Hospital discharge 5/5 - still high BG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Madeline528

Member Since 2015
Hello,

Butch was admitted to the hospital 5/3-5/5 for unregulated diabetes and no appetite. Discharged Lantus 1u 2x, Free Libre 2, cerenia tab, Mirataz gel. BG is still HIGH - Need advice

Prior to hospitalization - no home testing due to my hand dexterity - BG 5+ recheck 1x monthly at vet office 9/2023-2/2024 Lantus 1u 2x

4/5/2024 - Vet recheck BG 308 5+ - Lantus 2u 2x
4/19/2024 - Vet recheck BG 297 5+ - Lantus 2u 2x, convenia, solensia
4/25/2024 - Vet recheck BG 280 5+ - Lantus 3u 2x, urine culture neg for infection

I created a spreadsheet not sure if its visible. Please let me know if its correct.

Thank you,
Madeline & Butch
 
Yes I can see the SS thank you!
Just checking… are you saying Butch was on 2 and 3 units of insulin in April this year but is now on 1 unit?
What are you feeding him?
Are you giving him snacks of food during the cycles as well as the 2 main meals?
How is his appetite now?
Are you testing for ketones in the urine?
 
Hello,

Yes, on 4/5 he started 2u 2x daily & on 4/25 he then started 3u 2x. On 5/2 he stopped eating. I brought him to the hospital on 5/3. Discharged on 5/5 with 1u 2x. I was told by the hospital vet today to increase to 1.5u starting tonight 2x daily.

Butch eats 2 main meals of Fancy feast classic (low carb) 1 AM & 1 PM. He also eats 1/2 piece of cooked flounder or tilapia with his shoot. No snacks or food during the cycle.

I use to give him 1/2 can ff classic AMPS 6+ and more fish with the shoot before his hospitalization.

His appetite has been good. He is still on cerenia 1/4 tb & mirataz gel once daily.

I haven’t tested for Ketones with the urine strip since he's been home. I have limited hand function but I'll try.

I plan on increasing his Lantus to 1.5u tonight. Should i offer a snack during the night and day?

Thank you so much.

Madeline & Butch
 
What dosing method are you following?
I would offer a snack of low carb food at +2 and +4 each cycle. A snack is a teaspoon or 2 of normal low carb food
 
Last edited:
I not sure what's best for Butch and I. I was reading both dosing methods TR and SLGS, but I can't seem to find the info again to go over it. Please let me know where I can find the dosing method again, I would like to see his BG lower than the 200-300. I am scared of ketones. I was informed that ketones don't develop if insulin is being given but all I read states different.

Thank you so much
Madeline & Butch
 
DOSING METHODS FOR LANTUS
You can always swap from one to the other if you find one is not working for you.
His main meals should be given just before the shots. So it’s test/feed/shoot in that order.
Ketones can form if there is not enough insulin or not enough food. So a cat can get ketones if they are getting insulin but are unregulated … that’s why it’s a good idea to check them. If you are following a dosing method and he is eating well and your kitty seems well, he is less likely to get ketones but always test if he seems unwell, lethargic, off his food.
I would start posting daily on the Lantus page for help and guidance

LANTUS PAGE
 
DOSING METHODS FOR LANTUS
You can always swap from one to the other if you find one is not working for you.
His main meals should be given just before the shots. So it’s test/feed/shoot in that order.
Ketones can form if there is not enough insulin or not enough food. So a cat can get ketones if they are getting insulin but are unregulated … that’s why it’s a good idea to check them. If you are following a dosing method and he is eating well and your kitty seems well, he is less likely to get ketones but always test if he seems unwell, lethargic, off his food.
I would start posting daily on the Lantus page for help and guidance

LANTUS PAGE

Thank you so much. I will start posting daily on the Lantus page.

Madeline & Butch
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top