Hmmm...now what?

Status
Not open for further replies.

codyraja

Member Since 2014
So we got through today's crisis of having given insulin when I shouldn't have, but now I'm a little perplexed. His BG is up to 327 only 9 hours after his morning shot. Should I feed and shoot him now, or wait and see how things go in the next hour? Guess the FF w/ gravy works pretty well....
 
Hi Skootersmom-
Despite having it explained to me many times, I'm not sure that I understand bouncing enough to identify it. Our current problem started last night when I forgot to give him his shot with his food. He got his shot 2 hours after food and this morning he was way to low to shoot and then I accidentally gave him his shot anyway. Can you tell it's been a crazy couple of days? Do you think his recent, but before yesterday, data suggests bouncing? I'm struggling because I think that .6 doesn't seem to get him low enough mid-cycle, but .8 keeps him too low 12 hours later. I've tried, but don't think I can reliably measure .7. thoughts?
 
I can try and explain what a bounce is, but I am still too new myself to recognize when they are ending.....I can normally tell when Skooter is bouncing, but I am not great at the when it is ending...


If I am incorrect in anything I am saying, I am sure one of the more experienced members will be able to correct me, as I am fairly new to all this myself.

The way I think of the bounce is this:

Our cats have been sooooooooooo used to having such high numbers and then we come in and start giving them insulin to get their numbers down. Our cat's bodies consider the normal ranges (and depending on how high their numbers have been, even numbers in the 300s and 400s) as too low. So their body goes into crisis mode thinking it needs to produce more insulin because they are not used to the normal numbers. Over time, with the help of insulin, their bodies start realizing that those lower numbers aren't that scary and they are fine. I believe this is in part what can help a cat get into remission.

I notice that when Skooter goes into the greens, within two cycles or so he will bounce higher, and that is just his body trying to figure out what the heck is going on. From what my fellow Lantus Land users have told me (because again I still SUCK at seeing when a bounce is clearing), he is starting to clear bounces earlier than before, which is also a good thing.

I am not sure if this helps, and I sure hope if I am understanding this incorrectly, someone else reading this will step in and correct me.

From my personal experience with fur shots (see spreadsheet), which happened when Skooter was first diagnosed, it took him a few days to get back to being on pace.

I am in no way shape or form experienced enough to give dosing advice, but hopefully the explanation of the bounce (if correct) helps some. As for how long it takes the bounce to end....every cat is different and from what I am learning from Skooter, every bounce can be different as well.

Like I said, hopefully one of the more experienced members will be able to jump in and help you with the dosing stuff.
 
Succinct version:
When the glucose drops to an unfamiliar low number or drops rapidly, the body releases compensatory hormones. These release glycogen which is converted into glucose and up it goes. It can take 3 days or so for that effect to clear.
 
thanks skootersmom and BJM! follow up question...if BG is high due to bouncing...should I up the dose a little? I don't have a ton of data, but the couple of mid cycle numbers I have since the low BG episode are in the 200s, not noticeably different than the pre shot numbers. thoughts?
 
I am fairly new, so I will leave the dosing question to BJM or one of the more experienced member's to respond to
 
Raising the dose actually sets you up for another bounce, so I would not.

Remember, bouncing is due to either a faster than accustomed drop or a drop to an unaccustomed level. You may find that holding steady or even backing off a smidge allows the numbers to settle faster.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top