Heather&Dagron
Member
My vet has been checking out Dagron's spreadsheet and told me yesterday to increase his dose to 5U bid. I started at that dose this morning - AMPS was 205. Since I'm home all day and it's a new dose, I checked BG at +4 and it was 357. Does this look like Somogyi effect? If it is, what do I do?
I am planning on checking him at +4 and +8 during the day and right before bed for the next few days, as I have off until Wednesday. I thought about doing another full curve today, but didn't think he would appreciate another one so soon.
The needles I have are 30U, so I could probably measure out doses in 0.5U increments, but I think 0.25U increments would not be possible with them. They were prescribed, and I don't know how I can get needles that are smaller to give a more accurate dose (I mean I know I can order them online, but that will take a while). ((I figured out what the deal is with syringes - in NY you need a prescription in order to get them at all. Some websites even require a script, but I'm going to try to order some from diabeticpromotions.com.))
He's acting totally normal, by the way.
I am planning on checking him at +4 and +8 during the day and right before bed for the next few days, as I have off until Wednesday. I thought about doing another full curve today, but didn't think he would appreciate another one so soon.
The needles I have are 30U, so I could probably measure out doses in 0.5U increments, but I think 0.25U increments would not be possible with them. They were prescribed, and I don't know how I can get needles that are smaller to give a more accurate dose (I mean I know I can order them online, but that will take a while). ((I figured out what the deal is with syringes - in NY you need a prescription in order to get them at all. Some websites even require a script, but I'm going to try to order some from diabeticpromotions.com.))
He's acting totally normal, by the way.