Higher numbers in the morning

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oscar’s numbers most of the time
seem to be higher in the morning. Any ideas why?
I will tag a prozinc user for you but you don't have not taken any tests after the AMPS or the PMPS tests ? Any reason why ?
@FrostD

I see in the remarks section on your SS you said
Last day of amoxicillin for uti. On 7-28
 
Once you're able to get a few midcycle tests in, let me know and I'll take another look. We dose based on nadir, so right now I'm not sure how low his BG may be going each cycle.
 
Once you're able to get a few midcycle tests in, let me know and I'll take another look. We dose based on nadir, so right now I'm not sure how low his BG may be going each cycle.
How often should I test? I will test tonight at +4
 
Last edited:
How often should I test? I will test tonight at +4
@FrostD

Until Melissa responds I found this posted by a member

If you can vary the test times each day (and night here and there), it effectively gives us a pretty good picture of how the dose is working. So one day maybe a +2 and +5, the next day a +3 and +7, day after a +6, etc
Sometimes Prozinc has a late nadir

Part of that process is getting a feel for basic concepts:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
 
Last edited:
Oscar’s numbers most of the time
seem to be higher in the morning. Any ideas why?

The AMPS is always the last number to come down (and may be the highest number in the day) due to something called "Dawn Phenomenon". It's the body's natural reaction to getting ready to wake up for the day. Hormones get released which causes glucose to go up and blood pressure to rise so you're more ready to wake up.
 
The AMPS is always the last number to come down (and may be the highest number in the day) due to something called "Dawn Phenomenon". It's the body's natural reaction to getting ready to wake up for the day. Hormones get released which causes glucose to go up and blood pressure to rise so you're more ready to wake up.
Hi Chris she has no tests at all after AMPS or PMPS she was advised to start getting some tests in. See post # 3, 4. 5 and 6
@Chris & China (GA)
 
What Chris noted about Dawn Phenomenon is correct. However, without any tests other than your AMPS and PMPS, we have no idea if your observation abut the higher AMPS numbers is correct. In fact, we have no way to know how low your current dose is taking Oscar's numbers.

Insulin dosing is based on how well a given dose is working. The nadir (the lowest point in the 12-hour cycle) gives you that information. Generally, the nadir falls around the middle of the cycle. However, it's helpful to get a curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours for a 12 hour period) so you can have some data that tells you if your cat is typical or if Oscar has an early or late nadir. Without knowing how well the dose is working, you would keep raising the dose since the pre-shot numbers are typically the higher numbers since the dose is wearing off.

Just as an example, early on my cat's diabetes adventure, Gabby started the day in the 400s. She dropped to the 40s and by PMPS, she was back in the 400s. If I hadn't been getting tests in during the cycle, I would have raised her dose. Instead, her numbers told me I needed to lower the dose.
 
What Chris noted about Dawn Phenomenon is correct. However, without any tests other than your AMPS and PMPS, we have no idea if your observation abut the higher AMPS numbers is correct. In fact, we have no way to know how low your current dose is taking Oscar's numbers.

Insulin dosing is based on how well a given dose is working. The nadir (the lowest point in the 12-hour cycle) gives you that information. Generally, the nadir falls around the middle of the cycle. However, it's helpful to get a curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours for a 12 hour period) so you can have some data that tells you if your cat is typical or if Oscar has an early or late nadir. Without knowing how well the dose is working, you would keep raising the dose since the pre-shot numbers are typically the higher numbers since the dose is wearing off.

Just as an example, early on my cat's diabetes adventure, Gabby started the day in the 400s. She dropped to the 40s and by PMPS, she was back in the 400s. If I hadn't been getting tests in during the cycle, I would have raised her dose. Instead, her numbers told me I needed to lower the dose.
What Chris noted about Dawn Phenomenon is correct. However, without any tests other than your AMPS and PMPS, we have no idea if your observation abut the higher AMPS numbers is correct. In fact, we have no way to know how low your current dose is taking Oscar's numbers.

Insulin dosing is based on how well a given dose is working. The nadir (the lowest point in the 12-hour cycle) gives you that information. Generally, the nadir falls around the middle of the cycle. However, it's helpful to get a curve (i.e., testing every 2 hours for a 12 hour period) so you can have some data that tells you if your cat is typical or if Oscar has an early or late nadir. Without knowing how well the dose is working, you would keep raising the dose since the pre-shot numbers are typically the higher numbers since the dose is wearing off.

Just as an example, early on my cat's diabetes adventure, Gabby started the day in the 400s. She dropped to the 40s and by PMPS, she was back in the 400s. If I hadn't been getting tests in during the cycle, I would have raised her dose. Instead, her numbers told me I needed to lower the dose.

I am planning to test him again AMPS +4 this morning then again at +6 etc and will add to his SS
 
Once you're able to get a few midcycle tests in, let me know and I'll take another look. We dose based on nadir, so right now I'm not sure how low his BG may be going each cycle.
I am testing today every two hours. Except I missed the first +2. Is that going to mess it up?
 
I haven’t put his food dish up so he has been eating some all day. Doesn’t that affect his curve? Those every two hours sure come around quickly! I am sure he is wondering what is going on!
 
I haven’t put his food dish up so he has been eating some all day. Doesn’t that affect his curve? Those every two hours sure come around quickly! I am sure he is wondering what is going on!
Yes depending on how much you are feeding him it can affect the curve and keep his BG higher.
We usually suggest feeding a full meal at pre shot and a couple of small low carb snacks at +2 and +4 or +3 and +5.
 
Awesome job! I would go up to 2.25U tomorrow
I plan to test at +3, +5, and +7 tomorrow to see where his numbers are starting to go up or down as right now his +6 is his lowest but perhaps his +5 was lower…..and the +6 was the beginning of the rise. Make sense?
 
Great job getting those tests in yesterday morning. Remember, though, to try to get at the very least, a test before you go to sleep (aka a "before bed" test). Some cats like to surprise you during the PM cycle. You don't want to miss a reduction if Oscar is one of those kitties.
 
Great job getting those tests in yesterday morning. Remember, though, to try to get at the very least, a test before you go to sleep (aka a "before bed" test). Some cats like to surprise you during the PM cycle. You don't want to miss a reduction if Oscar is one of those kitties.
Okay I will test tonight before I go to bed. I looked again at my SS and did notice the PMPS +4 was his lowest number ever. (On 8/5)
 
Last edited:
Oscar's spreadsheet is starting to fill in good job! I think you are making progress towards regulation, all that yellow is good to see. Next up, blues and greens!

as you increase the dose, those extra test points are even more important. I reached a point with Hendrick where I would do a test at bed time (about 10pm for me, which was about 3.5 hours after his insulin shot) and based on that test....well sometimes it was not bedtime for me at all lol. If that test showed he had dropped a lot from PMPS and possibly still going down, there was no going to sleep for this guy. I would stay up and test again in an hour, or 2 hours, midnight, 1 am....and then finally go to bed if he was on the rise again.

Those were some rough months but it was only temporary.

and I'd do it all over again in a heartbeat for my boy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top