Case
Member Since 2017
Hello everyone! I haven't posted in awhile so I started a new thread for an update on Sookie. She was pretty upset with me for goong on vacation a couple weeks ago and her numbers have been reflecting that. Could someone please explain to me how to get the pre shot numbers down? I know the typical prozinc curve is like a smile but eventually shouldn't it even out a little bit? Sookie is almost always in the 300s before her shot (unless she's bouncing then its in the 400s) and I can usually get her down into the blues sometimes greens but it always jumps back up. I'm wondering if eventually we'll have to switch insulins to something with a longer duration like lantus, unless I'm just not understanding how the prozinc is supposed to work. I'm starting a new vial this weekend so I'm in no rush to switch, just a thought.
I have another question about bouncing. Sookie seems to be bounce anytime she hits a dark green number and a lot of times with the blues as well. Sometimes her BG drop is sort of fast and steep which also triggers a bounce. I noticed that when I give her 2.25 units she goes nicely into the blues, but when I give her 2.5 she will go into dark greens. However when I give her the 2.5 she bounces like crazy the next couple cycles compared to much less on the 2.25. I'm wondering which is better in her case, let her be in lower numbers with the 2.5 and bounce around until it evens out, or take a more modest approach with the 2.25 and not have her bounce so much. I'm trying so hard to understand all of this. Any advice anyone has would be so greatly appreciated!
I have another question about bouncing. Sookie seems to be bounce anytime she hits a dark green number and a lot of times with the blues as well. Sometimes her BG drop is sort of fast and steep which also triggers a bounce. I noticed that when I give her 2.25 units she goes nicely into the blues, but when I give her 2.5 she will go into dark greens. However when I give her the 2.5 she bounces like crazy the next couple cycles compared to much less on the 2.25. I'm wondering which is better in her case, let her be in lower numbers with the 2.5 and bounce around until it evens out, or take a more modest approach with the 2.25 and not have her bounce so much. I'm trying so hard to understand all of this. Any advice anyone has would be so greatly appreciated!
. If her nadir drops her more than 50% of her pre-shot test, then she bounces. You don't want to increase a dose on a bounce number (I'm pretty sure you haven't
. The more time Sookie can spend getting into the high dark green numbers and lower blues, her body should start getting re-trained, if you will, to seeing normal BG numbers again and calm down on the physiological response that sends her on the trampoline 




