Hi I'm mamachud

Status
Not open for further replies.

mamachud and Precious

Member Since 2013
Hi. My cat Precious is one of three cats that I have from the same litter that were born on my patio 13 years ago. He was diagnosed with Diabetes on March 6th. I joined this forum then, but apparently I am not too smart because I just can't figure things out. So I don't know if this will post or if anyone will see it or respond, but here goes. Pe has always been healthy and feisty and a round, fluffy fur ball. He normally weighs about 16 pounds. Since February, he seemed to be having some trouble with his hind legs and he seemed to be losing a little bit of weight. At first I wasn't too worried. He was playing and eating and using the litterbox. I figured that at 13 years old he was probably starting to have some arthritis in his joints and I was researching ideas on how to help him. Then, all of a sudden, he lost a lot of weight, started drinking a lot and peeing a lot. When I got up on March 6th, he was lethargic and I could feel the bones in his neck, I went to the vet. He only weighed 12 pounds and was dehydrated. His blood glucose was 365. He was diagnosed with diabetes and I was told to give him 2 units of ProZinc every 12 hours. I was told to change his food from dry to wet. I was told to get a glucometer and check his glucose levels. I came home from the vet in shock, scared and $400 poorer. I immediately started researching feline diabetes and I am trying to do what is best for Pe. At first he responded pretty well to the insulin. He seemed a little better and he stopped peeing so much. He likes the wet cat food! I am following the "high protein/low carb" theory. After about a week I did a mini curve and he was dropping a little too low. I talked to the vet and he said not to change the dose, that I was probably not using a good glucometer/not doing it right. He wanted to sell me a glucometer specifically for cats and have Pe go in for more blood tests and a curve. Unfortunately, I am in a bad position financially. I have been sick for the last several years and in the past 2 years I have had 3 surgeries and 2 blood transfusions, worked sporadically, and stayed very broke. The initial vet bill used up my meager savings and half of my next paycheck. I was only able to pay my rent and have not paid my utilities. So, I have to rely on myself to take care of Pe. Testing showed me that he was still going a little too low, so I started giving him a tiny bit less. Instead of filling the syringe to the 2 unit mark I fill it to just under that mark. It has made a huge difference. Pe has gained back 1.5 pounds and is playing and feisty again. I was starting to feel optimistic. But I noticed that even though he has gained weight and is acting nearly normal again, he has started peeing more and he now has a lot of dandruff. I brushed him this morning and there was very little hair, but lots of dandruff. What does that mean? Should I up his dose again? I just don't know. For a while there, I thought we were going to lose him. Then he seemed to bounce back. But I am worried again. I wish I trusted the vet and that I could afford to take him for all of the tests and things. But I literally don't have any money to pay the vet. I am working a seasonal job that ends in two weeks and even though I apply for everything and go on interviews almost weekly, I don't have anything guaranteed after that. I have two other cats and a son that I have to think of. So any advice, emotional support and resources are appreciated. I am not willing to let anything happen to Pe or the rest of my bunch! I know that we will get through this! Thanks for listening, Michelle
 
We can help you with your cat's diabetes, and if you set up a spreadsheet so we can see his numbers, the people who know PZI insulin best can help you with your dosing questions. You're doing fine, and I can tell you love Pe.
You don't have to take your cat for curves, if you do the testing at home. What kind of meter are you using?
 
It sounds like you are doing a great job with Pe. Most people here use human glucometers. Pet ones are too expensive for the meter and the strips. I would just be firm with the vet and tell him you are managing Pe's diabetes in the best way you can afford.

How low was he dipping when you lowered the dose? We generally say a cat is well regulated when they are in the low 200s at preshot and under 100 at midcycle, but not below 40. Setting up a spreadsheet would really help us help you with dosing. Here are the directions:


http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=18207

It's a little tricky. If you need help setting it up, just ask.
 
Thank you guys! I have to leave for work but I wanted to give a quick answer. I am using a True2go meter, his bg was getting down to 40-50 before I adjusted it and he has gained 1.5 lbs since March 20. Between March 6 and March 20 he lost another .5 lb. He is currently 13 lbs, normal is 16. He just filled the litterbox with urine and has terrible dandruff, which is new. Gotta go to work, but will check this when I get home. Thank you so much. Sorry to sound so lame, it has been a tough day. :}
 
Hello there!

The dandruff and peeing could well be the diabetes but the weight gain is a good sign. Can you get a couple of tests in today? You really want to test before every shot as the worst thing you can do is shoot a low number. Lets see where he is at.

Its great that you are testing and feeding canned food and you have chosen a good insulin - all great things. However what brand/ type of food are you feeding? Some canned foods can be too high carb.

Also that meter you chose isnt considered terribly good - a vet meter isnt necessary - but unfortunately the True meters arent that accurate, especially over 200 when they tend to read low.. Do you have a walmart nearby? The Relion brand they sell is much better - and cheaper.

Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top