Cindywith4cutecats
Member Since 2014
Norman is a 9 year old orange Tiger baby that was diagnosed Sept 30th I am rather upset about the whole thing. He started a diet 15 months ago, he has lost 3lbs to date, slow process. I had the fructosamine (hope I spelled that right ) after 30 days on his diet. He came in perfect, no sugar issues at all. I thought I was in the clear of this disease. Well he stopped losing weight and the Vet suggested Dry hills W/D diet which is high fiber , low fat diet. Within 6 weeks I have a cat that test 426 on the Vets Glucometer and 578 on another Fructosamine test. He is Currently off all dry food and is on high protein , low carb can food . He has gone from 3 units a day down to 2 units as per Vet. I get so confused , like today his preshot , prefood was 131 and his 6 hour check was 71. I lowered him from 2 units to 1 3/4 three days ago cause he was hitting a low of 60 and I was scared .....am I on the right track, I check him all the time, not sure how to do a curve, I check pre shot,pre food , then I check 4 hour and 6 hour. I am using the Alphatracks Glucometer calibrated for Cats and using their test strips....I want him to go into remission and My vet is useless as far as giving any information. I need to be directed to tight regulation and I am going out of town October 23 for 10 days, hubby is good at checking him and dosing him, lucky for me he is home by 2 or 3 in the afternoon to check on him also. I don't understand tight regulation, my vet tells me if he goes below 60 I need to take him the vet right away...