Higher BG throughout the night???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nolan'sMom

Member Since 2014
I've been looking over Nolans SS and I'm still trying to find the right dose. His numbers seem to consistently run high all night, but sometimes by morning his numbers have dropped extra low, sometime they stay high right to AMPS. His numbers seem to be all over the place. Im not sure if he is bouncing, needs a higher dose, lower dose? Any suggestions?
 
Last night, I think he probably bounced right away. He could have still been headed down at pmps and then insulin on top could kick in his body's reaction to add glucose. (next time, wait 20 minutes without feeding to be sure it is headed up and closer to 200. If he gets there, still shoot a little less as that dose gave you an unshootable pmps.)

This am that same dose gave you another unshootable pmps. I definitely think it is time to reduce.

What did you do tonight? If nothing yet, wait and be sure he is headed up and nearer 200
 
Here is the PZI protocol we wrote:

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=109077

Here is the part about preshot numbers under 200
The general recommendation for new diabetics is not to shoot a preshot under 200, but to wait 20 minutes (without feeding as food raises blood glucose levels) and retest. If the number is rising and above 200, then a shot can be given with perhaps a little less insulin given.

If midcycle (nadir) numbers are in the 40-50 range, the cat should be carefully monitored for the next couple of hours with tests given every 30 minutes as long as the cat stays low. First small amounts of low carb food can be given to raise the blood glucose levels. If that doesn’t raise the levels, higher carb food should be given. If the levels are dropping and below 40, then honey can be put directly on the cat’s gums. If the numbers still aren’t rising, a trip to an emergency vet is probably necessary.

If one preshot is above 200 and shootable, and one preshot is too low to shoot, it probably means the dose is a little too high and lasting more than the usual 12 hours. Try reducing by at least .25 to see if you get two shootable preshot numbers (ideal) rather than one that is too high and one that is too low to shoot (not ideal)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top