High numbers: PMPS 584; +5 561; +7 400; +9 408

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a followup to last night's post. Thank you for the helpful replies. Should I hang in there with 2.0 for another cycle?
 
Karen,
I don't know the insulin well enough to advise on dose, but I think the protocol says to hold the dose for 3 days. Tomorrow morning would be the 6th cycle on that dose. After that, I think a dose increase is called for, and I think the recommended increase increment is .25u.
Hopefully a lantus experienced person will be able to tell you more.

Carl
 
Karen, what food is Terra on? I ask because I had high numbers with a lot of up and down, and I was on 3units twice daily, though I expect we are on different insulines (mine is named in my signature, prophasomething. I changed to low carb food and there has been a really big difference. I think I didn't expect it to be such a difference, or i might have made a slower change from dry to wet, e.g. started replacing a bit of dry with a bit of wet each meal. Anyway since your numbers are so high, maybe consider changing food before raising insulin?
I hesitate with this suggestion, as a glance at my SS will show you that I am (a) new at this and (b) now having trouble with low numbers. But that might be because I am slooowly reducing my insulin from 3 down to 2. You are already at 2.

Regarding lowering her insulin, have you seen this? http://binkyspage.tripod.com/SLGS.html

Regarding diet, see this http://felinediabetes.com/diet.htm
and this; http://felinediabetes.com/diabetic-cat-diets.htm
But see also (important!), see this: http://gorbzilla.com/diet_tips.htm

Poor old Terra has been through so much lately, I hope things come good for her soon.
 
Hi akbah's mum,

Thanks for asking. I immediately upon diagnosis and reading/self-educating switched Terra to canned. She ate it at first and I thought I was blessed with a cooperative cat. But that was short lived. She has been making me crazy with her finickyness and so two days ago she just refused to eat the canned. In desperation I gave her dry Iams - high carb and her old food - rather than have her fasting. Now she's coming around to eating the canned again. At first I just got a bunche of the different low carb foods, including Fancy Feast, which she ate wholeheartdly for a while and then turned her nose up at. I again read Binky's list and some other articles and have narrowed it down to the several canned foods which are okay enough low carb but also are low phosphorus. And from that small number, I find she's willing to eat one: Wellness, which also meets my standards for good quality meat. I am steering away from low carb dry food because it's also very high in phosphorus and I suspect that she has some kidney problems. Not sure but wanting to be on the safe side w/o a diagnosis, only observation.

Lots to learn. I feel as if I'm behaving obsessively for the last month. My friends are looking at me strangely for all the time and effort I'm putting in here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top