Hi there

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cath&Rufus

Member Since 2013
dancing_cat Hi I am a newbee here. My Rufus has just yesterday been diagnosed with diabetes. I haven't been given any real alternatives by the vet.
 
Here are some things to get you started:


We have a very successful protocol for feline diabetes:

1. A slow, long lasting insulin. Lantus, Levemir and ProZinc are popular as they have a slow onset; they are not harsh and they are easiest to use for regulation. Humulin and Canninsulin are less popular because, in most cats, they have a rapid onset and don’t last as long. We like new diabetics to start low and go slow. That is, start at a low dose of .5 or one unit twice daily every 12 hours. And increase slowly, by .25 or .5 units as the numbers indicate.

2. A low carb, wet diet. We like to feed under 8-10% carbs. There are several food charts you can use: Dr. Lisa’s food chart
Hobo’s Food Chart

Whatever food you can afford that your cat will eat in that lower range.

2. And most importantly, hometesting. We think cats tend to be stressed at the vet
and we know stress raises blood glucose levels. So we test our cats at home. We use human glucometers and test on their ears or paws. Here is a video that shows you how it is done: Video for hometesting

Read and ask questions. We'd love to help you help your kitty.
 
Hello Barb & sue....I must say I feel better already just knowing that you folks are out there. I've put Rufus on "wellness" brand canned food,he seems to like it but really has diareaha bad. Its only been two days since the vet diagnosed him.The alternatives suggested to me by her assistant were put him on insulin or "gently euthenize"him :sad: I am definitely not ready to see Rufus suffer or be "gently euthenized"!!!! He is a bright & beautiful little guy & absolutely the love of my life. I haven't called the vet back....I googled Dr Lisa Pierson on this matter and found this forum (soooo glad I did ) I would rather take care of Rufus. So I've set out to learn as much as I can to help him.I don't think he would have "gently euthanized"me! I thank you both for welcoming us and any info that you can provide. confused_cat. Cath&Rufus
 
There's no need to "gently euthanize" a diabetic cat! With the correct diet and treatment, they can lead happy, healthy lives.
It's a little bit of work, and there is some money involved, but treatment is pretty simple once you get the hang of it. We're all here because we're doing it and it works.
Welcome on. Read and ask questions and read some more. Ask some more. Get a home testing kit. Pick up some low carb cans. You can do this!
 
Are you on insulin yet?

If no, change the diet gradually to avoid GI upsets using the food lists given above.

If yes, keep everything the same until you can home test. This will keep your cat safe, as changing to a low carb canned or raw food may drop the glucose 100 points. Also vet stress may have raised the glucose between 100-180 points at the vet's office. With both diet change and home testing, the glucose may be from 200 to 280 points lower.
 
Hello everyone and thank you so much for responding. I have switched Rufus to the Wellness canned chicken formula and he really likes it, also I have taken control over his eating schedule and how much he eats. He is suffering from diareaha, but I'm hoping this will clear up. This week I intend to get a testing kit and plan to have a chat with my vet (they aren't very user friendly), about what his BG levels are and what they are supposed to be. Is there a scale for this? I'm also considering changing vets becuz these people do not seem to ready to help Rufus. Apparently they'd be happy to take my money and if that doesn't work,they wud also be just as happy to put him to sleep. I'M NOT BUYING ANY OF IT.....I come on this site every day and take something new away with me. I intent on making a list of questions I need answered and also want a copy of his lab work...I feel the more I learn the more I can help my Rufus. Wish me luck! cat(2)_steam
 
Generally, we consider a cat regulated if they range from mid 200s at preshot to below 100 at midcycle (but not under 40, which is considered hypo territory) We advise new diabetics not to shoot under 200. Once you have data, you can shoot at lower levels, safely.

Your plan sounds good. I seem to remember we tried to find a good FD vet but your choices were limited on Vancouver Island?

Here is a shopping list for hometesting and ways to get your kitty ready:

A human glucometer. Any one that sips and takes a tiny sample is fine. Some members stay away from any meter with True in the name and the Freestyle meters. Some people think they are unreliable and read lower than other meters. The meters are often free at drug stores; it’s the strips that are expensive. You can, however, buy them on ebay at less than half the price of stores. Lots of people here also like the ReliOn from Walmart. It is an inexpensive meter and its strips are the cheapest around. Try the meter out on yourself or someone else before you try it on your cat. You want to be familiar with it before you poke the cat.

Lancets and a lancet device. Usually, until the ears “learn” to bleed, a 26-28 gauge is good. Any brand will work as long as the lancets match your device.

Ketone strips. (Ketostix) Just like human diabetics use. You will sometimes need to test urine if the numbers are high.

Rice sack. Make this out of thinnish sock, filled with raw rice or oatmeal and then knotted. You heat this in the microwave until very warm but not hot. Then heat the ears before poking. You can also use a prescription bottle filled with very warm water. It provides a good surface to poke against.

Also nice to have. Flashlight: so you can look at the ears and find the little capillaries that come off the vein running down the ear. Vaseline: Put a tiny smear where you want to poke. It will help the blood bead up.

And some lo carb treats to give your kitty, successful test or not Lo carb treats

How to get the cat ready for home testing
First pick a place where you want to test. Some people use the kitchen counter, a blanket on the floor, between your legs while sitting – whatever works for you. Take the kitty there and give him/her lots of praise while you play with his/her ears. Give a treat and release. Next time, add the rice sack (thin sock filled with raw rice, heated in the microwave until very warm but not hot) or a prescription pill bottle filled with very warm water. Lots of praise, treat and release. Finally add the lancet so he/she will get used to the noise. The hope is that when you finally poke, they will be used to the process and know a treat is coming!

Good luck! You are well armed. :mrgreen:
 
Hey there! welcome aboard, sorry I didn't respond sooner I've been away in Vancouver at a horse show and we just got back last night. I am in Sidney, here on Vancouver Island. don't hesitate to get in touch if you need any help! not sure whereabouts you are exactly but obviously fairly close by! my email is psumsion@shaw.ca

I was lucky, the first vet we took rupert too recommended Lantus. She was an intern and I think fairly fresh out of vet school so up on all the latest stuff. Since then most of the vet visits (we ended up changing a couple of times) were frustrating, but really, once you get an idea of what is going on, get a handle on testing, you can use the information on this board and really, most likely, be ahead of what most of the local vets know.

bug me if you need ideas. PM is the best since I don't get much time to come to this board very often! good luck! you are in good hands!
 
Hello there

Time to find another vet!

Anyway here are some tips for Canadians..

You can get a free bayer contour USB meter and 25 strips if you go to http://www.bayerdiabetes.ca/BDoffer and use code "BDS 11-14" And then if you register the meter when it arrives, you get a free USB wall charger. Its a reliable meter. This offer was in the flyer comes inside the BD ultra fine 3/10cc syringes you get in Walmart Canada. I used a similar one six months ago and it worked great so bayer seem to run it a lot.
The strips are expensive in stores $75 for 100 in Shoppers for example but you can get them for half that price on eBay. But of course if you get them in shoppers you can get points! I havent found a good meter that has strips cheaper than that - they all seem to be about the same price.

For foods, wellness grain free is good, hopefully his tummy will settle down soon, what was he eating before? Many people here feed freeze dried chicken purebites treats as they are low carb.. You can get a big dog bag in Walmart (cheaper).

You can get Lantus pens in Costco for $99 and lasts six months if you keep it in the fridge but you might want to try shoppers since they have points. Pens last longer and have more in than vials (15ml instead of 10ml)

I got my mini flashlight on eBay for $3 including shipping from china "mini USB flashlight".

Wendy
 
Hi Cath, another welcome from a west coast Canadian. :-D I've found that London Drugs has some of the best prices on strips and will generally give you a free meter when you buy 100 strips. I have the Bayer Contour as my backup. I like it for the small size drop of blood it needs. I buy my insulin at a Save on Foods pharmacy, same price as the other Wendy mentioned. You can ask for Lantus cartridges, they are basically the refill that goes in the pens. I get my syringes at Save-on as well and it also has the free coupon for Bayer. My local Save-on pharmacy folk are quite knowledgeable about what to buy for cats - they have a number of diabetic cat customers!

The cheapest place I've found for Wellness and Purebites treats is Tisol, if you have one near you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top