Bree W
Member Since 2024
Hi all! This is my first post here, I hope I got that subject line right, please advise if I missed anything, or if changing anything in the future would be helpful.
I've been struggling to manage Aris' blood glucose since his diagnosis in October and I just recently discovered this amazing website and forum! I am quickly realizing there are lots of things I should be doing differently... two big ones seem to be getting him on an actual protocol and stop varying his dose so often, and switching him to an actual low carb wet diet - which I thought the Hills M/D was
I am currently worried because he has dropped quite low this morning, BG 58 +4, I reviewed the post about treating a hypoglycemia episode and he seems normal and just ate some of his remaining wet food from breakfast, so I'll keep checking him every 15 min or so. He's already coming up even before I could post this, 73 +4.25, thank goodness.
In the longer term, I would be so grateful for any guidance around which change I should make first, i.e. getting him on one of the defined protocols (and if you have a preference or experience on which you think is a better option), or getting his food switched. It seems like switching the food can potentially be dangerous, so I'm thinking I don't want to do these both at the same time?
This post ended up way longer than I was expecting. Thank you if you've taken the time to read through it, and thank you for all of the information that has already been shared here, and for any guidance you might provide for me and Aris.
Another overwhelmed cat mom,
Bree
I've been struggling to manage Aris' blood glucose since his diagnosis in October and I just recently discovered this amazing website and forum! I am quickly realizing there are lots of things I should be doing differently... two big ones seem to be getting him on an actual protocol and stop varying his dose so often, and switching him to an actual low carb wet diet - which I thought the Hills M/D was
I am currently worried because he has dropped quite low this morning, BG 58 +4, I reviewed the post about treating a hypoglycemia episode and he seems normal and just ate some of his remaining wet food from breakfast, so I'll keep checking him every 15 min or so. He's already coming up even before I could post this, 73 +4.25, thank goodness.
In the longer term, I would be so grateful for any guidance around which change I should make first, i.e. getting him on one of the defined protocols (and if you have a preference or experience on which you think is a better option), or getting his food switched. It seems like switching the food can potentially be dangerous, so I'm thinking I don't want to do these both at the same time?
This post ended up way longer than I was expecting. Thank you if you've taken the time to read through it, and thank you for all of the information that has already been shared here, and for any guidance you might provide for me and Aris.
Another overwhelmed cat mom,
Bree

Being a good eater should help.