Holy crap! Look at this!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mancat

Member Since 2015
Her AMPS came in at 86. :eek: I am absolutely blown away. That's a perfect number. Given the fact that her numbers are always screwy and all over the place I have no idea what's going on. I am pretty speechless but I would absolutely love to know why it came in at that number and figure out how to keep it there for her. :woot:She's been perfect since coming back from the vets with her tummy bug. The *only* thing that's changed since last week was I started giving her the probiotic the vet recommended. Could that honestly have caused *that* much improvement in a week? As always, appreciate the help! :bighug:
 
Guessing: A probiotic can rebalance the gut flora. Perhaps that is helping suppress some other organisms which were causing problems.
 
Come on BJM, you're supposed to be a wizard! You're another one of those people that knows all. No guessing. I looked up the probiotic that the vet gave me. If anyone wants to know its called Proviable-DC. My vet charged me $61 for a 30 count and I found the exact same thing on Amazon for $16. The 80 count is $33. If it really is helping then I can definitely afford to keep buying it. It's one capsule per day, broken open and sprinkled on the food. Nala eats it with no problem and doesn't even notice its there.

http://www.amazon.com/Proviable-DC-Cats-Dogs-Capsules/dp/B001O3UE9E?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Link to it.
 
In humans, antibiotic treatment may leave behind other bacteria which then grow unchecked. One example is C. difficile. The overgrowth of the remaining, imbalanced bacteria may cause severe problems. C. diff can kill you. In humans, they are actually doing fecal transplants to treat some of these patients
C. diff is what killed my dad. He couldn't fight it off due to chronic lymphocytic leukemia, went septic, and died.
 
That's terrible. I'm sorry to hear that. :( I have heard about the fecal transfer. Usually with a family member, correct?
 
I almost took off of work today. We have liberal leave due to the weather and I was so tempted to stay off and watch her numbers develop over the day but I took off 3 days for the huge storm we had a couple of weeks ago so I didn't think it was a good idea. However, I just got approved for teleworking yesterday :D which means I can do curves whenever I want when I'm working from home. I'll probably start next week. I may only get one day to start with but because of my job class I'm entitled to 4 days so I'm going to ask for all 4 right off the bat and see what happens.
 
Actually, they're trying various methods - donors who've been tested to ensure no other infectious disease is present, freeze-dried material in capsules, and so on.
 
Ok yeah. I remember reading something about people in Boston actually being able to donate to a research facility and they would give you a small compensation amount. They mentioned going to the facility for the sterile environment and doing your business right there so they could use it for research purposes.
 
Not unexpected, 24 hours after the last shot. Maybe she'll give you one of these low pre shots on a day when you can stick around and shoot when she is high enough.
 
She ate very low carb. Higher carbs bring her numbers up too high. I'm seeing small signs of improvement. I may bump her up slightly again.
 
I think I would be tempted to give 1.8 on your yellows and stick with 2 on the 400s. But you'd have a better handle on it once you can get a curve.
 
Is it bad to shoot under 200 if shes constantly climbing after she eats? I did a +2 and +3 after her evening shot and she climbs. I did reduce dose just in case.
 
How low are we talking? The big deal for me is if she is sure climbing, not still falling.

In general, you use the data you have gathered to help you shoot. So if she consistently climbs, I'd say try it - planning to test a few times, just in case.
 
Ok well I'm going to take the advice and stay with her and shoot/test. She generally climbs anywhere from 50-100 points with food so I'll see what happens. I have emergency stuffs on hand if needed
 
It is worth doing while you are there to monitor and bring her up if needed. I think I might give 1.5 if she is in the 160s, though. You can always do more next time if needed.
 
Well I gave her 2 at the 169 she was at for PMPS tonight and she's already up to 311 after 3 hours. I've been with her the whole time and she was rising at the point of PMPS so I don't see her dropping extremely low in the time frame with giving her the food. She always bounces with food. Her current food is 4% carbs so I know it's not that.
 
What do you think about shooting 11/13? So shoot one hour earlier in the am before she rises so high and one hour later at night? I don't know if it will help but it might be worth a try?
 
That would have me getting up at 4:30 in the morning to dose her. I mean I suppose I could do that.
 
Well I normally shoot at 5:20am so I could do 5:50am before I leave for work at no problem. So then PM shot would be 5:50pm?
 
We've had folks who have had success with the 11/13 schedule for those longer cycles...the beauty of ProZinc is that you can do that if you need!
 
Yeah absolutely I can do that no problem. I already gave her her morning shot today at regular time because I didn't get a chance to check the forum but tomorrow I will go ahead and do the 5:50/6:50 with a curve and see how she likes it.
 
About that 11/13 split. She came in way low this morning. Maybe back to a 12/12 again or 11.5/12.5?
 
I SWEAR they can read and see what we are thinking. o_O

I am only guessing but I think maybe 2 units was too high for the pre shots yesterday. Sometimes, when the middle of the cycle is higher than both pre shots, that is the case. And then today, she crashed and the pre shot is low.

Definitely skip the shot today. If you are around and want to shoot when she rises (and it won't mess up your schedule) you could.

Have we talked about a sliding scale? You can shoot her higher pre shots with a higher dose and lower pre shots with a lower dose. So yesterday,with the 194/198 you might have given 1.5. Then when she is higher, like 323, shoot the 2 units.

BTW, great numbers lately!
 
You mentioned a sliding scale sort of but were talking about shooting pinks and yellows and now shes in greens and blues (:nailbiting: which I don't want to say too loud and break the magic spell because I've never seen this many blues/greens since we started lol.) I definitely understand what you're saying now since you explained it with a bit more detail. I will try working with that. I expect to be shooting at 2 tonight since she will probably come in high. I'm not upset about it though because it means she's improving and who knows what'll happen in the future. :D I'm thinking this probiotic the vet recommended is actually helping. I've stocked up on enough for the next 3 months. I don't know if its a lifetime maintenance medication or not so I'll have to do more research on it but its looking good.

Those great numbers are largely due to you. You've held my hand every step of the way through the good and the bad days. What you do means a lot to a lot of people so I wanted to say thanks :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top