Home testing - getting weird results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
My cat just recently started on Lantus and I'm fairly new to home testing (I'm using the Relion micro). I'm trying to do a glucose curve. At +3 he was 334. I tested at +4 and it said 355. That seemed high, so I immediately got a new strip and tested again. This time it said 333. At +6 it said 328. Then at +8 it was suddenly 394. I got a new strip and re-tested and now it says 336. Any ideas what's going on? By the way, I find it really hard to get the strips out of the little bottle. They all stick together! How much can I fumble around with them without damaging them?
 
Hi Nancy!
All those numbers are really about the same - you may have as much as a 20% variance from the same drop of blood. The higher the number the more the range. When you get down into the low numbers, it won't vary nearly as much. The spikes may have been food? Altho' high, it doesn't look too bad!

Test strips - same issue but I've used them long enough to realize they're fairly hardy - I have to actually put a nail between them to pop them apart at times. As you use the container, the static will lessen and they'll come out easier...

CONGRATULATIONS on starting to test!!!! GOOD JOB! BIG HUG!
 
Hi, Thanks for the reply! Let me see if i understand - Are you saying that even though the tests were just seconds apart, the variation in the numbers (336 versus 394) is still normal and my meter isn't malfunctioning? I'm hoping that's what you're saying!
 
Yes, that is what she's saying. :smile:
Over time, what is more important than the specific numbers is the patterns you'll see in the data. Try not to get caught up in the specific test number from test to test. When there's a really obvious difference, it will indicate something. For instance, if you see an AMPS of 350, then a +2 of 250, and a +3 of 150....that will tell you that the numbers after that until nadir are most likely going to go lower, and that is something you'd want to keep an eye on. But if those numbers are 350, 280, and 320, then the trend would be "flat".

And like Lyresa said, in the lower number ranges, the meters tend to be more accurate. Which is just what you want, because the lower numbers are more important and require more attention.

I used a Relion Micro with Bob too. I tried to make sure I didn't handle either end of the strip as much as I could, because they do tend to stick together especially when the case is on the full side. If you need to pry them apart, try to do so around the middle of the strips.

Carl
 
Thanks! What a relief! It's so great to be able to post a question and get an answer in literally minutes! Really takes a load off my mind. Thanks so much!
 
Hi Nancy.... You can order a free "control" sample from the Reloion meter manufacturer. The address or email is in the instruction book. Just include which meter you have and the code. Mine was "F". That way you can test your meter with that sample. I think it might make you feel better!
 
remember though that each new box of strips will read a different code .. the back of the strip box should always match to what is displayed on the meter :-D
 
A control sample sounds like a good idea. And i was careful to check that the meter displayed the code that matched the strips. Thanks!
 
You can also test your own blood sugar. First thing in the morning before breakfast/coffee is best for consistent readings. Human fasting glucose should be in the 70-100 range, <140 two hours or more after a meal. Above that and you're getting into prediabetic and diabetic territory.

Looking at your spreadsheet, I see a lot of "smile" curves - 400, 350, 300, 350, 400 type curves. This is a good sign that you are not giving too much insulin. As you find the right amount of Lantus, you should continue to see lower numbers at nadir than at preshot, but lower numbers all round.

Good luck!

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top