Mariella & Simba
Member Since 2018
What a wild ride this diabetes thing is. Short history, Simba was dx'd in late August with BG of 405. He started on 1u of Lantus. After two curves, 2 weeks apart, his BG numbers were no lower than low 200s, so dose increased to 2u. Next curves, a week apart showed him trending down, dramatically on the second one, to. Range of 105-76. Vet's instructions are to stop insulin for a week, test BG each morning. If it stays in normal range proceed for 3 weeks and then do a fructosamine test. His last PMBG of his curve on 10-8 was 109. His AMBG next day was 113. Next day AMBG was 120, today 145. I am discouraged by this trend. Vet said his numbers this week should go no higher than mid-high 100's. At his rate of increase, he will hit those by the end of the week. If that happens, we will restart insulin at 1u dosage.
Was so hoping he could achieve remission, even if for a short while, as we are likely to have to travel for a death in the family fairly soon, and hate to leave him, although pet sitter will be a trained vet tech. Managing this disease is really an all-consuming task sometimes.
Mariella and Simba
Was so hoping he could achieve remission, even if for a short while, as we are likely to have to travel for a death in the family fairly soon, and hate to leave him, although pet sitter will be a trained vet tech. Managing this disease is really an all-consuming task sometimes.
Mariella and Simba
