How do I know when remission is achieved?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Milo & Norman & Sarah

Member Since 2010
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lower-readings-today-cannot-give-insulin.266248/

When do I know if Milo is in remission or possibly no longer needs insulin? I know we are not there yet (I don't think?), I was just wondering what I should be looking for. He has been testing in the greens a lot the past few days but I'm not sure what constitutes that insulin is no longer needed? @FrostD I know you mentioned for a strong remission, Milo should be in the 50-100 range as much as safely possible, with insulin support as long as safely possible so the pancreas can fully heal. Does the healing/remission not start until he is consistently under 100? Milo tends to jump up to the 130's just before dinner time. I have not been able to test the past two nights due to my daughters dance stuff, but I will be getting back into the routine tonight. Thanks in advance for any additional insight! Oh, and I finally changed my profile picture to a picture of Milo. It hurt my heart to take Norman's picture down, but I wanted to give Milo presence too :)
 
He is looking so good!

But yes, he needs to see stretches of green to really be healing. Can you remind me when school starts back up? I am thinking an increase will help. A full 0.25U increase may be a little too much, but worth a try if you can monitor. Otherwise I'd consider what we call a "fat" increase, where you draw up just slightly more than you have been, but not to 0.5U. It's a bit of a pain, some people like to use calipers to measure those.
 
Thank you! I start back on campus around the 16th of August, so in about 14 days +/-. I was wondering about an increase. I think I will try the "fat" increase to just above the half mark. The syringes I have are not marked with half marks, but I have a method I have been using to keep my measurements consistent and as close to accurate.
 
Good!

And sorry I didn't fully answer the remission question - we step the dose down to 0.25U, then 0.1U as they earn reductions (for now, when he drops below 50 OR if he spends a week in nearly full green). At that point some cats benefit from something we call a drop dose, it depends on numbers. After that we start a 14 day "off the juice" OTJ trial, still monitoring BG, to see how they do.
 
@FrostD I had a PMPS of 159 for Milo and at +2 he is 105. He didn't eat his full dinner, but just went back down to finish some more off. I'm going to keep an eye on him for the next few hours, I'm a little concerned with the large number difference (and going up that high). He hasn't been in the 150's for about 5 days. Is this oddness from the increased insulin dose? I'm assuming his system is just getting used to it? Not worried yet on my end, just minor concern. Will keep the hypo kit near just in case, and test a few more times before bed. I made sure to have correct high and medium carb foods this time.
 
I'm not too concerned with that. Technically close to/within meter variance, he didn't drop much lower than usual today either. Let's see what tomorrow brings!
 
@FrostD Hi again, just wanted to check in to see if Milo's numbers are good enough for a "no insulin trial"? I have the rest of this week at home but will be back two or 3 days on campus next week with all day faculty meetings and then am back to full time on campus starting the week of August 22. If you do not feel Milo's numbers are not going to be good enough to try for remission right now, then I will just stay the course with a .25 U dose until I have another extended amount of time to work on the green numbers (around the December time frame).
 
No, not quite there (in fact, flirting with another increase). I would actually hold this 0.5U until the day or so before you go back, then decide what to do with dose. His nadirs are pretty good right now, not in any danger at the moment.
 
@FrostD So, I had a bit of a family issue the past 2 days. I was unable to give Milo his insulin yesterday evening or this morning. After almost giving myself a panic attack for not being able to give Milo two doses of insulin, we returned home this afternoon at 4:30 and he tested at 123. I am going to test him again shortly, but should I give him insulin tonight? I'm uncertain what I should do with his BG already being so close to 120 with no insulin in him for 36 hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top