Randy1989
Member Since 2016
Hello, I am new to this board and would like to hear any and all advice and suggestions. My 11 year young Ragdoll cat Timber was diagnosed diabetic early September of this year. My wife and I started home testing on Sept. 9 while also working on getting his diet lower in carbs. When he was about 9 he weighed a solid 14 lbs, but I emphasize solid. His brother Toby from the same litter weighs a solid 16 lbs now and doesn't have diabetes. Timber now weighs 10.5 lbs but has been down to 9.5 when first diagnosed. First of all we transitioned both Timber and Toby off of dry food and let them keep eating their favorite wet food for years, Fancy Feast Medleys.
We have been using the AlphaTrak Meter 3 times daily, 6:30am/12:30pm/6:30pm on Timber and administering ProZinc as needed 6:30am/pm but we just weren't getting consistent BG readings, they were all over the place. Our vet started us off with 1-2 units of insulin at first but upped it to 3 units when we couldn't get BG readings under 400 so I started reading about different wet foods to try that had lower carbs. We switched to specified Friskies pate flavors that are all under 8 carbs. (Neither of them will eat DM wet foods.) Both of them love the Friskies and we started getting consistently lower BG readings with Timber. Once we switched to Friskies, Timber's BG readings dropped and our vet lowered his insulin to 1-2 units depending on his reading.
The scheduled units are as follows: BG reading under 175=0 units / BG 176-200=1 unit / BG 201+=1.5 units. Timber has been on this schedule for 10 days and today for the 1st time each reading was under 175 so no insulin today! Yeaaaa! We are switching from AlphaTrak to Relion Prime but we have a question. Our vet says as long as the BG readings are within 20% from both meters we should be ok. We have done several meter comparisons at Timber's 12:30pm test time (the nadir). Five days ago we got a BG of 362 w/AlphaTrak...259 w/Relion Prime. That much difference concerned us, so we waited. Yesterday his BG was 251 w/AlphaTrak...172 w/Relion Prime. Today BG 172 w/AlphaTrak...130 w/Relion Prime.
Any advice/suggestions are most welcome! Thank you all.
We have been using the AlphaTrak Meter 3 times daily, 6:30am/12:30pm/6:30pm on Timber and administering ProZinc as needed 6:30am/pm but we just weren't getting consistent BG readings, they were all over the place. Our vet started us off with 1-2 units of insulin at first but upped it to 3 units when we couldn't get BG readings under 400 so I started reading about different wet foods to try that had lower carbs. We switched to specified Friskies pate flavors that are all under 8 carbs. (Neither of them will eat DM wet foods.) Both of them love the Friskies and we started getting consistently lower BG readings with Timber. Once we switched to Friskies, Timber's BG readings dropped and our vet lowered his insulin to 1-2 units depending on his reading.
The scheduled units are as follows: BG reading under 175=0 units / BG 176-200=1 unit / BG 201+=1.5 units. Timber has been on this schedule for 10 days and today for the 1st time each reading was under 175 so no insulin today! Yeaaaa! We are switching from AlphaTrak to Relion Prime but we have a question. Our vet says as long as the BG readings are within 20% from both meters we should be ok. We have done several meter comparisons at Timber's 12:30pm test time (the nadir). Five days ago we got a BG of 362 w/AlphaTrak...259 w/Relion Prime. That much difference concerned us, so we waited. Yesterday his BG was 251 w/AlphaTrak...172 w/Relion Prime. Today BG 172 w/AlphaTrak...130 w/Relion Prime.
Any advice/suggestions are most welcome! Thank you all.