stacia
Member Since 2014
Yes, we know how to have a good time! Also, today is Tasha's 16th birthday so congrats to my sweet evil mess for making it this far!
At the end of February, we went to a new vet (due to relocating). The vet is great - thrilled with our testing and hands-on approach. Tasha's labs showed stage 3 CKD with creatine of 2.7. The recommendation was to switch to an rx food (although the vet wasn't too convinced of that herself considering the diabetes) and to try calcitriol. I did a bunch of research and opted for the calcitriol and switched her food from Friskies pates to
Nutro Max Cat With Savory Duck and Venison varieties (both 8 carbs but lower in phosphorous).
Prior to this, her AMPS/PMPS had been mostly in the low 200s, occasionally too low to shoot, on 0.10u (yes, 1/10th of a unit) of Prozinc.
Her BG numbers stayed fairly consistent as we switched foods and she had her teeth cleaned (no extractions). We added the oral calcitriol (it's compounded with some kind of chicken) and her numbers sky-rocketed. We increased her dose to 0.20u and got little response. We stopped the calcitriol almost a week ago and after 5 days, no response in her BG. Yesterday morning, we switched her back to Friskies (still off calcitriol) and her numbers have started to come down a little.
The vet suggested putting her back on the calcitriol and switching her to Lantus. We are probably about a month from either ordering new insulin, regardless of type, but I'm not sure if switching her right now is what we should do. It feels like introducing another variable.
Thoughts? She acts pretty darned great. No changes to attitude, appetite, or behavior. She handled the dental like a rockstar. Her BG numbers are just a disaster.
Spreadsheet in my signature. Scroll down a ways - I'll be starting a new tab in her sheet soon.
Thanks for any feedback. Let me know if I've missed something or if there's a question. I tried to keep this brief while getting in the important parts.
At the end of February, we went to a new vet (due to relocating). The vet is great - thrilled with our testing and hands-on approach. Tasha's labs showed stage 3 CKD with creatine of 2.7. The recommendation was to switch to an rx food (although the vet wasn't too convinced of that herself considering the diabetes) and to try calcitriol. I did a bunch of research and opted for the calcitriol and switched her food from Friskies pates to
Nutro Max Cat With Savory Duck and Venison varieties (both 8 carbs but lower in phosphorous).
Prior to this, her AMPS/PMPS had been mostly in the low 200s, occasionally too low to shoot, on 0.10u (yes, 1/10th of a unit) of Prozinc.
Her BG numbers stayed fairly consistent as we switched foods and she had her teeth cleaned (no extractions). We added the oral calcitriol (it's compounded with some kind of chicken) and her numbers sky-rocketed. We increased her dose to 0.20u and got little response. We stopped the calcitriol almost a week ago and after 5 days, no response in her BG. Yesterday morning, we switched her back to Friskies (still off calcitriol) and her numbers have started to come down a little.
The vet suggested putting her back on the calcitriol and switching her to Lantus. We are probably about a month from either ordering new insulin, regardless of type, but I'm not sure if switching her right now is what we should do. It feels like introducing another variable.
Thoughts? She acts pretty darned great. No changes to attitude, appetite, or behavior. She handled the dental like a rockstar. Her BG numbers are just a disaster.
Spreadsheet in my signature. Scroll down a ways - I'll be starting a new tab in her sheet soon.
Thanks for any feedback. Let me know if I've missed something or if there's a question. I tried to keep this brief while getting in the important parts.
s for you, Stacia.