High BG numbers and today's the day!

I know I have an hour window .

This is partially true.... while it is an hour of flexibility in total, for Lantus it is just a half an hour window on either side of the injection time, that would mean if you shoot at 7:15am in the evening you would have from 6:45pm-7:45pm to shoot and stay on schedule. If you shoot at 715am and then 615pm it can act like a dose increase because there may be an overlap of the am dose and the pm dose around +1 - it can be dangerous. Typically i have been recommended to change by 15 mins at a time 2x/day if possible, but often will do a full half hour.
 
This is partially true.... while it is an hour of flexibility in total, for Lantus it is just a half an hour window on either side of the injection time, that would mean if you shoot at 7:15am in the evening you would have from 6:45pm-7:45pm to shoot and stay on schedule. If you shoot at 715am and then 615pm it can act like a dose increase because there may be an overlap of the am dose and the pm dose around +1 - it can be dangerous. Typically i have been recommended to change by 15 mins at a time 2x/day if possible, but often will do a full half hour.

Good to know. With basaglar I think it's an hour...???
 
Insulin helps the body to use sugar for energy, lack of insulin also means that the body’s organs will not receive enough energy. This will make your cat feel hungry all the time, and though it will eat a lot more food, it will not gain weight.

If the diabetic condition is not treated early, your cat's blood sugar level will go higher and higher. Because of the excessively elevated glucose level, even more urine will be made and the cat will become dehydrated due to the loss of fluid.
Symptoms
Diabetes
Drinking a lot of water (polydipsia)
  • Urinating a lot (polyuria)
  • Eating a lot but not gaining weight
  • Always seeming hungry
  • Weight loss
Until his Blood Glucose is regulated he should eat as much as he wants and always have Fresh water in a Glass or stainless bowl available (no Plastic)

Vets often prescribe "special" food. Quincy does not need Purina DM You can feed a variety of canned food as long as it's low carb. You'll find that the Advisors that have been here for several years Really do know more than most Vets about Diabetes in cats.
I've been her about 19 months & do not give dose advice I leave that for the "Experts" here. If you follow their advice Quincy will do just fine. :)

Have you checked the food Chart? You want to feed low carb food & low Phosphorus is also a good idea. (NO dry food)

"Dry food is not good for cats, whether they are diabetic or not. Cats are obligate carnivores, and dry food contains too much plant matter. Even at 14% carbs, that DM food is too high for a diabetic cat."

Please read this sticky note on the Main Forum page.
Info Dry Food - PLEASE consider more than just carbohydrate content

I've seen some cats go into remission when ALL dry food was eliminated!

Best of Luck to you & Quincy!

I want to respond to all of this but I'm on my phone so I will when I'm next at a computer But thank you for your response! And I'll get back to you!
 
April, good day and I hope it really is for you and Quincy. Have you begun the insulin injections? I took a peek at your spreadsheet and don't see any testing since the 17th. You probably have done testing but it's a good idea to keep the SS updated so we can see what's happening along the way.

I hope you will check in and let us know how it's all going and if you need any help.
 
Insulin helps the body to use sugar for energy, lack of insulin also means that the body’s organs will not receive enough energy. This will make your cat feel hungry all the time, and though it will eat a lot more food, it will not gain weight.

If the diabetic condition is not treated early, your cat's blood sugar level will go higher and higher. Because of the excessively elevated glucose level, even more urine will be made and the cat will become dehydrated due to the loss of fluid.
Symptoms
Diabetes
Drinking a lot of water (polydipsia)
  • Urinating a lot (polyuria)
  • Eating a lot but not gaining weight
  • Always seeming hungry
  • Weight loss
Until his Blood Glucose is regulated he should eat as much as he wants and always have Fresh water in a Glass or stainless bowl available (no Plastic)

Vets often prescribe "special" food. Quincy does not need Purina DM You can feed a variety of canned food as long as it's low carb. You'll find that the Advisors that have been here for several years Really do know more than most Vets about Diabetes in cats.
I've been her about 19 months & do not give dose advice I leave that for the "Experts" here. If you follow their advice Quincy will do just fine. :)

Have you checked the food Chart? You want to feed low carb food & low Phosphorus is also a good idea. (NO dry food)

"Dry food is not good for cats, whether they are diabetic or not. Cats are obligate carnivores, and dry food contains too much plant matter. Even at 14% carbs, that DM food is too high for a diabetic cat."

Please read this sticky note on the Main Forum page.
Info Dry Food - PLEASE consider more than just carbohydrate content

I've seen some cats go into remission when ALL dry food was eliminated!

Best of Luck to you & Quincy!

By no means was I trying to insult our babies saying they are "starving". I know Quincy is but the other one...not so much. Just trying to joke. :(

I believe their dishes are porcelain? But if he should have water in a stainless steel bowl I can definitely provide that.

I have heard that about the DM and am slowly weaning him off of it. I have read the food chart numerous times and already learned months ago how to calculate food percentage (fat, carbs, protein, etc) and the food chart is also super helpful. No dry food is already my motto! :) I'm glad to know the DM food is too high for him. It just confirms me switching his food, so thank you!
 
Good morning everyone! So I started insulin injections Friday night. I'm about to update the spreadsheet. The injections are surprisingly much easier than the ear pricks. :( At this time, I know the depot is filling up (Basaglar) but I'm anxious to see the numbers go down.

One huge concern. The ear pricks. I really wish there was another way of doing this because Quincy's ears are really touch and go when it comes to bleeding. Last night I poked him over 4x all with no results or with blood everywhere that wouldn't get on the stick. It's a longer story, I'm just shortening it for the thread. Either way, I gave up because I felt so bad and just gave the injection (please don't yell at me!). This morning I got a blood drop but it was after i pricked the ear and almost held the needle in the ear for a second if that makes sense. I really wish there was some other way to do that! I could give the injections all day long, I didn't realize how easy they would be but the ear checks are killing me. I am failing at it and hurting him and stabbing him over and over and his ears are not looking too good. :(
 
sweetspot.jpg
You can warm his ear first by gently rubbing it or use a warm cloth. The very edge (as shown in the pic) is where you're aiming for. If you hit a vein it may bleed more Just gently squeeze for a minute with the makeup pad or tissue.
I use a cotton makeup pad behind the ear.After the test gently apply pressure for a few seconds. I use a small dab of Organic Coconut oil where I poke. It gets easier the more you do it.:) Most of us poke by hand & don't use any Lancing device.
Care Touch Multi Colored Twist Top Lancets 30 Gauge, 300 Lancets


Price: $11.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $25 shipped by Amazon.

Also you can give the insulin shot on many places on his body Giving the shot only in the scruff can cause scar tissue. Hold the syringe at an angle & shoot just under the skin. I don't pinch or tent the skin. In the beginning I did a fur shot when I gave it in the scruff. Since I switched to shooting on his side & not tenting the skin I've never given a Fur shot. http://www.diabeticcatcare.com/DCCCOK/Injectionsites.htm
27bb8b22fc3c97ca82d71bdab3119797.jpg
We've all been thru this so if you have ANY questions Please ask. We all want to help you & Quincy!
upload_2019-9-23_12-6-8.jpeg
 
Good morning everyone! So I started insulin injections Friday night. I'm about to update the spreadsheet. The injections are surprisingly much easier than the ear pricks. :( At this time, I know the depot is filling up (Basaglar) but I'm anxious to see the numbers go down.

One huge concern. The ear pricks. I really wish there was another way of doing this because Quincy's ears are really touch and go when it comes to bleeding. Last night I poked him over 4x all with no results or with blood everywhere that wouldn't get on the stick. It's a longer story, I'm just shortening it for the thread. Either way, I gave up because I felt so bad and just gave the injection (please don't yell at me!). This morning I got a blood drop but it was after i pricked the ear and almost held the needle in the ear for a second if that makes sense. I really wish there was some other way to do that! I could give the injections all day long, I didn't realize how easy they would be but the ear checks are killing me. I am failing at it and hurting him and stabbing him over and over and his ears are not looking too good. :(
Congrats on starting insulin April! I'm sure you will start to see some results soon :)

Don't get discouraged about the ear bleeding, it is definitely tough at first. As you continue testing, Quincy will grow more and more capillaries in his outer ear and soon it will be much easier to get a drop! What gauge are your lancets? 28 gauge is a good beginner size because it is larger, you can progress to a smaller gauge once Quincy has more capillaries :) To promote blood flow to the ears some members warm their kitties ear with a warm cloth in a baggie, or a small pill bottle filled with warm water. If you definitely still can't get a drop you can prick his paws, but I believe that is more painful and you get a lot more blood. Poor Mowgli had a tough time with testing at first too, I have put the lancet right through his ear, before AND I have hit the vein a couple of times... blood EVERYWHERE! Trust me, the ear pricks are the hardest part ;)

If you are finding his ears are getting bruised try gently massaging them with the cotton pad / toilet paper you used on the inside of the ear after you've gathered your sample, this helps disperse the blood instead of allowing it to pool and bruise, it also helps to stop blood flow. If you think hes in a little pain, you can use neopsporin with lidocane to diminish the pain.

One other thought: are you using the lancet pen? I found that harder to work with, usually i just take the cap off of the lancet and poke Mowgli myself, I find i have more control that way.

Chin up! you're doing great!
 
sweetspot.jpg
You can warm his ear first by gently rubbing it or use a warm cloth. The very edge (as shown in the pic) is where you're aiming for. If you hit a vein it may bleed more Just gently squeeze for a minute with the makeup pad or tissue.
I use a cotton makeup pad behind the ear.After the test gently apply pressure for a few seconds. I use a small dab of Organic Coconut oil where I poke. It gets easier the more you do it.:) Most of us poke by hand & don't use any Lancing device.
Care Touch Multi Colored Twist Top Lancets 30 Gauge, 300 Lancets


Price: $11.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $25 shipped by Amazon.

Also you can give the insulin shot on many places on his body Giving the shot only in the scruff can cause scar tissue. Hold the syringe at an angle & shoot just under the skin. I don't pinch or tent the skin. In the beginning I did a fur shot when I gave it in the scruff. Since I switched to shooting on his side & not tenting the skin I've never given a Fur shot. http://www.diabeticcatcare.com/DCCCOK/Injectionsites.htm
27bb8b22fc3c97ca82d71bdab3119797.jpg
We've all been thru this so if you have ANY questions Please ask. We all want to help you & Quincy! View attachment 47980

Thank you! Those multi colored twist top lancets are just like what I have! I think my gauge is 28 though...maybe even 26, can't remember.
 
Congrats on starting insulin April! I'm sure you will start to see some results soon :)

Don't get discouraged about the ear bleeding, it is definitely tough at first. As you continue testing, Quincy will grow more and more capillaries in his outer ear and soon it will be much easier to get a drop! What gauge are your lancets? 28 gauge is a good beginner size because it is larger, you can progress to a smaller gauge once Quincy has more capillaries :) To promote blood flow to the ears some members warm their kitties ear with a warm cloth in a baggie, or a small pill bottle filled with warm water. If you definitely still can't get a drop you can prick his paws, but I believe that is more painful and you get a lot more blood. Poor Mowgli had a tough time with testing at first too, I have put the lancet right through his ear, before AND I have hit the vein a couple of times... blood EVERYWHERE! Trust me, the ear pricks are the hardest part ;)

If you are finding his ears are getting bruised try gently massaging them with the cotton pad / toilet paper you used on the inside of the ear after you've gathered your sample, this helps disperse the blood instead of allowing it to pool and bruise, it also helps to stop blood flow. If you think hes in a little pain, you can use neopsporin with lidocane to diminish the pain.

One other thought: are you using the lancet pen? I found that harder to work with, usually i just take the cap off of the lancet and poke Mowgli myself, I find i have more control that way.

Chin up! you're doing great!

I believe the gauge is 28 or 28? I'm at work so I can't remember. I have been using a small pill bottle with warm water, which annoys him but that's not the worst part, obviously! I definitely have put it through his ear or got a huge drop of blood, presumably from hitting the vein? i'm not sure. I believe this happened yesterday cuz the blood just wouldn't stop but it wasn't any drop to get on the strip and ughhhhh. No reading for last night.

They definitely are getting bruised. Just looking at them in the sunlight makes me want to cry. He is now starting to flinch when I use the lancet when before he just sat there. No, not using the pen, just the lancet. I was using the lancet device, clicky thing, but I found that was piercing right through his ear.

You are right, the ear pricks are the absolute worst. I dread it every time because I never get blood with the first prick. Never. I am dreading the BG curve in two weeks because I suck so bad at this right now. It was going good for awhile and now, no. This morning I pricked and nothing happened so I pricked again and kinda held the needle in the ear for 1 second (felt a ton longer) and then a bunch of blood came but he flinched at that and I felt so bad that I held it there. Like such a horrible owner, I was like there has to be a better way!

As for adding neosporin - I did buy some but I'm scared if I put it on first, the blood will soak into that and not into the strip. I have so much anxiety about this!!!!!
 
Remember to write in the amount of insulin Quincy is getting. How many units. The SS (spreadsheet) is VERY important! You need to keep it up to date. People here will refer to the SS every time you ask a question.
It shows how Quincy is reacting to the insulin & a lot of other important info. Think of it as a puzzle. As you slowly fill in the boxes it gives you more info. In the beginning it's important to get some tests in during the night ( we all have had to set the alarm & get up to do a test at night.)
Most kitties go the lowest during the evening. The insulin is Lantus,right?

But if he should have water in a stainless steel bowl
The bowl doesn't "have" to be stainless. Just don't use plastic.
 
Remember to write in the amount of insulin Quincy is getting. How many units. The SS (spreadsheet) is VERY important! You need to keep it up to date. People here will refer to the SS every time you ask a question.
It shows how Quincy is reacting to the insulin & a lot of other important info. Think of it as a puzzle. As you slowly fill in the boxes it gives you more info. In the beginning it's important to get some tests in during the night ( we all have had to set the alarm & get up to do a test at night.)
Most kitties go the lowest during the evening. The insulin is Lantus,right?

The bowl doesn't "have" to be stainless. Just don't use plastic.

At the risk of sounding dumb, can I ask what's wrong with plastic? I'm assuming the same reason plastic is bad for humans.

I will write in my signature the amount. My SS is up to date and I will continue to do so.

The insulin is Basaglar. By evening, what hours are we speaking of?
 
I believe the gauge is 28 or 28? I'm at work so I can't remember. I have been using a small pill bottle with warm water, which annoys him but that's not the worst part, obviously! I definitely have put it through his ear or got a huge drop of blood, presumably from hitting the vein? i'm not sure. I believe this happened yesterday cuz the blood just wouldn't stop but it wasn't any drop to get on the strip and ughhhhh. No reading for last night.

Definitely sounds like you hit a vein, it happens, don't sweat it, it will get better!

They definitely are getting bruised. Just looking at them in the sunlight makes me want to cry. He is now starting to flinch when I use the lancet when before he just sat there. No, not using the pen, just the lancet. I was using the lancet device, clicky thing, but I found that was piercing right through his ear.

I HATED the lancet device! they're made for human skin so no wonder they weren't working for you! Massaging the ear after a prick (if Quincy will allow it) will definitely help diminish some of the bruising :)

You are right, the ear pricks are the absolute worst. I dread it every time because I never get blood with the first prick. Never. I am dreading the BG curve in two weeks because I suck so bad at this right now. It was going good for awhile and now, no. This morning I pricked and nothing happened so I pricked again and kinda held the needle in the ear for 1 second (felt a ton longer) and then a bunch of blood came but he flinched at that and I felt so bad that I held it there. Like such a horrible owner, I was like there has to be a better way!

Trust me, by the time you get to the curve you will be such a pro! Quincy will get used to it too, just remember to use tonnes of positive reinforcement (treats, loving cuddles etc...) Hopefully he will get used to it. The image Joy posted is super helpful too! It is much better for Quincy to suffer a little with an ear prick than to get insulin when he is too low to have it, this is the lesser of two evils. I know you feel bad about it but you are an AWESOME cat caregiver because you are willing to endure these challenges so that Quincy can live his best life! don't worry about holding the needle in.... eventually he will have those capillaries... I promise :). But if it doesn't get better, you can try his paw pad :)


As for adding neosporin - I did buy some but I'm scared if I put it on first, the blood will soak into that and not into the strip. I have so much anxiety about this!!!!!
Just spread it on thin, some members find it can actually help pool the blood, worth a shot! I can definitely understand your anxiety, but I'm sure it will diminish as you get better, and those darn capillaries finally show up :)
 
Trust me, by the time you get to the curve you will be such a pro! Quincy will get used to it too, just remember to use tonnes of positive reinforcement (treats, loving cuddles etc...) Hopefully he will get used to it. The image Joy posted is super helpful too! It is much better for Quincy to suffer a little with an ear prick than to get insulin when he is too low to have it, this is the lesser of two evils. I know you feel bad about it but you are an AWESOME cat caregiver because you are willing to endure these challenges so that Quincy can live his best life! don't worry about holding the needle in.... eventually he will have those capillaries... I promise :). But if it doesn't get better, you can try his paw pad :)

Just spread it on thin, some members find it can actually help pool the blood, worth a shot! I can definitely understand your anxiety, but I'm sure it will diminish as you get better, and those darn capillaries finally show up :)

Oh the cuddles are in no shortage, let me tell you! I coo all over him when I'm doing it and then give him good rubs and "good boy"'s afterwards but, you know the flinch and the needle, ugh. I'm hoping one day this will all be a thing I'm super used to, one prick and it's done, and here's your treat and it's fast and speedy. Right now, it's not so much. :(:(

Thank you for the kind words and TRUE words! I am making sure he can live his best life. I'll try not to feel bad about the needle in - that seems to work the best since I've done it before by accident but by no means do I want to keep doing it. Maybe I'll give the neosporin a try...
 
supposedly plastic bowls can hold germs or toxic substances even when freshly washed (they have pores) -- I use glass and porcelain bowls, run them through dishwasher just like any other dishes -- Catcat licks his food so vigorously that with stainless steel, he flings the food right out over the top -- the glass dishes are a little deeper and the loose food clings better, stays IN the bowl even if near the rim
 
what's wrong with plastic?

Plastic bowls can cause Feline acne due to a chemical p-benzyl hydroquinone which is in many plastics.
There have been a number of studies which have highlighted a chemical known as Bisphenol A, or BPA which made headlines a few years ago. Research shows that even in the low amounts to which people are routinely exposed, it can cause serious and sometimes irreversible damage to health.

Some plastic can even contain lead! http://www.homelesstohousecats.com/cat-care-tips/what-are-the-safest-cat-food-bowls
 
I know I have an hour window so I know I could still shoot at 715 in the morning and shoot at 615 at night.
This is partially true.... while it is an hour of flexibility in total, for Lantus it is just a half an hour window on either side of the injection time,

Just to clarify flexibility, Basaglar has a 30 minute time flexibility per day not per cycle. You can shoot early by 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes on one cycle but any shots given earlier than 30 minutes could act like a small dose increase or if shooting later, as a dose decrease. If you have to shoot early once in a while, by more than 30 minutes that might be ok but doing it on a regular basis is going to throw off the insulin depot stabilizing. You really should try to stick to as close to 12 hours as possible as much as possible.

I think most of us have/had a routine whereby we test, feed and shoot all in matter of 5 to 10 minutes. You don't have to wait for kitty to eat their entire meal. 5 or 10 minutes on either end of each cycle is not going to make a difference. You don't need to leave time for kitty to eat....all you need to know is that kitty is ready willing and able to eat.

If you are home at 4:30pm, you can test for get some mid cycle data and give Quincy his snack. Then at shot time, test again, feed and shoot. Many of us give/gave shots while kitty had their head stuck in their bowl.
 
supposedly plastic bowls can hold germs or toxic substances even when freshly washed (they have pores) -- I use glass and porcelain bowls, run them through dishwasher just like any other dishes -- Catcat licks his food so vigorously that with stainless steel, he flings the food right out over the top -- the glass dishes are a little deeper and the loose food clings better, stays IN the bowl even if near the rim

Hahah, yesssss, my partner also teases that Quincy inhales his food because of how fast and vigorous he eats! And yes, flings everywhere!!
 
Plastic bowls can cause Feline acne due to a chemical p-benzyl hydroquinone which is in many plastics.
There have been a number of studies which have highlighted a chemical known as Bisphenol A, or BPA which made headlines a few years ago. Research shows that even in the low amounts to which people are routinely exposed, it can cause serious and sometimes irreversible damage to health.

Some plastic can even contain lead! http://www.homelesstohousecats.com/cat-care-tips/what-are-the-safest-cat-food-bowls


Good to know!!!! Thank you!
 
Just to clarify flexibility, Basaglar has a 30 minute time flexibility per day not per cycle. You can shoot early by 15 minutes each cycle or 30 minutes on one cycle but any shots given earlier than 30 minutes could act like a small dose increase or if shooting later, as a dose decrease. If you have to shoot early once in a while, by more than 30 minutes that might be ok but doing it on a regular basis is going to throw off the insulin depot stabilizing. You really should try to stick to as close to 12 hours as possible as much as possible.

I think most of us have/had a routine whereby we test, feed and shoot all in matter of 5 to 10 minutes. You don't have to wait for kitty to eat their entire meal. 5 or 10 minutes on either end of each cycle is not going to make a difference. You don't need to leave time for kitty to eat....all you need to know is that kitty is ready willing and able to eat.

If you are home at 4:30pm, you can test for get some mid cycle data and give Quincy his snack. Then at shot time, test again, feed and shoot. Many of us give/gave shots while kitty had their head stuck in their bowl.

Thanks for the clarification. I definitely wouldn't change it on a regular basis, only certain times when I have to stay late at work or something like that.

You are right, as long as I see Quince eating afterwards I feel okay. And I definitely have been giving the shots when his head is in the bowl and he has not minded one bit! Thus the reason I wish I could do more shots instead of ear pricks. Not fun. And not going well. I never knew the injections would be so easy but the ear pricks...:banghead::banghead::banghead:

I will do some mid cycle testing but I think I'm going to hold off for a day or so. I messed with his ears way too much yesterday since the testing wasn't successful. I think I need to give some healing time besides the test before injection.
 
Soooo....how long until I may start seeing some insulin effects? I only started injecting Friday night but numbers are still high so I'm just wondering how long until I might see something.

I could go on and on with the ear problems forever - it's the bane of my existence right now. :mad: I think I pierced through this morning again but I did find using a high powered flashlight seems to help a little. Ugh.
 
how long until I may start seeing some insulin effects? I only started injecting Friday night but numbers are still high so I'm just wondering how long until I might see something.

Every cat is different. Some get regulated fairly quickly while others take some time. You'll commonly see us say "this is a marathon, not a sprint". Patience is key and making sure you get mid cycle tests whenever possible (testing will get easier:)), will ensure you catch the nadir (peak action point) of the cycles so you know how low BG is going. Basaglar dosing is based on how low BG goes on a particular dose.
 
Good morning April! First, please complete the update of the spreadsheet by adding the insulin dose in the "U" column for the appropriate dates so we can see how many days Quincy has been given the insulin.

Then, I think it would be a good idea to begin a new thread here on the Lantus forum with the title:
9/24 Quincy AMPS 407
Then you can type in your message. This thread is getting pretty long, and you can reference this thread with a link for background.
You can just copy the thread link at the top of the thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/high-bg-numbers-and-todays-the-day.219514/#post-2448887
and have that be your first line in your message.
Then add whatever comments, concerns, questions you have. The title can be updated with additional tests you get throughout the day.

That said, you know that the depot has to build, and you will not see immediate results. Additionally you are not testing in the PM cycle, so we don't know how low the insulin is taking Quincy's BG, which may be causing a high AMPS reading.
 
Good morning April! First, please complete the update of the spreadsheet by adding the insulin dose in the "U" column for the appropriate dates so we can see how many days Quincy has been given the insulin.

Then, I think it would be a good idea to begin a new thread here on the Lantus forum with the title:
9/24 Quincy AMPS 407
Then you can type in your message. This thread is getting pretty long, and you can reference this thread with a link for background.
You can just copy the thread link at the top of the thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/high-bg-numbers-and-todays-the-day.219514/#post-2448887
and have that be your first line in your message.
Then add whatever comments, concerns, questions you have. The title can be updated with additional tests you get throughout the day.

That said, you know that the depot has to build, and you will not see immediate results. Additionally you are not testing in the PM cycle, so we don't know how low the insulin is taking Quincy's BG, which may be causing a high AMPS reading.

It is extremely hard for me to test in the PM cycle as I am on my own medication which knocks me out. I will be able to do more testing over the weekend but I also can't test between 730-430 because I am at work and often times that is later.
 
Back
Top