I agree with not shooting low numbers. But with the dose you are on, he is high at amps and low at pmps, skips and then goes up for 12 more hours. We want to see a smile shaped curve from every amps to the next. Higher at amps, lower at +6, up again by pmps. He has a 24 hour smile - high at amps, lower, lower till pmps, then higher, higher and back up by the next morning. It must feel like a roller coaster. I would encourage you to reduce the dose so you have 2 shootable numbers twice a day. You run the risk of him hypoing when he is only at 167 12 hours after the shot - the likelyhood is that he was very low earlier in the cycle. When PZI lasts longer than a 12 hour cycle, it is a good indication that the dose is too high.
. Would you consider lowering the dose to see if you get two nice shootable preshots 12 hours apart?