Hi...Marshmellow...5yr new diabetic cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marshmellow & Steve

Member Since 2015
Hi,
My name is Steve and my cat Marshmellow is a newly diagnosed diabetic (1 month ago). She had severe keto-acidosis, but after 4 days at the vets, we took her home as she was showing improvement and no ketones in her urine.
She has been started on Lantus, and we had her up to 1.5 units, but our vet believes she had the Somogyi effect. We started her back at 0.5 unit, 6 hour post glucose has been steady in the 200-low 400 range with an occasion high 100's. She has been steady in that range for 2 weeks. I have done some research and found the Catinfo site for low carb foods, which she has been switched to for the past 3 weeks. We increased her insulin 2 days ago to 1 unit. I plan to keep her at the 1 unit a couple of more days, but is it usual to jump around like this?

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1qYv7G5betpeuiQOl-DN9PotZLU-ZprURRFHTL7WJ6qg/edit?usp=sharing


Thanks, Steve
 
Last edited:
Welcome to FDMB.

It's great you are home testing. One of the things we do, since we have an international membership, is reference our tests in terms of the time since the shot. This is because of both the different time zones and because the interpretation of the value is relative to when the shot was.
AMPS = morning pre-shot test, to make sure it is safe to give insulin
+2 = Optional. Any test at 2 hours since the shot. A good one to get to see if the drop is going need monitoring.
+5 to +7 = Once a week or more often. The lowest glucose (nadir) usually falls in this range, so getting tests some time in this period can be helpful to make sure the glucose doesn't go too low. You want it to remain safely abotve 50 mg/dL on a human meter and above 68 mg/dL on a pet meter.
PMPS = morning pre-shot test, to make sure it is safe to give insulin.

If you give the times since the shot to your numbers, it will help us interpret them. Like this:

AMPS 314, 1 unit (6 AM)
+6 ~ 148 (12 PM)
PMPS ?
+6 ~ 101 (12 AM)

AMPS 432, 1 unit (6 AM)
+6 ~200 (12 PM )
PMPS ?
+6 ~ 374 (12 AM)

AMPS 258 1 unit (6 AM)
+6 ~ 489 (12 PM)
PMPS ?
+6 ~ 336 (12 AM)

AMPS 214 1 unit (6 AM)
+6 ~73 ( 12 P M)
 
Last edited:
Thanks BJM, I think my Google doc is done correctly, I did the AMPS +6, and +6 after PM glucose. Have not been doing the PMPS as she has been stable, but will tonight because she was 73 at !@P.
 
Good job on the spreadsheet.
Just a note - when a cat goes below 50 mg/dL on insulin, we may give a 0.25 unit reduction in dose, so that first green you see would have had us drop it. Right now, its looking pretty good at 1 unit, though.
Also, the nadir can and does change, so you may want to vary the mid-cycle (between shot) tests in the +5 to +7 hour post shot period.


With your spreadsheet set up, you are ready to post in the Lantus forum, if you'd like.

Adding a few tidbits to your signature will help us interpret the tests, too.

Editing your Signature

In the upper right corner of the screen, within the dark blue bar, you will see ID, Inbox, and Alerts

Click on your ID.

On the left, under Settings, Click on Signature.
This is where you will put information that helps us give you feedback.
This is where you paste the link for your spreadsheet, once it is set up.
Add any other text, such as
your name,
cat's name,
date of Dx (diagnosis)
insulin
meter
any other pertinent issues like if there are any food issues, history of DKA, hepatic lipidosis, pancreatitis, allergies, IBD, etc.
Click the Save Changes button at the bottom.

Always click the Save Changes button at the bottom when you have changed anything.


 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top