? Hi! We're new here - 03/12 - Aris - AMPS 153, 169 +1, 142 +2, 86 +3, 58 +4, 73 +4.24

Bree W

Member Since 2024
Hi all! This is my first post here, I hope I got that subject line right, please advise if I missed anything, or if changing anything in the future would be helpful.

I've been struggling to manage Aris' blood glucose since his diagnosis in October and I just recently discovered this amazing website and forum! I am quickly realizing there are lots of things I should be doing differently... two big ones seem to be getting him on an actual protocol and stop varying his dose so often, and switching him to an actual low carb wet diet - which I thought the Hills M/D was :(

I am currently worried because he has dropped quite low this morning, BG 58 +4, I reviewed the post about treating a hypoglycemia episode and he seems normal and just ate some of his remaining wet food from breakfast, so I'll keep checking him every 15 min or so. He's already coming up even before I could post this, 73 +4.25, thank goodness.

In the longer term, I would be so grateful for any guidance around which change I should make first, i.e. getting him on one of the defined protocols (and if you have a preference or experience on which you think is a better option), or getting his food switched. It seems like switching the food can potentially be dangerous, so I'm thinking I don't want to do these both at the same time?

This post ended up way longer than I was expecting. Thank you if you've taken the time to read through it, and thank you for all of the information that has already been shared here, and for any guidance you might provide for me and Aris.

Another overwhelmed cat mom,
Bree
 
Hi Bree,

Welcome! You have defintely found the right place. I am not able to view Aris' SS, not sure why. You do want to add what protocol you're following once you decide the right one for you. I've been on this forum for almost 2 years, though lately, haven't been on that much. I am not experienced to give advise, but am here for support.

Great that Aris bg came up from 58. Did you give him higher carb food? Dealing with a potential hypo situation is very scary, especially in the beginning. It does get easier. I know, it's much easier to say. When Tango was first diagnosed, we mostly fed him dry food. We stopped that immediately. Looking back, we should've gradually removed from his diet, not cold turkey. That being said, Tango didn't seem to mind. Now, we follow TR and he gets all wet food - Almo Nature, FF Pate and Weruva. When his BG dips, we give higher carb food and he bounces back. It does not happen that often.

Someone should be along soon to answer your questions. Very important... if you have a question, ask!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Bree,

Welcome! You have defintely found the right place. I am not able to view Aris' SS, not sure why. You do want to add what protocol you're following once you decide the right one for you. I've been on this forum for almost 2 years, though lately, haven't been on that much. I am not experienced to give advise, but am here for support.

Great that Aris bg came up from 58. Did you give him higher carb food? Dealing with a potential hypo situation is very scary, especially in the beginning. It does get easier. I know, it's much easier to say. When Tango was first diagnosed, we mostly fed him dry food. We stopped that immediately. Looking back, we should've gradually removed from his diet, not cold turkey. That being said, Tango didn't seem to mind. Now, we follow TR and he gets all wet food - Almo Nature, FF Pate and Weruva. When his BG dips, we give higher carb food and he bounces back. It does not happen that often.

Someone should be along soon to answer your questions. Very important... if you have a question, ask!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Lori! Thank you so much for your reply. I think I fixed the spreadsheet link, I updated it to the "published to web" one.

Tango is adorable! And it's a relief to hear from someone who has achieved some control, proof that it is possible! It's awesome that he doesn't dip down very often, I hope to get there at some point too. And thanks for letting me know which foods you use, I'm sure I'll have to try several to find some that Aris will like. He's usually a pretty good eater, so hopefully it won't be too hard when we get to that point. This morning I just offered him the rest of his regular breakfast portion of the wet M/D, I did have to take it to him upstairs, but when i put it in front of him he ate happily. I do have some "gravy" style foods on hand, but haven't used them yet.

Thanks again for your reply and kind words. I can't say I'm excited to be on this journey, but I am definitely excited to have found this group!
 
Hello and welcome to LBL forum.

Did you double check that Libre 58 with the Alphatrak 3? We've noticed that the Libre can test lower than a human BG meter in lower numbers. And the AT will read even higher than that. That could be why you didn't see any hypo symptoms. Typically that is more likely to show up under 50 on a human meter. The Libre is a human meter. Regardless, 4 units is too high a dose at this point in time.

With the dosing methods we use here, we determine how to change the dose primarily by how low the dose is taking the cat. Also, since Lantus/glargine is a depot style insulin, we find it best to stick to the same dose, unless those nadirs (lowest numbers) tell us it's time to increase or decrease the dose. Read those yellow starred Sticky Notes on the top of this forum, especially the one on dosing methods. At some point you will have to choose one. For now you'll have to use the SLGS or Start Low Go Slow method, as using Tight Regulation mean all low carb wet or raw food.
 
Hello and welcome to LBL forum.

Did you double check that Libre 58 with the Alphatrak 3? We've noticed that the Libre can test lower than a human BG meter in lower numbers. And the AT will read even higher than that. That could be why you didn't see any hypo symptoms. Typically that is more likely to show up under 50 on a human meter. The Libre is a human meter. Regardless, 4 units is too high a dose at this point in time.

With the dosing methods we use here, we determine how to change the dose primarily by how low the dose is taking the cat. Also, since Lantus/glargine is a depot style insulin, we find it best to stick to the same dose, unless those nadirs (lowest numbers) tell us it's time to increase or decrease the dose. Read those yellow starred Sticky Notes on the top of this forum, especially the one on dosing methods. At some point you will have to choose one. For now you'll have to use the SLGS or Start Low Go Slow method, as using Tight Regulation mean all low carb wet or raw food.

Hi Wendy! Thank you so much for the info, I will be sure to read through the yellow sticky posts. I downloaded the Libre data as far back as it would let me, back to December, and updated his spreadsheet. We spent a lot of time at 3 units and had pretty consistently high numbers. Given that, would you still recommend reducing the dose as we start on the Start Low Go Slow method? It seems that might be a safe bet with a transition to a true low carb food too?

This morning, when we had the 57 reading on the Libre, the AlphaTrak gave an 87. Sometimes the two are closer, but I have definitely noticed that the AlphaTrack is consistently a bit higher than the Libre.
 
When following SLGS for dosing, you reduce the dose immediately by 0.25 units if they go under 90. Which Aris did by that AT reading. Good thing you thought to retest with the AT. :)

Late January, 3 units was too much insulin. Now, a cat's insulin needs can change over time, and we normally look at just the last couple weeks of data to figure out what to do with the dose. But there hasn't been consistent dosing the last couple weeks to allow me to suggest what dose to do next.

You could try that 2 units you shot tonight for several days and see how it goes.
 
When following SLGS for dosing, you reduce the dose immediately by 0.25 units if they go under 90. Which Aris did by that AT reading. Good thing you thought to retest with the AT. :)

Late January, 3 units was too much insulin. Now, a cat's insulin needs can change over time, and we normally look at just the last couple weeks of data to figure out what to do with the dose. But there hasn't been consistent dosing the last couple weeks to allow me to suggest what dose to do next.

You could try that 2 units you shot tonight for several days and see how it goes.

Perfect, that is what I’ll do for now, and I’ll read up on the SLGS method. For the last couple of weeks I was going based on my gut feeling and fear, turns out neither are accurate measures. I feel good about at least having a plan for the next several days, and then having better data to go on. Thank you so so much!
 
Hi Lori! Thank you so much for your reply. I think I fixed the spreadsheet link, I updated it to the "published to web" one.

Tango is adorable! And it's a relief to hear from someone who has achieved some control, proof that it is possible! It's awesome that he doesn't dip down very often, I hope to get there at some point too. And thanks for letting me know which foods you use, I'm sure I'll have to try several to find some that Aris will like. He's usually a pretty good eater, so hopefully it won't be too hard when we get to that point. This morning I just offered him the rest of his regular breakfast portion of the wet M/D, I did have to take it to him upstairs, but when i put it in front of him he ate happily. I do have some "gravy" style foods on hand, but haven't used them yet.

Thanks again for your reply and kind words. I can't say I'm excited to be on this journey, but I am definitely excited to have found this group!

Great. I can open ss now.
Hi Lori! Thank you so much for your reply. I think I fixed the spreadsheet link, I updated it to the "published to web" one.

Tango is adorable! And it's a relief to hear from someone who has achieved some control, proof that it is possible! It's awesome that he doesn't dip down very often, I hope to get there at some point too. And thanks for letting me know which foods you use, I'm sure I'll have to try several to find some that Aris will like. He's usually a pretty good eater, so hopefully it won't be too hard when we get to that point. This morning I just offered him the rest of his regular breakfast portion of the wet M/D, I did have to take it to him upstairs, but when i put it in front of him he ate happily. I do have some "gravy" style foods on hand, but haven't used them yet.

Thanks again for your reply and kind words. I can't say I'm excited to be on this journey, but I am definitely excited to have found this group!

Thanks Bree. We've been very fotunatel with Tango. He's pretty regulated and hasn't had any other complications. He was in remission for six months then came out of it. Fingers crossed it will happen again.
We used to feed Tango a little wet food twice a day and leave dry food out. Now, since diabetic kitties are hungry more oten, he gets fed about every 3 hours. We use an automatic feeder at night, which has been a life saver. Cats can be finicky, hopefully it won't take long to find a food that agrees with Aris' taste buds :cat: Being a good eater should help.

Aris is precious. She's a little cuddle bug. How old is she? You might want to add that to your signature.

As I type, Tango's climbing my chair - time to eat!

Good night!
 
Back
Top