KarenAmelia
Member
I could use some advice. Terra's spreadsheet attached. I took a break from testing BG for a few days after she had a low day and I thought she was on the way out. She rallied - it may have been a virus, undiagnosed, but it was emotionally draining and I needed a break from the ear pokes. Vet suggested starting her again at 1.5 unit after her bad day. After 4 cycles on 1.5, I talked with vet and he suggested increasing to 2.0 unit, saying that 1.5 was low. I've begun testing again and was startled to see 584 on today's PMPS.
Read another recent thread in which chronic rebound was mentioned. I wonder if the erratic numbers, which my vet thinks could mean that Terra isn't responding to the Lantus - (and he even suggested going to another insulin, prematurely, I think) - could be an indication of persistent rebound? How do you handle chronic rebound? Do you hold steady on a lower dose that doesn't produce a bounce even if it doesn't bring the numbers into the normal range? Do you hold steady on the higher dose that brings the numbers into the normal range for a while but produces a bounce? Does the cat's system eventually stop bouncing, or...? I've read the stickies on Lantus protocol but I did not learn answers to these questions. If a cat who's used to BG in the 400s can bounce from a drop to 200s, then how do you eventually get the numbers down to the normal range?
I dont' have enough data on the spreadsheet to make a determination at this point, but I have a hunch the 2.0 units may be too much for her. I'll do a curve tonight and see what it shows, and I know it needs a few days to settle (new dose wonkiness ) but would it be bad for her to keep her on the 2 units for a few days if she's bouncing? What if I misread "wonkiness" as a bounce when it's really not?
Read another recent thread in which chronic rebound was mentioned. I wonder if the erratic numbers, which my vet thinks could mean that Terra isn't responding to the Lantus - (and he even suggested going to another insulin, prematurely, I think) - could be an indication of persistent rebound? How do you handle chronic rebound? Do you hold steady on a lower dose that doesn't produce a bounce even if it doesn't bring the numbers into the normal range? Do you hold steady on the higher dose that brings the numbers into the normal range for a while but produces a bounce? Does the cat's system eventually stop bouncing, or...? I've read the stickies on Lantus protocol but I did not learn answers to these questions. If a cat who's used to BG in the 400s can bounce from a drop to 200s, then how do you eventually get the numbers down to the normal range?
I dont' have enough data on the spreadsheet to make a determination at this point, but I have a hunch the 2.0 units may be too much for her. I'll do a curve tonight and see what it shows, and I know it needs a few days to settle (new dose wonkiness ) but would it be bad for her to keep her on the 2 units for a few days if she's bouncing? What if I misread "wonkiness" as a bounce when it's really not?