Home testing technique questions

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by achrisvet, Jun 29, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. achrisvet

achrisvet New Member

I'm a veterinarian about to jump on the recommending home testing bandwagon and have some basic technique questions.

Do most people hand hold the stylets or use the automatic device?
    What gauge stylet is best?
    Is it necessary to actually hit that little ear vein or is the goal capillary bleeding?
    I've read that you can use paw pads as well. I've used the accessory carpal pad in a big dog with success. Which pad do you like in the cat? Do you find cats tolerate ear pricks better? ( I know ECID)
    Do you know of any particularly good online videos to which I can refer clients??
    Which meters do you use? Why do you prefer the meter you are using? Price of meter and strips? Ease of use?

Thank you for your input.

2. squeem3

squeem3 Well-Known Member

Great that you will be recommending hometestingn to your clients :thumbup

Some use the lancet device, others freehand the lancet. It just depends on what you are most comfortable with and can get a good drop of blood with.

Don't use the very fine gauge lancets (31, 33, etc). They too fine to get a decent amount of blood with. 28 gauge is a good size. Some people use 30. Here's a chart that lists popular brands of lancets and what size they are: http://www.walgreens.com/marketing/library/centers/diabetes/lancets.jsp

For the lance device itself, most starter kits include one. Some brands work better than others, IMO. I liked the AccuChek SoftClick lancet device. I tried the AccuChek MulitClick one but it was a little too fat for me to hold comfortably. The generic CVS brand lancet device is impossible to use so don't use :-Q