High BG of 251 for Minnie at +7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Member Since 2019
Hey All,

I’m not sure why I got 251 just now at the +7 test. I’m sure the insulin went in and it was not a fur shot. 100% positive as I watched the needle come out of the skin... her numbers prior had been pretty consistent. Nothing changed. No nausea or diet changes. Could she be bouncing and why?? Of course I panicked and rechecked her in 30 minutes, but I had already given her “snack treat” so number was then 265

Thanks!
 
Bounces are a reaction to going lower than they are used to, or fast drops. It's entirely possible she went lower last night and is bouncing today. Is it possible for you to get a test before you go to bed? Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on how low it's taking the cat.

yes but now I’m running out of test strips. I used more with testing again when I think I got a weird number and the box I ordered won’t arrive till end of week :nailbiting: if her midday number is a flat high again I’ll do it but it makes me nervous not having enough strips to get me through the week urghhh
 
Last edited:
Bounces are a reaction to going lower than they are used to, or fast drops. It's entirely possible she went lower last night and is bouncing today. Is it possible for you to get a test before you go to bed? Many cats go lower at night, and we determine how to change the dose based on how low it's taking the cat.

Can we talk about the feeding for a sec? Because I feel like the fact she eats way less during the pm cycle compared to the day cycle is the reason she may be dropping lower overnight. Here’s what and how she eats:
After am test and shot she gets 1 can and 1/2 of fancy feast spread out within 2 hours
After the midday test she gets another 1/2 can of fancy feast
At dinner, around 5:30 so it’s 2 hours before the pm test, she gets another 1/2 can of fancy feast
Then pm test and shot and 1/2 can of the Royal Canin Diabetic food, but here’s where she hasn’t been wanting to eat as much because typically this happens at 8pm
Then at 9pm she should be getting another 1/2 can of fancy feast but hasn’t really touched it
Before bedtime at about 10pm I get her to eat 1/2 can of fancy feast and a few treats.
She’s eating way more food during daytime because after 10pm she won’t eat until the morning.
Thoughts?
Thanks :)
 
Can we talk about the feeding for a sec? Because I feel like the fact she eats way less during the pm cycle compared to the day cycle is the reason she may be dropping lower overnight. Here’s what and how she eats:
After am test and shot she gets 1 can and 1/2 of fancy feast spread out within 2 hours
After the midday test she gets another 1/2 can of fancy feast
At dinner, around 5:30 so it’s 2 hours before the pm test, she gets another 1/2 can of fancy feast
Then pm test and shot and 1/2 can of the Royal Canin Diabetic food, but here’s where she hasn’t been wanting to eat as much because typically this happens at 8pm
Then at 9pm she should be getting another 1/2 can of fancy feast but hasn’t really touched it
Before bedtime at about 10pm I get her to eat 1/2 can of fancy feast and a few treats.
She’s eating way more food during daytime because after 10pm she won’t eat until the morning.
Thoughts?
Thanks :)
This is all based on the 300 calorie diet the nutritionist out her on btw
 
Can we talk about the feeding for a sec? Because I feel like the fact she eats way less during the pm cycle compared to the day cycle is the reason she may be dropping lower overnight.
Honestly, without data, there's no way to know if she's dropping lower. I personally never would let my test strip supply get below 100. Actually, I started reordering when the numbers were getting close to 200. Especially with the delicate supply chain these days, I'd have plenty around.

How much does Minnie weigh? 300 calories seems like a lot of food. It's also better to feed most of the food in the first half of the cycle, when the insulin is stronger. That 5:30 pm feed is not ideal.
 
Honestly, without data, there's no way to know if she's dropping lower. I personally never would let my test strip supply get below 100. Actually, I started reordering when the numbers were getting close to 200. Especially with the delicate supply chain these days, I'd have plenty around.

How much does Minnie weigh? 300 calories seems like a lot of food. It's also better to feed most of the food in the first half of the cycle, when the insulin is stronger. That 5:30 pm feed is not ideal.

Personally, I feel the exact same way and I never let things run low but being unemployed makes all of this slightly more difficult. These are not normal times... I also wasn’t used to testing 3 times a day and I went through my stock a lot faster
 
Last edited:
Oh Alessandra, I don't think any of us were prepared for lockdowns and supply shortages and delays in getting things delivered, even when we were able to order something on-line. Who was prepared for how quickly so many would lose their jobs and not having enough money for food for ourselves and our cats, let alone stocking up on test strips for our meter?

Somethings as simple as bleach or hydrogen peroxide or toilet paper or the specific low carb cat foods our diabetic cats will eat, have become difficult to find. I've had nice friends, that have shared half of their supplies on critical items. But I don't think there is anyone near you that would have test strips for your Freestyle meter.

So another meter, with more readily available test strips, and at a lower cost would be beneficial to you. You mentioned the Relion meters, which come from Walmart. Those meters do have lower cost test strips. It doesn't hurt to have a backup meter option. I once dropped my test meter for Wink into his water dish. Fried the electronics, battery died. :( When I did that boo-boo, I got a backup meter and a spare battery.

I'd recommend you save those test strips you do have for the pre-shot tests. And if you feel it is necessary, drop the insulin dose. Not the perfect solution, but an alternative for you right now, until those test strips get delivered.

So since you are running low on test strips, in that case, "Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."


:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Switching to a different human test meter will not throw the numbers off. It's more of a mental adjustment when someone switches from a pet meter to a human meter. But from one human meter to another, there may be some differences in how they read, but you simply go forward with the numbers you are getting.
 
Switching to a different human test meter will not throw the numbers off. It's more of a mental adjustment when someone switches from a pet meter to a human meter. But from one human meter to another, there may be some differences in how they read, but you simply go forward with the numbers you are getting.

Thank you for understanding. My industry is events and we’ve been hit hard no way of telling when we’re going to recover... It’s a lot to order and price compare from different sites with different shipping times, I find ADW to be super expensive btw, visbiome, a Boulardii, ondansetron, gabapentin, syringes, insulin, test strips, lancets, and chasing all their cat food and treats that were out everywhere urghhhh

great! I’ll get the ReliOn and keep the freestyle as a back up or for when I’m employed again o_O

I did just test her before reading your post and she’s at 123 which is back to normal numbers. Can the bounce be so short just a cycle? Or does this mean it may have been a faulty number with the blood bath and all on the strip as I’m still fine tuning my lancet skills?:confused:
 
Last edited:
Oh Alessandra, I don't think any of us were prepared for lockdowns and supply shortages and delays in getting things delivered, even when we were able to order something on-line. Who was prepared for how quickly so many would lose their jobs and not having enough money for food for ourselves and our cats, let alone stocking up on test strips for our meter?

Somethings as simple as bleach or hydrogen peroxide or toilet paper or the specific low carb cat foods our diabetic cats will eat, have become difficult to find. I've had nice friends, that have shared half of their supplies on critical items. But I don't think there is anyone near you that would have test strips for your Freestyle meter.

So another meter, with more readily available test strips, and at a lower cost would be beneficial to you. You mentioned the Relion meters, which come from Walmart. Those meters do have lower cost test strips. It doesn't hurt to have a backup meter option. I once dropped my test meter for Wink into his water dish. Fried the electronics, battery died. :( When I did that boo-boo, I got a backup meter and a spare battery.

I'd recommend you save those test strips you do have for the pre-shot tests. And if you feel it is necessary, drop the insulin dose. Not the perfect solution, but an alternative for you right now, until those test strips get delivered.

So since you are running low on test strips, in that case, "Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."


:bighug::bighug::bighug:


So of course one of the 2 strips I had left gave me an error message this am and the second was slightly bent on the edge that goes into the meter, but I didn’t want to use both so I saved it for the midday test. She was at a low of 60. Looking back at the last time she was that low at about +7 in the spreadsheet, her pmps was barely 200 so I think to be safe I should give her a token dose tonight. I was planning 1 unit. I just got 2 deliveries and neither were the strips :(
 
Darn! I'd like to say something stronger, but it's verboten.

Go with the token dose, the lower dose for now. Let the insulin depot drain if you have to. It's really hard to monitor low numbers without test strips, as you well know.

Any way to track where the shipment is located now? Or see if the item has even been shipped or is still waiting for some reason? I do that with a lot of my on-line orders.

p.s. Seeing your new user id name threw me for a loop for a bit. But I got it now. But the spelling will be a real killer. I'm a horrible speller and typist these days.
 
Darn! I'd like to say something stronger, but it's verboten.

Go with the token dose, the lower dose for now. Let the insulin depot drain if you have to. It's really hard to monitor low numbers without test strips, as you well know.

Any way to track where the shipment is located now? Or see if the item has even been shipped or is still waiting for some reason? I do that with a lot of my on-line orders.

p.s. Seeing your new user id name threw me for a loop for a bit. But I got it now. But the spelling will be a real killer. I'm a horrible speller and typist these days.
Haha! You can stick with Alessandra or Ale for short. It’s an homage to my dad because that was his nickname for me and my love for animals comes from him. I do feel bad I left Bobo out so may have to change that again and keep y’all on your toes :smuggrin:

Yes I tracked it and it’s half way here. I’m hoping I’ll get it tomorrow as sometimes usps delivers much faster than they estimate, but Friday worse case scenario. So I’ll do the token dose, thank god I had a reference in the spreadsheet and I was thinking taking her down to 3.25 after because like you said better high than low. It seems even the 3.5 is too high right now.

I was also thinking about Walmart. if I can get a scrip from the vet in the am I’m going to try to do a Walmart run and get the ReliOn, test strips, and syringes then I could get back to testing tomorrow. Or maybe I won’t need it for the test strips. I’ll call Walmart in the am.

thanks!

ps - and totally irrelevant but we had an earthquake here at about midnight last night. It woke me up and I jumped out of bed to check on the cats because they can get pretty freaked out. They were both dead asleep :woot:
 
Hi Alessandra just had to tell you the pic of your kitties is too adorable,
I hope you get the strips tomorrow
Okay strips and lancets were delivered late am. I just did her midday test and she’s at 241, which I knew would happen giving her a token dose last night. I learned a few things in addition to having a back up meter with cheaper strips, she can use a bigger token dose if her numbers are between 150-200 at pmps, which is my educated guess for last night. But that 60 may mean she should be at 3.25 so I’m leaving her there for the next few days to see how it goes. Will do a pmps and a +2 test tonight and a +4 if we have another midnight earthquake tonight! :arghh:
 
Guess both your cats were tired last night, which is a good thing, and you were the one freaking a bit.

Glad we don't have earthquakes here in New England, at least not ones that are strong enough to feel. Most are <3 on Richter scale.

We get enough wild weather though, especially high winds and tstorms and blizzards, and noreasters, and...............
 
Guess both your cats were tired last night, which is a good thing, and you were the one freaking a bit.

Glad we don't have earthquakes here in New England, at least not ones that are strong enough to feel. Most are <3 on Richter scale.

We get enough wild weather though, especially high winds and tstorms and blizzards, and noreasters, and...............
There’s always something. You just have to pick your poison ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top