Blamethecats and Hannah
Member Since 2014
I am new to this forum and the subject of diabetes. If it were during daytime and weekday hours, I would call our vet for advice. But it is after 9 PM on a Sunday evening and this forum can hopefully help. Hannah had her usual injection of ProZinc at 8:30 this morning. Her BG was at 406 prior to her injection. To this point in her treatment, her readings have been quite high and we haven't made much progress in getting her diabetes in control. Hannah gets 0.01 ml of ProZinc, twice a day. She was previously on a larger dose once a day but had a couple of very low BG readings approximately 6 hours later. Her vet decided to try the smaller doses twice a day, hoping to avoid this. She is a very tiny kitty with a finicky appetite, as well. I force her to eat when she does not eat on her own and she cooperates quite well. We monitor with an AlphaTrak glucometer. I tested her BG this afternoon at 2:10 PM. It was 273. Her last meal was 1/2 can of Fancy Feast Classic before her morning injection. At 3:00, she ate a little more FF on her own. At 8:00 PM, I tested her BG again and it was 190. We followed that with another small meal, about 1/3 can of FF. Her second injection should have been at 8:30 PM, but we did not follow through with it. With the way it had been dropping throughout the day, I didn't dare, as was afraid of a hypo episode during the night, with no help available. Is it okay to have skipped her evening dose? I didn't know what to do. This is all so new to me. I don't have the knowledge or experience to know what is okay and what is not. Had a teacher in high school that used to say, "When in doubt, leave it out." So that is what I did. Just don't know if that should apply to insulin and my precious baby. I sure would appreciate some good advice before I head off to bed. Thanks!