High level went low without insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amanda Whitehead

Member Since 2017
Hi all
Today I did a few more tests than normal almost a curve and something was strange. Oscars reading at 9.30hrs after AM shot was 413 but then at PM preshot it was 321. Why would his level reduce even though he hadn't had his insulin.

Thanks for any advice. I do have a spreadsheet if anyone wants to browse. Oscar is being increased on insulin gradually because he got very ill once before. His levels are high at the moment.
 
A cats pancreas doesn't produce insulin until a cat has eaten. So if he had a snack it could mean his P was kicking in a little :)

The only snack he had was a few little bonito tuna flakes after his 7.30 test could that increase his level by almost 100? I'm guessing then in between feeding and even treats after testing are a bad idea if it spikes his level up. Thanks for your help
 
Hi all
Today I did a few more tests than normal almost a curve and something was strange. Oscars reading at 9.30hrs after AM shot was 413 but then at PM preshot it was 321. Why would his level reduce even though he hadn't had his insulin.

Thanks for any advice. I do have a spreadsheet if anyone wants to browse. Oscar is being increased on insulin gradually because he got very ill once before. His levels are high at the moment.
The BG level can vary over the day. I think it's time to increase Oscar's dose a little bit. I suggest you eyeball 1.25 units as carefully as you can. It'll be easier if your syringes have half unit marks. If not, use one syringe as a reference by filling it to your estimate of 1.25 u with coloured water. Use it as a guide for all your 1.25 u doses. Make a new reference syringe as you move to 1.5 u and 1.75 u in the days ahead.
 
The BG level can vary over the day. I think it's time to increase Oscar's dose a little bit. I suggest you eyeball 1.25 units as carefully as you can. It'll be easier if your syringes have half unit marks. If not, use one syringe as a reference by filling it to your estimate of 1.25 u with coloured water. Use it as a guide for all your 1.25 u doses. Make a new reference syringe as you move to 1.5 u and 1.75 u in the days ahead.

We are trying to up his dose every week because last time we did insulin and changed doses a lot he stopped eating and got very ill. How many days in between an increase is good? I am considering up him to 1 and half tomorrow which is a little earlier than a week but he needs it as he's eating so much food.

Sadly we only have the unit syringes so I just go up in halfs, next time I am going to buy the half marked syringes think they'll be easier.

How can I find his nadir if his readings aren't consistent in the day when doing a curve?

Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top