Honey - 1st curve results - any dosing advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Honey - 1st curve results - any advice?

I'm wondering if your +8 was a bad strip/bad test. If you were to toss out that number, it would be a pretty reasonable curve.

I think it's time to increase Honey's dose. I also think you need to get a before bed test every night.
 
Re: Honey - 1st curve results - any advice?

can the before bed be a +2?
pm shot is at 9pm and as I get up before 6am, 11pm is about my limit.

Would I do the increase starting tomorrow - another .25?
 
Yes..the +2 can be your before bed. If the +2 is close to the preshot, you should probably set an alarm to check her a little later in the cycle. If it is much lower than the PS, I'd get at least a +4 unless she is lower then 150 at PS. If she is,I'd get a test sooner than that if the +2 is much less than the PS.

Does that make sense? :lol:

And yes, unless she comes way down into blue tonight, I'd increase by .25u in the morning.

Good luck with the increase, Denise!
 
Like everyone else you're helping on this board, I really appreciate the time and effort you put in!
A really big thanks!
 
Denise, your shooting time is a 9am/9pm? That was my schedule with Rosy before but after I brought forward my shooting time to a 6am/6pm, it became so much easier to take more bg test in the PM cycle.
My sole purpose is to have my Rosy safe with the appropriate dose. I dont know about your daily working schedule. Give it a thought, might make all this easier & you can have the sleep/resting time. :-D
 
My ideal would be 6am and 8pm - unfortunately I know I can't do that.
I moved to 9pm because the cats are not happy being around my kids - even to not wanting to eat.
I may reconsider though - it would certainly make testing easier.
 
You mean the 6AM test feed & shoot is not an issue but the 6PM when your kids are around is? The feeding time for the rest of the cats is not an issue but you need to do differently for Honey in order to accommodate more testing time in the PM. Because the onset of the Lantus is not immediate, you can take Honey aside at 6PM, test,give her a little bit of food (maybe one two tsp)& give her the shot and she can have the rest of the meal with the rest at 9 PM again.
What I am doing is: Rosy got her test feed & shot at 6AM, the rest at their normal breakfast at 8AM when Rosy again will have a wee portion to keep her happy. For the PM, they will have meal at the same time; 6PM. Hope that helps. Ive got 21 cats, the feeding time is a bit of a headache too! nailbite_smile
 
wow! 21!!
Not sure if that's the stuff of dreams or nightmares :-D

thanks for the advice - I think I will look at changing.
I have a couple of 6am conference calls each week but I could give the shot a little before on those days.
 
+9 145
She is confusing me!

1 possible is that I had trouble getting blood (4 pokes - ouch!) and I didn't think there was enough for the meter to read but it came back with this number.
Could it produce a low result under these circumstances?

She's eaten so going to retest at +11.5
 
It looks to me like she is clearing a bounce, Denise.

It's important to not feed between +10 and +12 unless she's really low because you don't want to influence the preshot with food. For instance (and these are just hypothetical numbers), if she was 145 at +9 and 115 at +11 and you fed her and then her +12 was 130, you could be shooting a food spike. She could then come back down after you shoot.

Bounce clearing cycles can be really active ones where the numbers continue to drop at PS and after.

Please be sure you post before you shoot, ok?

I'll try to watch for you but I have a conference call about my mom in 45 minutes.

eta: when you do post, please change your subject title to "10/29 Honey +9 145 +11.5 xxx" with xxx being whatever the number is. And you can also put "Help pls" if she is coming down. OK? That will catch our eyes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top