Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98, +7 149, +9 223, pmps 300

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denise & Honey

Member Since 2012
Honey has been on Lantus 1u for just over a week also switched to wet food just before starting lantus.
Her numbers have been coming down and I've noticed a big improvement in her generally. Initially she was eating lots but now its slowed down.

Just fed her at +9 as it was 6am here and the cats think its feeding time.
Tested first and got 196.

Assume her bg will come up but if its only just above 200, ie. <210 should I reduce shot amount. Assume no shot if <200?
I was also thinking of a mini curve today as she does seem to be following a more settled pattern in the last couple of days.
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196

Welcome, Denise!!

I'm sorry to be brief but I'm trying to get out the door to work. What I would suggest is that you post at around +11.5 with your latest test result. That will give people a window to respond. We typically use 150 as our "ask for help" number on this board but since everything is so new for you, please post and people will lend a hand.
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196

Hello Denise and Honey,
Welcome to LL. The greatest place you never wanted to be.
I'm glad you decided to come over here. It looks like you are making a great start in the testing area.

Wait and see what you bg is at PMPS and then someone can help with dosing if Honey's numbers are going down. Most likely they will
go up but there is a food influence for the next couple of hours ( at the very least).
You also did good in feeding at +9 so you wouldn't have a food influenced number at PMPS.
Always try to have a gap between eating and preshot tests, at least a 2 hr gap. (your gap is better)
If you have a low number at a preshot time, do not feed , and post for help. Sometimes you stall and wait for a rising number so
holding off on the food is important.



.


. Here are some other posts for Honey.
more from Oct 21
first curve
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=81421
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196

Welcome to the board, Denise and Honey!

Definitely get the test the others have suggested, and please be sure to get at least 1 midcycle test between shots so that the experienced folk can see how she's doing, and give you suggestions, advice, or answer your questions. You're both doing a wonderful job, and she's beginning to look great! :-D
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196

sounds good.

One of the favorite tests after shot around here is the +2. It can be a good indicator as to how the cycle will play out ( but no guarantees ;-) )
When there is a sizeable drop from the preshot number to the +2, it can indicate an active cycle.
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98

just did +6 test and it was 98.
First green but a bit worried as we haven't been that low.

After the test, I gave her some FF Roasted as it has higher carbs than the classic - she ate almost a can.
Should I test in 1 hour?
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98

Welcome to lantus land!! Looks like Honey is doing well here her first day & you are too--Giving the higher carb was exactly what you should do..Definitely test in an hour!
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98

wow!
I was scared when her numbers were high and now I'm scared that they are low.
:?
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98, +7 149

Welcome, Denise and Honey,

You are doing just fine. It's great that you are able to do some tests during the cycle. That way you will get a picture of Honey's trends much faster. Everything might be a bit chaotic at first because not only are you giving insulin (and it takes about a week for the Lantus "shed" to be established), you also changed Honey's diet to wet food. Read as much in the "Stickies" as you can, and ask as many questions as you need.

Wishing you a good evening with numbers that are neither too high nor too low!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98, +7 149

thanks Ella.
My biggest problem at the moment is that Honey hides under the bed all of the time now. I have to drag her out for testing.
Hoping she gets over it as time goes on and I can find some treats that make it worth her while...
 
Re: Honey - newbie +9 196, amps +6 98, +7 149, +9 223

finding the right treat is a big help in Honey wanting to cooperate.
Shadow decided she liked the PureBites turkey freeze dried treats ( hates the chicken ones ? why, Idk ?)

Some folks use boiled chicken, or other cooked methods.
Shrimp, bite of real tuna (human quality), parmesan cheese...
There is a long list from all of us.
Just whatever it is, Honey only gets it at test time, whether successful or not.
The other help is to seek her out at other times for special cuddles when it's not test time or shot time so she doesn't start thinking the only time you want her is pokie time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top