Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
Hi . I have a 15 yo DSH named Bubbles, newly diagnosed with diabetes. She started defecating just outside her box several weeks ago, and the polydipsia and polyurea started about 2 weeks ago. BG was 523 on Monday, I got the news Wednesday, and started her on 2 units of PZI twice a day. Changed her food to Fancy Feast, and we go for a recheck in one week. My first question is...How many hours after administration does the PZI peak?
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Welcome! I'm still too new to give you advice, but I can tell you that you will get some excellent advice here. If you switched to Fancy Feast from a dry food, you will likely see changes just from that alone. Where do you live? Best of luck to you and Bubbles!

Debbie
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Hi Tooloo! We live in NY, I found Bubbles at my local shelter 15 years ago (she kept swatting me thru the cage!), She's been very healthy (indoor cat), even now, all her other labwork was fine. I am anticipating a lot of trouble with the BG testing because she is in charge of when she wants to be held or touched.:( How is your cat doing?
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

And I guess I am full of questions. I just switched Bubbles from Friskies Indoor dry food to Fancy Feast Yellowfin Tuna Tuscany...after reading about the best foods, I am thinking i could have picked a better variety? Also, how do I put a profile on here?
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Thank you for your help! I am only experienced with caring for human diabetics...this seems tougher!
arlene
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

It sounds like Bubbles picked you! Tootoo is doing fine (my other cat is Looloo -that's why it's Tooloo). Tootoo is very close to remission.

I test him with a Walmart Relion Confirm meter. The vet wanted to sell me a $386 AlphaTrak, which I found out from the wonderful people here was not necessary to buy. Tootoo is normally a pretty ornery guy, but he's gotten to where he loves the testing. It's not as difficult as you might think. I put him on the counter, massage his neck, ears, face until he's really relaxed, do a quick ear prick, then a treat. He comes running now when it's time to test. :smile:

I want someone else here to see your post, which I'm sure they will. There are many more experienced than I am, and they will be able to give you an enormous amount of advice and support. I also use Lantus and not PZI, and I know there are differences there too. Someone will post soon. I'll check back again and make sure you get bumped up to the top if need be.

Hang in there - you came to the right place!

(Just saw your other post. Fancy Feast Classics are the lowest in carbs, thus best for diabetic cats, or so I'm told.)

Debbie
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Thanks, Debbie! I know the BG testing will begin soon...I hope it's as easy as you make it sound...:)
I'm already finding we have to change so much of our routine, as I also have 2 big dogs who like to help Bubbles eat her dinner. I just fed her with a spoon...lol...so I could be sure SHE ate the food, and not Augie or Max.
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Hi and welcome to the FDMB!! You're in the right place to learn everything you never wanted to have to know about feline diabetes though!!

First, here's a list of pretty much any food you can buy and the carb value (column C)...We want to keep it to under 10% carbs Dr.Pierson's Food Chart

Next, you'll want to learn how to test at home. Tests done at the vets are "under stress" and the numbers won't mean much of anything...and usually leads the vet to prescribe a dose that's way too high and when the cat is back home again (and the numbers come down) you're giving enough to possibly cause a hypo...and those can kill.

When we started this dance, China hated having her ears touched, so I really doubted I'd ever be able to test. Now when it's shot times, she reminds ME that it's time to test....and when I want to get a test in between shots, I just call her and she comes running and jumps right up there. It's all about conditioning and desensitization. We can help you with that too!!

Now, for your dose, I'm NOT familiar with dosing Pro Zinc other than that it's dosed different than Lantus is. That being said, we recommend all cats start at no more than 1 unit twice/day and then you wait for a few days (at least) to see how your cat reacts to it.

If you're switching over to the low carb foods from a high carb dry (or wet), the numbers can drop quickly too, so it's better to switch foods slowly, and start with a lower dose. Once it's in the cat, you can't take it out again, and the first rule of this board is safety.

There's lots more to share with you, and it can get overwhelming at times, so if information comes at you too fast, please just tell us to Slow Down!! We all understand the learning curve is fast and steep, and we've all been there.

Good luck to you and Bubbles!! (We'd love to know your name too!!)

Edited to Add...I see your name is Arlene!! Welcome Arlene!! If you go to the "User Control Panel" (top left side of page) and go to "Profile", then "Edit Signature", you can add your name (and Bubbles of course), and where you live, your diagnosis date and that you're using Pro Zinc (and anything else you might want to add later). Then, when you've got a spreadsheet set up, you can add a link to that too so that we can all follow your progress as well as help advise you of future dose changes
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Thank you Chris and China! I never really paid attention to how much dry food Bubbles really ate, because, as I mentioned, my dogs seem to think all food in bowls on the floor is for sharing! ugh. New game in town! Canned food is a treat for Bubbles, so I am having an easier time monitoring her intake...I guess I chose the wrong variety, though. The insulin injections have not been a problem, and my vet is easy to work with, so I will be asking about Lantus, for sure. She is still drinking and urinating a lot...so I am guessing her BG is still up there. Let the BG testing begin...she's not very active, anyway, but I can see already that she is back to grooming herself and seems more alert...so I hope we are on the right path. Thank you for the encouragement. We are up for the challenge of learning to manage her diabetes...arlene
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

The first big change I noticed in China was that she was preening again too!! Her coat had looked so scraggly! I thought she was just suffering from "old cat", but now she's back to looking (and acting) a lot younger than she has in years!

The peeing and drinking will come down once you've started to get her regulated...the 2nd thing I really noticed was I wasn't having to scoop litter as much, so I knew the peeing had decreased :-D

Here are some things you're going to need to get ready to home test

Getting started shopping list
1. Meter ie Walmart Relion Confirm or Micro. (or Prime..cheapest strips but takes a little bigger blood sample than the Confirm or Micro)
2. Matching strips
3. Lancets - little sticks to poke the ear to get blood . new members usually start with a larger gauge lancet such as 28g or 29g until the ear learns to bleed. Optional - lancing tool.
4. Cotton balls to stem the blood
5. Neosporin or Polysporin ointment with pain relief to heal the wound
6. Mini flashlight (optional) - useful to help see the ear veins in dark cats, and to press against
7. Ketone urine test strips ie ketodiastix - Important to check ketones when blood is high
8. Sharps container - to dispose of waste syringes and lancets.
9. Treats for the cat - like freeze dried chicken
10. Karo syrup/corn syrup or honey if you dont have it at home - for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast
11. A couple of cans of fancy feast gravy lovers or other high carb gravy food- for hypo emergencies to bring blood sugar up fast

You'll also want to pick up some u100 syringes..3/10cc, 30 or 31 gauge, 5/16..with half unit markings if you're going to be using Lantus but you can wait until you get the prescription to get those if you want.

Here's a video on how to home test. If your cat is hard to get to cooperate (when I first saw these, I just knew these cats HAD to have been drugged...LOL) we have ways to help desensitize her and get her used to it. Almost everyone CAN do it!!
[youtube]cZ6iXetR398[/youtube]

Once you find one video on youtube about "how to test your cats blood glucose", more will come up along the right side ...there are lots of them so you can watch several to see how others do it if you want

As for the food, once you get some of the foods on the list, you might try feeding Bubbles on a counter or table where the dogs can't get to it. That way you can monitor how much she eats without letting the droolers get it
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Chris and China, Thanks so much for the info...I've been reading up for several days, now...but your shopping list makes it easier! And the video is very helpful. I have experience with humans, and am thinking this will be much like working with a pediatric patient. Whew! I hope my vet can handle me...
I just wish I had more time to monitor Bubbles, I really want to get this under control. Monday I was ready for euthanasia...now I see we can do this!
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

P.S. I really wanted to put Bubbles pic in my profile...but I seem to be having trouble? it won't upload?
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Oh NO!! Diabetes isn't (and should never be) a "death sentence"...and you'll find that as this sugardance goes forward, your relationship with your cat will grow even stronger.

It's totally manageable at home...most of us only use our vets for routine care, like vaccinations and check ups. We manage the diabetes at home!

If you're going to ask for Lantus instead of Pro Zinc, have him write the prescription for the Lantus Solostar Pen. They last a little longer than the vials (but you don't use the "dose thing" on them..you pull the insulin out of the pen just like you would out of a vial. Lantus also has a savings program you can sign up for....supposed to make your first 6 prescriptions only cost $25 each

Lantus Savings Card

You have to enter the information like if you are the caretaker of someone under 18. Sometimes they still won't give the discount without some number that not all vets have, but sometimes they go straight through for the $25 per pen price.

seem to be having trouble? it won't upload?

Are you getting an error code that the picture is too big?
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

I will talk with my vet about the Lantus. I really like him; he truly cares and understands, and works WITH his patients and their caregivers...so important! He said No Way is my cat going anywhere, but Home! She's too feisty to give up! It took 4 people to hold her to be examined...she looked like Cujo! I was horrified...but it was pretty funny, in retrospect. As far as Bubbles pic...not getting an error msg, but none of them uploading, they are IPHONe pics...oh well, she is really cute...lol
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

If you're planning on starting Lantus this weekend, go ahead and start learning how to home test and work on getting Bubbles onto ONLY wet food with less than 10%.

Do you plan on starting insulin over the weekend? If you do, start at 1 unit BID...and slowly reduced the carbs out of her food.

You'll need to get a spreadsheet up and running. I'm NO computer nerd type and even I could do it...LOL Then when you're ready to put your numbers is, you just type the number in the cell you want it in and it color codes it all by itself mostlyl

Spreadsheet program


Can you upload your pictures to one of the photo sites, like Photobucker or FLicker?...or directely into your computer "Pictures" file? If you can upload them into your computer pictures file, there's another site we can show you that will resize your pics for the message board.


.
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Hello there and welcome to the board!

There is a list of suitable fancy feasts and other foods here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=94685

I wouldnt stress about changing to Lantus yet. PZI is still a good insulin and people here have had good success with it and you arent home testing yet so you dont even know if its working! I would give it a chance first .. especially since you have just changed the food and are about to start home testing.

Here are more home testing tips: https://docs.google.com/document/d/13c_CPZVKz27fD_6aVbsguadJKvjSrSAkD7flgPPhEag/pub

Wendy
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Thank you so much for all the info. Bubbles has been on PZI for 3 days. Already a change in her...more alert, brighter eyes, allowing petting. We go for a BG check in a week. She has transitioned easily to Fancy Feast, and I thank you for the carb % list. I will pick up the Classics, I think the variety I bought has 10% carbs (Yellowfin Tuna Tuscany). We'll see how it goes for the next week. Can't wait to see less urine. I have been changing the litter every day for 2 weeks. Hopefully she will go back to defecating INSide the box? She can certainly stand to lose some weight (14 lbs!), she should probably weigh about
9 lbs. She's a small kitty. I have pics of her on my puter, I guess they need to be re-sized?
I am hoping she really feels a little better so she doesn't attack the staff again when we go for her re-check...lol
Again, thank you so much for the info and support!
arlene
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

P.S. I found the site and re-sized :)
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Bubbles is beautiful Arlene!! I've always thought calico kitties were so unique!

If you take this week to learn how to test at home, you won't ever have to take Bubbles to the vet for curves and rechecks again for "diabetes care"....only routine vet care and diagnosis if you think there's something else going on. Vet curves are expensive, as well as inaccurate. The stress of a vet visit can raise BG readings up to 200 points....so what the vet might think is a 400 could actually be closer to a 200 if the test was done at home....and if the vet bases their dose advice on the number they get in the office, I think you can see how it might be tragic for you after the number comes down once at home.

The FF "Tuscany" varieties are all in the mid 20% carb range...too high. Maybe you can return them if you got a bunch and exchange for the "Classics" that are under 10%? You could also keep some but have them separated and/or marked "HC" (high carb). I usually keep about 5 cans of HC in the house in case I get a number under 50 when I test.

BUT since you have started giving the Pro Zinc, you'll want to gradually bring the food carbs down. You don't want to switch overnight since food change can bring the BG down another 100 points or more.

If Bubbles was on high carb food plus the stress of the vet on Monday, that 523 your vet got could have been as low as 223...and that's a big difference.

I'm happy to see you're starting to see some improvement already in how she looks and acts. It's amazing, isn't it? :-D
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Thanks, she is a cutie with ATTITUDE...lol. I actually have a plan with her diet. She was on Friskies dry (not sure of the carb %, but I am guessing high), and I switched 3 days ago to the Fancy Feast Tuscany, the same day I started the PZI. I am going now to get the Fancy Feast Classics, so I will be lowering her carbs gradually, as I transition her to the Classics. Her BG was 523, 5 days ago at the vet's office. Her water intake and urinary output are still up there, so I am guessing are BG is, too. In one week my vet will recheck, meantime, I am monitoring her signs and symptoms. She actually played with a string for a bit, hasn't done that in months! I have no problem giving her 1 week to stabilize as I gradually lower her carbs and give insulin. So my fingers crossed til next Friday, and I'll pick up my monitoring supplies this week. Thanks so much!
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

In my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools are a number of assessments you may find helpful, particularly, urine testing for glucose and ketones.

While these are rougher indicators than blood tests, more than a trace of ketones is a medical emergency and glucose in the urine indicates high blood glucose since the previous void (possible lack of control)
 
Re: Hi. I am new to this site, have a newly diagnosed 15 yo

Thanks so much for the Secondary Tools...Over this first week after diagnosis, they are what I am using for now. She is definitely more alert, purring and preening again. Checking her box and wishing for the volume of urine to drop soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top