Home testing Bud and Fructosamine level

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Member Since 2014
Since Bud was diagnosed nearly 4 weeks ago, I've switched to feeding him only Friskies pates. I have noticed many improvements such as less drinking, less peeing, being more social, and he's grooming himself again. I'm so excited about all of that, I'm just concerned that he hasn't gained any weight, and he needs to, but he hasn't lost more weight either. We have not started insulin yet as the vet was seeing what a diet change would do first. He had a fructosamine test last Saturday and the result was 512. Higher than the desired 450 but not in the diabetic stages of 600+, according to my vet. She wants to give Bud a little longer on the diet to see if he continues improvement, which I'm happy about since I don't want to start insulin if I don't have to, but of course if he needs insulin, I want to start ASAP. So, I just got back from Walmart and bought the Relion micro to start home testing. I was just wondering:

1. Is the fructosamine level high enough that you think it warrants insulin now or can I hold off and see if he continues to improve?
2. What kind of numbers am I looking for before and after eating that would warrant insulin?
 
We generally say a cat is regulated ON INSULIN if they are in the mid to lower 200s at preshot and in double digits at nadir (but not below 40 which is approaching hypo territory. OFF INSULIN, a cat ranges from 40-120 with the majority of the time in double digits.

I'm glad you are going to do home testing. It will give you a lot of good information. One thing to try is to take a test before eating and then 20-30 minutes after. If the number falls instead of rises, we think the pancreas is working.
 
It can help to feed mini-meals and spread out the demand for the pancreas to produce insulin. A timed feeder can help with this. Several members here like the Pet Safe 5 compartment feeder.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top