Home testing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
My 6 year old cat Hoot was diagnosed 2 weeks ago with a BG of 430. We had him on 1 unit of Lantis twice a day. Went back last week and his BG hadn't changed so we bumped it up to 2 units twice a day. He is loosing alot of weight, but only wants to eat snacks. I've tried to change his food from dry to wet with no luck. I have tried to home test him twice and got no blood either time out of either ear. I didn't heat the ear the first time, but did the second. He was very good, but he is black which makes it even harder to see the blood. What am I doing wrong??? I am so worried about him and his weight loss. He is starving. I'm trying to do everything I have read to do but am getting so discouraged. :cry:
 
Welcome! The first week is a total roller coaster. You're not alone. I'm still a newbie, but I can promise you it gets so much easier. I can't give any advice on dosage, but I can suggest adding some wet food in a little at a time with the dry food to get him used to it. Keep moving up the wet/dry ratio of food once he gets used to it. You can try adding a bit of tuna juice over the wet food as well to entice him further. Another option would be to crumble some dry food over the wet and see if he will begin eating it. Once he does, then you can remove the wet food. Wet food really is the best for them. My girls didn't approve at first either and I went through so many different kinds that were low carb. Please check out the food recommendations on here for some ideas. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=79683&hilit=binky+food You will want to find a food he likes that is below 10% carbs, although I have seen several of the more experienced folks on here that recommend 7%-8% at most. We opted for Fancy Feast Classic (Pate varieties only- NOT gravy because it is high carbs). My cats decided they liked that much better than the premium brands. It was a compromise I was willing to make and it has worked out well. They like it and mom's happy with the carb levels. We were on Lantus for about a week and a half and are already on a trial of going without the insulin. It seems as if my kitty has gone into remission. nailbite_smile I honestly believe most of it was due to the dry to wet food change.

One thing the more experienced folks on here will tell you is to make sure you keep an eye on the glucose levels when you change from dry to wet because it's possible that the dose you are giving of insulin will be too high after the change which could be trouble for the kitty if he goes hypoglycemic when you aren't around or are not testing. Some have seen the glucose levels come down 100 points on just a food change alone! :-D

As for the testing... It's frustrating. No lie! My kitty has black ears too so I totally understand. I began using a 26 gauge lancet in the lancet device with a clear tip. It made it so much easier to see where I was poking. 30 gauge that comes with the device is typically too small and won't draw enough blood. 26 or 28 gauge works well. Also, be sure to warm the ear every time and try to get the very edge of the ear toward the top. you can also try to do the inside of the ear so you can see a little better. Once the ears get used to being stuck, they will "learn" to bleed. Within a week or so, you'll notice they bleed a lot easier. If you poke and you don't see blood at first, massage from the base of the ear to where you poked. It should push some blood out. Lots of hugs to the kitty and maybe some low carb treats for each poke, successful or not. I've heard you can put a tad bit of vaseline on the ear to help the blood bead up, although I haven't tried it. It took me three days to get the hang of it. After that, I could get her first time every time. You will too, just keep at it. :smile: You will want to test before you feed and shoot insulin in the AM and the PM for sure. It will be super helpful if you can test often at least the first few days to get an idea of your kitty's cycle and how the insulin is working. Every couple of hours would be great if you can do it. Where are you located? There may be someone near you that can help you with your testing. :cool:

My kitty lost soooo much weight as well. Just keep food out for him, but make sure he is eating at shot time. That's a biggie. When you get the glucose under control, the eating will chill out a little bit and he will put some weight on. I thought my girl would never put on weight, but she is already filling out nicely.

I'm sure someone else will stop in soon and give you some more information. I just thought I would give you the few tips I could offer. Just hang in there and keep with it. I promise it will be second nature within a few days. :-D Lastly, the folks on this board are truly amazing, helpful and supportive. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask away. :mrgreen:
 
There is a product called Illumavein that you could try: http://illumavein.com/ Using a flashlight or small camping head-lamp would also work. So would testing in a room with a bright light or near a bright light source.

You can try poking the inside of the cat's ear. There is little fur on that side so it is easier to see the blood as it comes out.
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB!

I have a black cat too, and intially I found it really helpful to put the teensiest smidge of vaseline on the edge of his ear prior to testing. That helped the blood droplet to bead up, and made it easier to see too.

My cat was starving initially. And he looked awful. I honestly thought he'd never recover, but insulin therapy is pretty powerful medicine! Bertie has been diabetic for nearly 6 years now and is in gorgeous condition! (Well, maybe I am just a little biased... ;-) )

I'd hold off from reducing the dry food any further until you can test your cat's blood glucose at home. Then you'll be able to monitor the effect of switchover and be able to reduce the insulin dose if you need to.

Hoot was only diagnosed 2 weeks ago so it's very early days. A month from now I think you'll be seeing quite a noticable difference in him. Honestly. :smile:
 
I just today did my first glucose test on my newly diagnosed male cat, Nonnie. I did one test about an hour after the shot...trying to follow what they did at the vets...I will do another curve tomorrow starting before the shot after reading the posts. I'm concerned because an hour after he ate and got his shot, his reading was 509 using a One Touch Ultra Mini. I don't think I got the insulin in him. I have wondered a couple of times about this. I will continue the curve today but repeat tomorrow when I feel more confident he got the insulin,. He is on 1 unit of glargine twice a day. He was never overweight. I'm curious what a typical curve looks like. When he was at the vets, about 90 minutes after his shot, it was 300+ but they attributed that to stress. Then is was in the low to mid 100s the rest of the day. That was when he was on 1.5 units. I have had diabetic cats in the past but never seemed to have the trouble giving the shots...I'm using the 1/2 inch needle. What do most of you use? Nonnie is a short hair cat.
Thank you for any advice!
 
Phyllis said:
I just today did my first glucose test on my newly diagnosed male cat, Nonnie. I did one test about an hour after the shot...trying to follow what they did at the vets...I will do another curve tomorrow starting before the shot after reading the posts. I'm concerned because an hour after he ate and got his shot, his reading was 509 using a One Touch Ultra Mini. I don't think I got the insulin in him. I have wondered a couple of times about this. I will continue the curve today but repeat tomorrow when I feel more confident he got the insulin,. He is on 1 unit of glargine twice a day. He was never overweight. I'm curious what a typical curve looks like. When he was at the vets, about 90 minutes after his shot, it was 300+ but they attributed that to stress. Then is was in the low to mid 100s the rest of the day. That was when he was on 1.5 units. I have had diabetic cats in the past but never seemed to have the trouble giving the shots...I'm using the 1/2 inch needle. What do most of you use? Nonnie is a short hair cat.
Thank you for any advice!
Hi Phyllis, and Welcome :-D
It woud be best if you can start a new thread for yourself and your questions, so that information doesn't get confused.
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

There is lots of information in the Starred Stickies over on the Lantus Tight Regulation forum. I encourage you to read as much as you can, and ask as many questions as you have. If you don't understand the first time, just ask again. We are here to help.
 
Phyllis said:
I.I'm using the 1/2 inch needle. What do most of you use? Nonnie is a short hair cat.


Needle length is preference. Some people like the 1/2 inch needles, others prefer the 5/16 inch needles. With the 5/16 inch needles you can insert the entire needle into the skin tent. This usually prevents fur shots. Holding the needle in place for a second or two after you depress the plunger also prevents the insulin from leaking out.
 
Thank-you all so much. We did have a much better day today with the food, but didn't test today. I got him all set up where I have good light and everything is ready to go for tomorrow. I know it will all be ok, just practice...practice...practice! I don't know what I would do without this board!
 
Good news is I did my first test with success this morning...YAY!!!!!! Bad news is his BG was 41. So I didn't give him his shot. I will check him in a little bit again. Do I now just skip the morning shot? This is sure proof why you need to test! Scary!
 
Yes, you skip the shot this morning.

I would continue to test today, like in 30 minutes after your last test, to make sure he isn't dropping further.
 
I'm actually wondering if the increase from 1.0u to 2.0u was too large. That's a big jump in dose especially if you are undertaking a food transition. Ordinarily, with the 41, you would reduce your cat's dose by 0.25u. You may want to drop the dose back further than that.

I'd also encourage you to read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Lantus board. There is a huge amount of information there and it will give you a strong foundation in managing your cat's diabetes with Lantus.
 
Woo-hoo! Great job in getting a successful test! YIKES on the 41! nailbite_smile That's exactly why we test! As Sienne said, you shouls post over on the Lantus forum so we can continue to help you with dosing advice and any other questions you might have. If you notice, most folks have a link to a spreadsheet in their signatures, as well as a link to a basic profile of their sugar kitty. As you do more testing and get more data, it's helpful as a quick reference for those giving advice. Many people post their numbers daily.

Here's the links on how to set up the spreadsheets:

Spreadsheet http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207
Profile http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123
 
Yes, quite a first day of testing!! I got another reading about 2 hours later and it was 150. I tried another test two hours later with no success...Moms fault, not Hoots. I will test again before his last shot and will give him 1 1/2 units instead of 2 and will test him about 4 hours later just to make sure he's not to low before I go to bed. This is scary stuff! I could have lost my Hootie :cry: I will go to the Lantis board. Thanks everyone :smile:
 
Hi, I do not know yet what your name is.
I do not see you over on the Lantus TR board, yet. If you get any low number for your next test, please please post for advice before giving his shot. I would think you would want to start over again with 1 unit, and see how that goes.
Good luck with your testing tonight.
 
My name is Pam and I will go to the Lantis Board to start readings. I am having a hard time keeping his #'s regulated and could use the advice. The testing is going much better now, and Hoot is awesome, he's such a forgiving kitty! Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top