mccat2
Member
How do you know when your babies have had enough?
As some of you have read Sampson continues to have issues and now he is blind and I believe he may be suffering, but it's hard to tell. He is suffering from IBD (severe) and is a transient diabetic. He went blind last Friday and the ER and my Vet believe it is from high blood pressure but I never got a true reading from the ER and my vet was a 170 (which is not horribly high). My vet said he had a detached retina. Sammy is 17 years old.
I gave him a 1/4 of a bp pill yesterday. Yesterday and this a.m. were his worst days that I have ever seen. I don't know if he is going blinder or if it is some other issue going on. I hate to see him like this. He didn't want to eat this morning (he usually has a great appetite). His interaction with me was not the same. I had to lift him onto the bed and despite his blindness until yesterday he has continued jumping up with me. He usually talks to me and follows me around, not at all yesterday night or this a.m. I am in knots trying to figure out what to do.
I took him off of the high blood pressure meds as I have a specialist for vision looking at him tomorrow (God willing). He is really weak last night and this morning so I just couldn't give him another bp pill. (only a 1/4 of a pill but he seems so much worse).
I don't know if he has just had enough, or it's the blindness or if it's something worse like cancer. His sugar is up since the pred. on June 16th. He was at 108 and lower before we gave him a shot of predinsone (short acting). His bg was 270 last night when I checked and it has been in the 200's since the pred. And no I have not injected him, he also had a hypo episode last November from an overdose, as he transient.
My poor little man, what to do? What to watch out for? I just don't know at this point. I don't know if he can even stand another vet appointment. He seems so tired. Do your kittys tell you when they have had enough. This is my 1st experience with this. How is going to adapt to being blind now? Help with some advice. It's hard to see him like this and I don't now if I am doing the right things or if I am making him suffer.
Thanks,
As some of you have read Sampson continues to have issues and now he is blind and I believe he may be suffering, but it's hard to tell. He is suffering from IBD (severe) and is a transient diabetic. He went blind last Friday and the ER and my Vet believe it is from high blood pressure but I never got a true reading from the ER and my vet was a 170 (which is not horribly high). My vet said he had a detached retina. Sammy is 17 years old.
I gave him a 1/4 of a bp pill yesterday. Yesterday and this a.m. were his worst days that I have ever seen. I don't know if he is going blinder or if it is some other issue going on. I hate to see him like this. He didn't want to eat this morning (he usually has a great appetite). His interaction with me was not the same. I had to lift him onto the bed and despite his blindness until yesterday he has continued jumping up with me. He usually talks to me and follows me around, not at all yesterday night or this a.m. I am in knots trying to figure out what to do.
I took him off of the high blood pressure meds as I have a specialist for vision looking at him tomorrow (God willing). He is really weak last night and this morning so I just couldn't give him another bp pill. (only a 1/4 of a pill but he seems so much worse).
I don't know if he has just had enough, or it's the blindness or if it's something worse like cancer. His sugar is up since the pred. on June 16th. He was at 108 and lower before we gave him a shot of predinsone (short acting). His bg was 270 last night when I checked and it has been in the 200's since the pred. And no I have not injected him, he also had a hypo episode last November from an overdose, as he transient.
My poor little man, what to do? What to watch out for? I just don't know at this point. I don't know if he can even stand another vet appointment. He seems so tired. Do your kittys tell you when they have had enough. This is my 1st experience with this. How is going to adapt to being blind now? Help with some advice. It's hard to see him like this and I don't now if I am doing the right things or if I am making him suffer.
Thanks,