Home testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

Islasmomma

Member Since 2021
Hello everyone,

My cat was recently diagnosed, and I’ve just purchased all of the things I need to test at home. He’s currently on 1u of Prozinc 2x a day.

I’ve been told to test before every shot my main concern is the number range I should be aware of and when to shoot or not according to those numbers. Seems overwhelming but I know it’s doable
 
Welcome Karen and Isla
sorry no one has responded to you
I'm glad you're home testing.
I will tag a prozinc user for you, she will probably respond tomorrow.
I'm pretty sure with beginners you don't want to shoot anything below 200
I will give you a link in the meantime so you can fill out your signature


Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help.

If you need help setting up your spreadsheet just ask and someone will set it up for you
 
Last edited:
Always aim for the sweet spot warm the ears up first, you can put rice in a sock and put it in the microwave, test it on the inside of your wrist to be sure it's not to hot, like you would test a babies bottle. You can fill a pill bottle with warm water and roll it on the ears also.Just keep rubbing the ears with your fingers to warm them up
c2b8079a-b471-4fa6-ac36-9ac1c8d6dcca-jpeg.57072
fec17d29-5ab4-44a8-912b-3a91944c3954-jpeg.57073

6. As the ears get used to bleeding and grow more capilares, it gets easier to get the amount of blood you need on the first try. If he won’t stand still, you can get the blood onto a clean finger nail and test from there.
When you do get some blood you can try milking the ear.
Get you finger and gently push up toward the blood , more will appear
You will put the cotton round behind his ear in case you poke your finger, after you are done testing you will fold the cotton round over his ear to stop the bleeding , press gently for about 20 seconds until it stops
Get 26 or 28 gauge lancets
A lot of us use the lancets to test freehand
I find it better to see where I'm aiming

Here is a video one of our members did
VIDEO: How to test your cat's blood sugar
 
I'm not sure your question was answered. We generally suggest that if you are new to managing your cat's diabetes that if you get a pre-shot test that is under 200, you post and ask for help. Please make sure the request is in your subject line -- it will make it visible when people scan the posts on the board. If the request is in the body of your string of posts, it is likely to be overlooked.

As you gain experience and confidence, you'll be able to shoot progressively lower numbers. We're happy to do a bit of "hand holding" until you feel comfortable with the process.
 
I'm not sure your question was answered. We generally suggest that if you are new to managing your cat's diabetes that if you get a pre-shot test that is under 200, you post and ask for help. Please make sure the request is in your subject line -- it will make it visible when people scan the posts on the board. If the request is in the body of your string of posts, it is likely to be overlooked.

As you gain experience and confidence, you'll be able to shoot progressively lower numbers. We're happy to do a bit of "hand holding" until you feel comfortable with the process.


Thank you for replying. Unfortunately today I didnt check his sugar before his first dose because he wasn’t allowing me to. I was able to check his BG 5 hours after and it was 305.. then I checked again 2 hours later and it was 385. I’m going to check again before his PM dose which is at 8 if it is high then should I increase the dose by .5?
 
Karen --

I don't mean to be snarky but I'm not comfortable offering guidance about dosing without being able to see Islas spreadsheet. We're very numbers dependent here. No one would want to offer advice that could harm your cat. The best way we can offer intelligent (well, usually intelligent) feedback is to see the big picture and a spreadsheet will give us that.

The link that Diane provided in her post #2 to the Helping Us to Help You information includes the links to the instructions on how to set up a spreadsheet for your kitty.
 
Karen --

I don't mean to be snarky but I'm not comfortable offering guidance about dosing without being able to see Islas spreadsheet. We're very numbers dependent here. No one would want to offer advice that could harm your cat. The best way we can offer intelligent (well, usually intelligent) feedback is to see the big picture and a spreadsheet will give us that.

The link that Diane provided in her post #2 to the Helping Us to Help You information includes the links to the instructions on how to set up a spreadsheet for your kitty.

when using a human meter like Relion premier is there a specific calibration I have to do to get exact numbers or are the readings just as accurate to if it were an Alphatrak meter ?
 
when using a human meter like Relion premier is there a specific calibration I have to do to get exact numbers or are the readings just as accurate to if it were an Alphatrak meter ?
Human meters tend to read lower than a pet meter like the AlphaTrak. That is why in this forum we say the normal range on a pet meter is 50-120.....on a pet meter while it is 68-150. There is no conversion because of the about +/- variance allowed in human and pet meters.allowed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top