Holly4Richard
New Member
Sorry I couldn't find the high dose forum, this new site messed me up.
I'm giving my 14lb 9.5year old male tabby 6units of lantus, u100 in a u100 needle. his pre shots are between mid and high 300's. We started low and went slow with vetsulin in fall 08 when he was diagnosed, he had diabetic ketoacidosis nov 08, we quadrupled the dose to 8 units vetsulin.(he was on 1.5 units every 12hrs and she gave him 2 units of regular insulin IM every two hours for 8 hours) The vetsulin was eventually increased to 8units. A year later we started pzi, he eventually got up to 11units pzi with preshots in the mid 300's, never getting below 250 with the two hour curves we did.. now started lantus at 5 units per vet, his preshots are still mid three hundreds (althought i'm giving half the units in lantus as i did in pzi) We went to 5.5 units lantus and this week to 6units lantus. The cat is not getting anywhere near 100mg/dl. this cat is also extremely polyphagic, he wakes me up if he hasn't eaten in 5hours, he screams and stares at me, follows me around until i feed him. if i don't feed him constantly he lashes out and eats the loaf of bread through the bag, eats hamburger buns through the plastic, mauled a jelly donut through cellophane, eats potatoe skins, anything consumable. He exhibits polyuria to a somewhat lesser degree than previously but is still creating large clumps in the litter. He only eats fancy feast classic varieties and i try to give him a 3ounce can with each 12hour injection but he readily demands twice that in food. This cat also seems to 'use up' each type of insulin in 8hrs, not 12. He seems vibrant and excitable but very unregulated. would testing for high dose causes be beneficial? would it help if i knew why he was high dose? also, should i keep increasing this lantus glargine by a half unit every 2weeks till he gets near an acceptable range. i want him to be under 200 for 22 of 24hrs a day. this cat is at 300+ 24/7 please respond with lots of advice and if you need any clarification please ask, i have waited to long to regulate him. is it possible that he is unable to be regulated? Can i use two insulins at once???
This cat is my best friend and I want to help him!!!!-He's also driving me crazy, i'm pumping him full of insulin and he's begging for food like he hasn't eaten!!!
I'm giving my 14lb 9.5year old male tabby 6units of lantus, u100 in a u100 needle. his pre shots are between mid and high 300's. We started low and went slow with vetsulin in fall 08 when he was diagnosed, he had diabetic ketoacidosis nov 08, we quadrupled the dose to 8 units vetsulin.(he was on 1.5 units every 12hrs and she gave him 2 units of regular insulin IM every two hours for 8 hours) The vetsulin was eventually increased to 8units. A year later we started pzi, he eventually got up to 11units pzi with preshots in the mid 300's, never getting below 250 with the two hour curves we did.. now started lantus at 5 units per vet, his preshots are still mid three hundreds (althought i'm giving half the units in lantus as i did in pzi) We went to 5.5 units lantus and this week to 6units lantus. The cat is not getting anywhere near 100mg/dl. this cat is also extremely polyphagic, he wakes me up if he hasn't eaten in 5hours, he screams and stares at me, follows me around until i feed him. if i don't feed him constantly he lashes out and eats the loaf of bread through the bag, eats hamburger buns through the plastic, mauled a jelly donut through cellophane, eats potatoe skins, anything consumable. He exhibits polyuria to a somewhat lesser degree than previously but is still creating large clumps in the litter. He only eats fancy feast classic varieties and i try to give him a 3ounce can with each 12hour injection but he readily demands twice that in food. This cat also seems to 'use up' each type of insulin in 8hrs, not 12. He seems vibrant and excitable but very unregulated. would testing for high dose causes be beneficial? would it help if i knew why he was high dose? also, should i keep increasing this lantus glargine by a half unit every 2weeks till he gets near an acceptable range. i want him to be under 200 for 22 of 24hrs a day. this cat is at 300+ 24/7 please respond with lots of advice and if you need any clarification please ask, i have waited to long to regulate him. is it possible that he is unable to be regulated? Can i use two insulins at once???
This cat is my best friend and I want to help him!!!!-He's also driving me crazy, i'm pumping him full of insulin and he's begging for food like he hasn't eaten!!!