.

I gave him a 1/4 of a bp pill yesterday. Yesterday and this a.m. were his worst days that I have ever seen. I don't know if he is going blinder or if it is some other issue going on. I hate to see him like this. He didn't want to eat this morning (he usually has a great appetite). His interaction with me was not the same. I had to lift him onto the bed and despite his blindness until yesterday he has continued jumping up with me. He usually talks to me and follows me around, not at all yesterday night or this a.m. I am in knots trying to figure out what to do.
I took him off of the high blood pressure meds as I have a specialist for vision looking at him tomorrow (God willing). He is really weak last night and this morning so I just couldn't give him another bp pill. (only a 1/4 of a pill but he seems so much worse).
I don't know if he has just had enough, or it's the blindness or if it's something worse like cancer. His sugar is up since the pred. on June 16th. He was at 108 and lower before we gave him a shot of predinsone (short acting). His bg was 270 last night when I checked and it has been in the 200's since the pred. And no I have not injected him, he also had a hypo episode last November from an overdose, as he transient.
My poor little man, what to do? What to watch out for? I just don't know at this point. I don't know if he can even stand another vet appointment. He seems so tired. Do your kittys tell you when they have had enough. This is my 1st experience with this. How is going to adapt to being blind now? Help with some advice. It's hard to see him like this and I don't now if I am doing the right things or if I am making him suffer.


Thanks,
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Oh Vicki, I am so sorry that you and Sampson are going through this.

All I can give you is my experience. I have put two of my sweet cats to sleep. They never let me know it was time. But it seemed clear that they weren't living a good life - they weren't interested in food, they had health issues that I couldn't solve, they weren't responding to me. It just seemed like a gift I could give them - a way out of their pain. I did stay with both of them until they were gone, telling them how much they were loved and what good kitties they were. It was hard and I cried a lot of tears, but I don't regret it for either of them.

Someone wise here once said, "Better a day too early than a day too late". It is hard to put a kitty to sleep or have them die in an emergency situation - it is frightening for the bean and the cat. Better a day early, calmly and lovingly.

Whatever and whenever, you will make the right decision because it will be made from a loving, caring place.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

I don't believe making this final very important decision becomes any easier over time. Over my life, I have had to make that decision 8 times (plus many, many more times than that when I worked at a sanctuary).

Sometimes they told me they were ready, but mostly it was my heart looking deep into theirs to determine what was best. There are websites that show quality of life checklists, but you will know Sampson the best.

I've try to look at it this way: is the treatment (vet visits, pilling, fluiding, force-feeding etc.) causing pain and/or stress? If the answer is yes, then it is time to say goodbye.

Oh God, I'm writing this at work and am beginning to cry for you. It is the hardest act of love that you will ever do.

Hugs and prayers for you and Sampson.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

How do you know if it's time? You can ask your vet what she would do if Sampson was her cat. Ask about prognosis. Ask Sampson.
The fact that you are asking the question means you are worried about Sampson's quality of life, but only you know if it's really time.

I agree, when it's time, it's a act of love.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Only you can make that decision. It is seldom an easy decision to make. I have had to say goodbye to three of mine this year already and only the Twigie was relatively easy, Her mammary tumors started ulcerating. Bailely stopped interacting and had fluid accumulating almost everywhere in his body. MItten completely stopped eating by herself and resisted syringe feeding and stopped interacting aand frequently did not make it to the littler box. She was the hardest.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Hi:
I think the time is quick. I get Sammy about from under the bed with food this evening. He trotted down the hall way and he ate. Then he jumped on my bed and I petted him for a while. He stood and a sort of fell side ways, his hind legs gave out. I was just sitting here reading these threads and he came in I petted him for a bit and when he went to jump up on the chair he lost his balance, fell side ways right himself and jumped and got into the chair. Any ideas why he would suddently be losing his balance? Do you think its attributed to his blindness or blood sugar?


Thanks,
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

I was just reading that loss of balance could be blindness or a stroke. I only gave him the one bp pill (1/4) yesterday and he seemed so weak. Now this evening he has lost his balance. Do you think I should give him another pill. His bp read 170 on Monday, but my vet said he didn't know how reliable his machine was. I am really concerned with imbalance as he has been able to jump up until now (even though he couldn't see).

Thanks again.....
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

I would only give the prescribed amount of bp medicine at the prescribed frequency.

Too much bp medicine can lower the bp to the point of lightheartedness and loss of balance.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

I imagine blindness could contribute to loss of balance.
I just wanted to give you support and cyber hugs for the decisions you are facing.
They are the hardest, most loving, and most dreaded one's we face.
But it is the truest form of selfless love. The kind we share with our furries.
(((((((((Vicki and Sampson)))))))
Lori
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Vicki,
Hi, I was wondering if your vet gave your kitty a comprehensive blood test lately? My 21 year old has CRF and has been really wobbly lately and falling over when she walks and tries to jump. I've seen her topple over just turning around in the litter box. I had bloodwork done last week and found that she was really potassium deficient and started giving her a supplement for that, Renal-K, and she seems much better now. I'm also doing sub-q fluids which seems to help her a lot overall and she takes Amplodipine (which I might have spelled wrong) for high blood pressure. Her retina detached last year and she had HBP, but the medicine seems to have helped a lot because her eye responds to light again and she sees well enough to spot me whenever I come into the room, and she jumps up on furniture again, etc. She really enjoys sitting outside in the bright Florida sun and squinting her eyes. She just had a recent constipation emergency that took a lot out of her, but that's when we discovered the low potassium and over the course of the last week she's gotten stronger and is back to her usual silly old self. So the potassium (and fluids and lots of sleep) really made a difference - maybe there is something like that affecting your kitty? Does he have any renal failure? If so then he could definitely have electrolyte, etc. imbalances that would make him wobble and his back legs weak.

Maybe get a second opinion on the HBP and comprehensive bloodwork if you haven't. I tend to think that as long as they still seem able to enjoy life, in spite of their illnesses, that they'd probably like to stay with us. I've really seen from treating my other cat's diabetes how much they can tell that we are fussing over them and that we love them, and how much they appreciate it - I think that as long as they can still enjoy that and are trying to live - jumping up on things, showing interest in life, then it's not time yet.

Sarah
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Vicki & Sampson,
Have you noticed any labored breathing with sampson? When Gumpy was dx, we had to go back and administer some meds for labored breathing. It did seem to do some good with the lathargic actions. Her site is fine the vet said, but she still has lots of balance problems... probably due to the seizures/stokes she has had, but we are not for sure. She is not my diabetic cat but she is the one that is giving me the most worries and frights right now. We have a vet appt. today, following the Monday appt. this week. I am not for sure how much more she can take either and constantly ask myself if it is time... just yesterday and this am....... this is soooo hard to do and I am sooo confused. She seems misirable lately. As of this week, not wanting to eat, wont take her meds, which she has 8 a day w/ the antibo., hides and is just not herself, however she had mouth problems and we are on antibo. for this. She lost almost 1 pound from July 1 visit to the July 11th visit. I wish you all the luck in the world for your decisions, as I feel we are both in the same boat! :-(
Hugs to you both!
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Hi Mom:
So sorry to hear about your kitty too.
I went to a vision specialist this morning. Sampson has detached retinas in both eyes do to hypertension. BP reading was at 245. Vet perscriped a higher dose of bp medication. She is a vision specialist but I really liked her.She says that she thinks that he has a 60 to 70 percent chance of partial retina reattachment. She said she thought his toppling over may very well be do to neuropthy from the diabetes. She said even though he has been in the 200's range for only a month now, probably due to the bude for his IBD that this may be developing. I am really worried about giving the shots of insulin again and need help. However she is only a vision specialist and can't really make these decisions wtih me.
I can take the blood sugar myself but would like to start at a really low dose. Any thoughts on this? My regular vet is concerned about me giving him the injections due to a hypo episode again but I don't want him to lose the use of his legs do to neuropapthy. Any thoughts on this? Will the neuropathy go away if I get the bg under control? I know that I need to call my vet for a new perscription of humalin. Need help with dosing on this. We were at 1 unit twice daily and they upped it to 2 units and within 5 days Sammy went down, his bg dropped to 24. This was back in December of 2010. He bg had been anywhere from 83 to 150 (no injections) over the last 6 months now an increase. I am sure do to the Irritable Bowel treatment of steriods. Also what is the dangerous zone for bg readings?
Also thank all of you for your assistance and support. Keep it coming. I need help. But now I need to get to work before I don't have a job.


Thanks so much.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

((Vicki & Sampson)) I'm sorry for all you're going through. I'm new to your situation so I really don't want to advise you as I don't know the whole story, but if you're starting over with insulin I agree that you should start very low. With all his other problems, you don't want to add another hypo on top of it. Maybe you can try b12 for the neuropathy. Some people have really good results from that. What insulin was he using? This will at least bump your post for the others to add their thoughts!
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Hi Obell:

I hope that your kitty is getting better. I she eating yet, gaining any weight? My Sampson is losing a lot of weight also. he hasn't had an IBD flare up since Monday, so hopefully that is under control, but now he is blind (on high bp meds) and now I have to start insulin again do to high bg readings. Maybe the insulin will help with some weight gain. I will start that on Monday and will be a nervous wreck because he a transient diabetic. I have ordered the lantus, but I don't know how much I should give him. I will post tomorrow on that to get some help.
The stress we go through but they are worth it. I guess that we can only do the best we can. I have come to the conclusion that it really is out of our hands and we can only do what we can do. I know that I am doing my level best. The other part is their cooperation (which is hit & miss with Sampson). I know how much all of us love our kitties or we wouldn't be on this board. We all need to give ourselves a big pat on the back today and continue with support for one another. A lot of people can't and won't understand our love for these precious babies.

How old is she? Let me know how she is doing.


Vicki
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Obell:

I was so very, very sorry to read of Gumpys passing on another thread. Please let me know how you are doing. I know that is very soon right now. God Bless Gumpy and you. Rest assured knowing that she is in a wonderful place. I hope that I continue to hear from you.

Vicki & Sampson
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Mccat2
thanks for the post for my greatfully missed Gumpy girl.... I just cant seem to quit crying and it doesnt help that Bean is not adjusting very well either... I hope your baby is doing better!
The little one - HOPE - seems to take some of the pain away, but not all. But I really felt that Gumpy had had enough! Was so hard to see her struggle soo much, now all I have left is the terrible pain, guilt and loneliness for her... I know it will pass with time as I know first hand about loosing someone/furry or not that is very dear, but it sure dont help right now! :cry:
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Ohbell:
Please don't feel guilty. You did your level best and Gumpy Girl knows it to. You know that you did what was best for her and it's the rest of us that are left behind to mourn. Just try & feel wonderful about all of the happy times you had and how wonderful you made her life here on earth with us. We will all reunite one day. I am sorry about Bean too, what it wrong with her? Try & smile through your tears and remember the happy moments. I don't know how it feels yet, but I know that I have shed many tears over the last year with all of Sampsons problems as well.
He is doing okay, We started him on a topical gel for blood pressure medication today from a liquid pharmacy that the vision vet recommended. However even when I could get the pills in him last week 1/4 pill twice a day, usually he only got one dose, he seems really tired when he gets both doses. I just hope that I am doing the right thing with this and he isn't getting too much. Worry all of the time, as we all do. His pressure was still up at the vet visit today at 260ish but he seems to have regained a little sight from what they can see. Also his blood sugar was a 248 on Monday so I have gotten a vial of insulin (Lantus this time) and probably will have to start that again too. But one thing at a time I guess. He went hypo on me in November, self regulated and now again his sugar is high. I am scared to death to inject him and have him go hypo on me. I can check his bgs but only if he is the mood and I sure can't check it twice a day, like a lot of these folks can. One good thing is that his IBD seems to be at rest, no vomit or diarrehea for over a week.

You have our best. And please keep in touch about Bean or if you are feeling sad.

Vicki, Sampson & Delilah (yes I have two babies) Delilah is doing very well, so far at her last check up she has a little high cholesteral. Will need to be taking her again to the vet for a check up. Sampson is my sick little old man.
 
Re: How do you know when they have had enough? Update on Sam

Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Someone wise here once said, "Better a day too early than a day too late". It is hard to put a kitty to sleep or have them die in an emergency situation - it is frightening for the bean and the cat. Better a day early, calmly and lovingly.

Whatever and whenever, you will make the right decision because it will be made from a loving, caring place.

Vicky, I can't agree more with Sue. I am so sorry you even have to weight these options. :cry:

Specifically, Sue's quote got me, "Better a day too early than a day too late". It is hard to put a kitty to sleep or have them die in an emergency situation - it is frightening for the bean and the cat. Better a day early, calmly and lovingly.

My Elliot (Sabu's brother) was diagnosed with CRF, we were giving him SubQ injections and long story short, he never told me how much he was suffering and he died in my arms having a seizure that lasted at least 2 hours, not a day does by that I don't feel horrible about how much I caused him to suffer b/c I didn't know just how bad his CRF had gotten--and it's been 2 & 1/2 years, I still cry (as I am now) when I think about what I put him through.

I'm not saying that it would have been easy to put him to sleep but like sue said, at least he wouldn't have suffered as he did in the end.

Again, I'm so sorry.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top