Higher sugar-daytime, nighttime lower

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Very Active Member
Does anyone have experience with their cats sugar being very good in the morning, but rising high during the day, but always being lower in the middle of the night? Should I be giving different doses at night then in the morning?
This has been a constant throught this whole mess, and he eats the same food morning and night and the same dose of insulin.

Short story: my husband has been working nights this week so I have not slept much so Ihave been testing Shakespeare in the middle of the night this week.
(We always wondered why he was always better in the morning than at night.)
It appears that the insulin is working better at night or his body is able to fight the sugars at night because his numbers are much better in the late night and early morning.
SO should I adjust his insulin to give him more inthe morning and less at night?
 
This is called the "Dawn effect" in human diabetics. I don't really know why it happens, but many of us see it. Is your kitty getting the same amount of food in the evening as he does during the day? How low is he going at night? Can you give us a sampling of his numbers over the past few days?
 
thank you so much for your answer!!
I am still working on a correct dosage for Shakespeare but on 1.5 unit day
he stays in the 200's at night, this morning at 6:30he was at 235 on his +11
last night on his +11 he was 313.
I am wondering if this is why he has really bad neuropathy, could it be that we always dosed for the daytime, not realizing that the same dose at night might be too much!
 
If he is not going lower than 200 at night, then I don't think his dose would be too high. Have you gotten a +6 or +8 in the evening cycle? Is this always in the 200s too?

You should look into methyl B-12 for his neuropathy. This along with getting his glucose down will help his hind quarters.
Here is a link to one of the brands of methyl b-12 that a lot of us use:

http://www.lifelinknet.com/siteResource ... baline.asp

What insulin are you using? Is your feeding schedule the same am vs. pm? Is it possible that he licks plates in the sink, etc, while you guys are sleeping?
 
It would help you, and us, a lot if you had a spreadsheet. Can we talk you into doing one? We'd be glad to help if you need it. - just send me a PM. It's so much easier to see patterns and trends with it, and maybe we'd be better able to answer your questions.
 
There is a very long story here,
but when he was on 2.5 units this was a day time curve,
5:30am insulin - preshot 267
+2-275
+4-246
+6-183
+8-137
+9-147
+10-167
+12- 281

so if he was taking 2.5 units at night it must hava been too much which is why his legs are so bad. He has been taking 5mg of metho every day since October and it has kept him some what walking.
he only eats FF beef day and night and chicken for a treat. he can not get into anything else,
I got a new vet and this week I stopped the insulin for a few days(another long story)
but i still took his numbers, and at night he was always 330 and in the early morning from3am to 7 am he was always 290.

I know i need to do a spreadsheet but i have everything written down on paper. I will get to it I promise
,Sue and thank you for your offer to help.
Today I gave him 1.5 unit at 6:30am - preshot number 235
+3 - 299
+6 - 305

so the 1.5 is not working for the daytime so I will have to raise him up and do another full curve, but for the night, I will have to do a full curve at night to determine what dose I should give him at night. Do you know of anyone who has to do that
 
To do a curve at night, just set your alarm for every 2 hours, or put on a movie marathon. : :mrgreen: You could also do it over 2 nights- get a +2, +6, +10 one night and the next night a +4, +8, +12. I have seen people do it when they are worried about an hypo. It would be good info to have.
 
I just checked through your past posts and see that you are using Lantus. Lantus really has to be dosed consistently, so you would do best to give the same dose both am and pm. Otherwise you would be constantly depleting and then filling up the shed over and over again and probably not get any sort of consistent number.

If he goes slightly lower at night, that will not cause the neuropathy. Depending on how long he has had hind end issues, it takes a while for the methyl b-12 to bring him completely back to normal.

Why was his dose dropped back to 1.5u twice a day? If his numbers aren't going below 100 right now, then he probably didn't need a reduction of that much - which is why you are seeing high numbers so far today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top