Houdini at the ER last night ..... Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gail & Houdini (GA)

Member Since 2009
When it rains. It pours…………
Acting fine yesterday but maybe a little quiet. #’s a little high the last two days. Ate good, had shot and barfed up whole dinner. Houdini is one that almost never barfs….. Within minutes he is peeing little puddles of blood. I didn’t think of UTI because he has been on Baytril for 12 days for a stubborn ear infection. Off to the ER…..

Xray clear – no stones. Whew! Dr gave fluids….we are now at +4 with no food, BG 50!!! charged me $29 for ear poke!!! Gave dextrose, AD& Bupe inj. Diagnosed FLUTD.

Bupe made him loopy! Dr said to keep him on the Bupe for 5 days?? Is this normal?
I've never used Bupe....

Fed when we got home 10pm - BG 196 @ +5, 11:30 198, 12 am 137 +7 hmmm. 1:30 same. I fall asleep on the couch and wake up to “Dini frantically stomping all over me going to the food cupboard & meowing. Gave food trying to slow him down….frantically gulping it down. Tested when he would hold still enough 50 !!!! @ 5am !!! (+12) What the heck happened???

Just checked and he’s at 161. Do I give small dose of insulin? He is still really quiet…..
 
Wow, Gail, it does pour.

What insulin and what dose does he get?

So the 161 was at +14.5?

Whenever Ennis is on any medication, I am cautious with his insulin. I never know what kind of reaction he might have to the meds, whether he is going to eat, whether the change in his activity level will affect his BG level.

If faced with this, I would likely test again in another hour to make sure Dini is on the rise, and maybe shoot 1/2 to 3/4 his normal dose if he is over 180. That is a cautious recommendation I would make to a newbie (I am usually cautious).

Best of luck. Scritches to Houdinu. Hope he feels better soon.
 
Venita - He is on Prozinc 2.4U and the 161 was +13.5. Just tested again and he 291 - gave 1.6 U. We'll see what happens .....
 
Gail & Houdini said:
Venita - He is on Prozinc 2.4U and the 161 was +13.5. Just tested again and he 291 - gave 1.6 U. We'll see what happens .....


Dearest Gail, and, of course, you too, smart, sweet, not-so-sweet, vexing, Houdini (appropriately named, I might humbly add...),

I like it that he wanted to eat when he was feeling low-ish. I really do! Giz did that, too. Makes us lucky in a weird kind of sugar dance way... It's why I always left dried out for Giz, and leave extra wet out for Nikki...

All I can tell you is that both infections and antibiotics can create both a BG hell and roller coaster ride. It's like you didn't have any BG info at all. Just trust your gut...

Like Venita, I tend to be cautious and give less juice than usual in these situations... High-ish for a day or so is better than what low-ish can do in minutes...

And, then, there's that potential barf factor... So, what do you do? You just keep dancing, right? You just trust your gut, because no one knows Houdini like you do, right?!

Disclaimer: I have very limited experience with PZI; but, do seem to recall it can cause a drop upon occasion... Might not be because of the insulin, might just be because of the cat...

Much love and countless we'll be thinking and hoping and praying all is well for you both (!) kind of hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever whispering in my heart, and probably remembering chowing down on DM dried a couple of times...

PS: I wish I had an appropriate umbrella to send you, saying something along the lines of "I have a sugar cat and I'm dancing as best I can...!"

PPS: Or, maybe, "I hate this disease, but I so love my cat!"

PPSS: I'm guessing "This sucks" has already been taken...
 
Every once in awhile ..just about the time you are feeling complacent and smug....they pull something like this just to see if you are paying attention I guess.

Between this guy and Reagan I have double the amount of grey hairs this week! :roll:
 
Gail & Houdini said:
Every once in awhile ..just about the time you are feeling complacent and smug....they pull something like this just to see if you are paying attention I guess.

Between this guy and Reagan I have double the amount of grey hairs this week! :roll:


Okay, for you, dearest Gail, I'm actually going to attempt a smilie... It might not be appropriate, but I like it...

cat_pet_icon

Previewing to see if it actually works, and is the right one...

Yes!




There is no room for complacency and smugness in the sugar dance and I know you know this to be true. We are dealing with cats, after all... Which is why it is a dance, not a science! Cats are notoriously moody, therefore, it's a mood thing...

I was trained by the best (or was she the worst?) sugar cat, darling/holy terror Giz.

Dearest Gail, I do believe God has a sense of humor. He sent me Nikki, who is just the sweetest extra-sweet cat, yet can remove skin faster than I can remove my hand (and I'm fast having been trained by Giz...)... I'll probably never know why as she came to me this way and it doesn't even really matter. It would be nice if she'd learn to like Motown and dancing to same...

Much love and I'm still working on that purrfect umbrella for you that involves variations on a theme of "this sucks" kind of countless hugs,
Deb -- absolutely no cats allowed, as this is mom talk...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top