high blood glucose levels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Autumnsmom

Member Since 2018
Hi, my kitty Autumn, 7, pancreatitis, IBD [ on metro, pred, cerenia and pepcid AC- worst symptom is the vomitting, nothing else], became diabetic because of pred in March, had a pancreatic attack about a month ago[ caught it right away] but during the attack her BG were under 250,[ and she was vomitting] so her insulin [lantus] was cut from 3.5 to 2.5 to 2.75. twice daily. Apart from the occasional vomitting since the diabetes diagnosis she has been great, with numbers around 260 to 280, which the vet thought was fine, and maybe Autumn did well with these numbers. But the last few days she's been eating a lot, [ almost a cup of dry Purina vet diabetic and a small can of purina vet wet senior ] daily and last night it seems all she did was drink out of her bowl. Today I'm doing a curve- two hours times 4 after 3 units lantus and then 4 hours after p.m. lantus. The curve does not look good so far- 350, 330, 340 and then 400. Her attitude, playfulness, cuddles are normal, but her numbers haven't been this high since she was diagnosed. Her specialist has been very blunt about her condition- she is diabetic, her life span is shortened, get used to it. Her tests have been good for other things, except that her vitamin B 12 was way to high for not having a shot- I mentioned Cushings- the specialist again said Autumn's days were numbered, but her regular cat only vet said she didn't think Autumn has Cushings. I know the vet will increase the lantus, and want to do the blood test again [ sorry name escapes me].. The vets don't want her to stop free feeding, and want to keep her on the diet she's on, since she doesn't get a lot of pancreatic attacks on it, but these numbers, I'm afraid, are going to kill her. Any suggestions?
 
Autumnsmom, I am so sorry you are dealing with this. It would be very helpful to everyone who reads your posts and might make recommendations for you to make a signature so that the information is right there with each post. Here is a link to do that:
SIGNATURE
Then get a spreadsheet going so that the insulin doses and shoot times are recorded, as well as your testing. The data will be requested for informed input. Here's a link for that: SPREADSHEET
The food you are feeding Autumn is not low carb and might be contributing to the higher BG numbers. And is the vet saying that just because she is diabetic that her days are numbered, get used to it. Outrageous!
Have you been logging on the board since diagnosis and reading about the Lantus insulin, how to increase and decrease doses, and about a proper diet, and about pancreatitis? There is really good information here, and members who have cared for their diabetic cats for many years.
 
Please go to the Lantus forum. There are very knowledgeable people there that will help your Kitty & you. Believe me when I tell you they know more about Insulin & Cats Diabetes than most vets! Blood Glucose of 260 to 280 are not just fine.
Dry food is not good either. Some people on the Lantus forum took their cat off dry food & the Kitty went into remission in 6 weeks. The "Specialist" is not correct! Cats can live a long time with Diabetes & other illness if they are treated correctly.

You will need to read a lot of information about how Lantus Insulin works & a whole lot more. The people on Lantus forum will help you every step of the way. You need to do Home testing. You can buy an inexpensive Human meter at Walmart. Most of the people here use THe Relion Meter.

At first it seems overwhelming but little by little it will get easier. When I first joined 7 months ago I felt just like you. Once you get advice from the people on Lantus you'll see that they will help you.

Best of Luck to you & Autumn :)
 
The renal threshold is about 250 (on a pet meter, so slightly lower on human one). So, if she has been staying over that, that is too high. I don't know why the vet would say that is 'okay'. You want to keep her in healthy numbers as much of the time as possible to allow her pancreas to heal. If she is always running too high, that cannot happen. It sounds like he think diabetes is a death sentence so why try too hard. I would be looking for a new vet.

It is important to set up a spreadsheet and start recording her glucose results so that people here can help you. A signature with some basic info would also help. Please go to the Lantus forum so they can help you figure out dosing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top