Higher glucose levels with increased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. I would like some feedback on Lucy's glucose levels as they have gone higher a few days after increasing the insulin dose. The readings lowered with the increase to 1.75 units from 1.5 units but are increasing again a few days after starting on 2 units. The vet had wanted us to increase from 1.5 units to 2 units but I was a bit anxious about that so I increased to 1.75 units and then increased to 2 units. I am doing a glucose curve tomorrow but wonder if we should stay with the 2 units of lantus for the rest of the week or increase the dose if the higher readings continue tomorrow though I will speak to our vet too. Thank you.
 
I think personally if the higher numbers continue with the dose increase I would decrease back to the 1.75u again and hold it for a little longer before trying the increase again.

Although looking at Lucy's spreadsheet I might also try an another increase to 2.25u as even on 1.75 her nadirs were still high enough to warrant a dose increase.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Watching your progress with interest Voula as I am in the same boat. Vet pushed me to go to 2 units and first day hd was ok but is now higher. Nice to see you on FB too.

Juliet and Silver
 
Thank you Mel and Juliet. This morning's AMPS was lower again so maybe it is the new dose wonkiness I read about. I am doing a glucose curve today and I might stay on 2 units for a few more days to see what happens but then again even on 1.75 units where the glucose levels were lower the nadir was still not low enough so that as you said Mel warrants an increase in dose. I think we are going to have to increase to 2.25 units at some point this week.
 
I'm on day three of NDW. But like you, his nadir not that low - in the blues. I found the Start Low Go slow protocol in one of the stickies and for me I think I will stay at two units for a couple weeks to get his body adjusted then do a curve and see where he's at. just looked at your SS. Might be a good idea to do a curve. Looks very similar to Silver's SS. He's in the pinks and yellows preshot but stays in the Blues from about +4 through to +8. You might see the same with Lucy with more testing. If I only looked at preshot Id be disappointed with the high numbers but Mel warned me he'd bounce quite a bit until he was used to the new dose.

Juliet
 
Hi Juliet. I looked at Silver's spreadsheet and you are getting lower readings some hours after the insulin dose. We haven't had many lower readings yet so I will see what the glucose curve today shows and decide what to do. My feeling is that the dose needs to be increased again but I will stay on two units for a few days more and see what the readings are then but probably we will have to increase the dose again.
 
I'm a little scared. I just did a last check of the night and he's at 104 at +4. Scared to go to bed but I'm working at 6am.
 
Hi Juliet. I don't have enough experience to give any advice or suggestions. Hopefully someone else will reply soon.
 
Voula said:
Hi Juliet. I don't have enough experience to give any advice or suggestions. Hopefully someone else will reply soon.

Well I've posted a 911 hope I get a quick answer. I'm heading to bed but set my alarm for two hrs. Do you know how to post a link to another forum?
 
You copy and paste the address of the page you are referring to in your post to the other forum and yes a good idea to test again soon.
 
I emailed our vet and she thinks we should stay with 2 units longer given the lowering of the glucose levels with the increase to 1.75 units from 1.5 units and then the increase in the glucose levels when we went to 2 units which seem to be coming down a bit again after the first few days on 2 units. Like you said Mel the nadir on 1.75 units was still high so that warranted an increase but then with the increase in levels in the first few days on 2 units possibly being a reaction to the increased dose and the slight reduction I am seeing now at 2 units I think we will stay at 2 units for now.
 
Voula said:
I emailed our vet and she thinks we should stay with 2 units longer given the lowering of the glucose levels with the increase to 1.75 units from 1.5 units and then the increase in the glucose levels when we went to 2 units which seem to be coming down a bit again after the first few days on 2 units. Like you said Mel the nadir on 1.75 units was still high so that warranted an increase but then with the increase in levels in the first few days on 2 units possibly being a reaction to the increased dose and the slight reduction I am seeing now at 2 units I think we will stay at 2 units for now.

Same here. Vet replied to my email and said to stay at 2.
 
Hi Juliet. I hope you managed to relax a bit after last night. I can understand not increasing the dose for Silver at the moment and that seems like a good decision. Not that I am an expert but it makes sense.
 
Voula said:
Hi Juliet. I hope you managed to relax a bit after last night. I can understand not increasing the dose for Silver at the moment and that seems like a good decision. Not that I am an expert but it makes sense.

Thanks Voula. I didn't like his preshot number this am. had his low blues happenwd during the day I would not have been worried. Not like he was in green. But coz I was heading to bed it was scary.
 
Hi Juliet. Things usually seem worse at night than during the day and I can understand your anxiety as I would have felt the same. This is all new to us and scary at times too.
 
Ladies,

It isn't just you newbies that get scared of lows at night. I've been at this for 4 years, and a low reading at night still to this day bothers me. Now granted, it doesn't anymore send my heart into palpations like it did when I was still wet behind the ears, but they do still scare the bejeepers out of me. I'm just always worried that I'm going to close my eyes just 'for a second' and not hear my alarm go off to retest. During the day when I'm bright eyed and bushy tailed and able to test every 30 minutes, I don't even blink an eye anymore, but at night that is still an entirely different ball of wax. Now I just jump online for the company, not so much the instructions on how to walk a cat out of a hypo...lol

And to this day I still amp up the testing if Autumn is surfing the low double digits. You never want to get complacent about lows.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
Ladies,

It isn't just you newbies that get scared of lows at night. I've been at this for 4 years, and a low reading at night still to this day bothers me. Now granted, it doesn't anymore send my heart into palpations like it did when I was still wet behind the ears, but they do still scare the bejeepers out of me. I'm just always worried that I'm going to close my eyes just 'for a second' and not hear my alarm go off to retest. During the day when I'm bright eyed and bushy tailed and able to test every 30 minutes, I don't even blink an eye anymore, but at night that is still an entirely different ball of wax. Now I just jump online for the company, not so much the instructions on how to walk a cat out of a hypo...lol

And to this day I still amp up the testing if Autumn is surfing the low double digits. You never want to get complacent about lows.

Mel and The Fur Gang

That's good to know we're not the only ones ;-) - I stayed up til 2am watching Silver - not focusing too hard at my job today :-(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top