BonnieBT
Member Since 2021
Hello, everybody! I found this forum a couple weeks ago shortly after my 12 yr old kitty, Harvey, was diagnosed. It's been an overwhelming time, and I'm just now getting set up here. In fact, this post is largely to test and see if I have the spreadsheet and signature lines set up right. My spreadsheet is missing a few lines from when he was boarded while my husband and I were out of town, but I will get those numbers when we go back to the vet on Thursday.
We have gradually increased to 3 units of Lantus twice a day. Originally our vet wanted us to skip insulin if his BG was <150, but now she says as long as it's between 100 and 150 to give 1 unit. We haven't seen numbers that low though since she made this change.
Harvey eats well. He has 1/2 can DM for breakfast and supper each, before his shot. At lunchtime and bedtime, he gets 1/2 can of Fancy Feast pate. That's what he was eating before his diagnosis, and the vet said she recommends it for cats that refuse the DM, so I figured we should go ahead and use it up.
I took him to the vet because I was worried about recent weight loss (he was 17 pounds in November but has dropped down to 14 pounds this summer) and because of his feet. Instead of walking on his toes, he has lowered to walking on his entire front feet. The vet thinks some of his gait issues with his hind legs is due to arthritis, and we are going to try acupuncture starting Thursday.
I'm really disappointed that he hasn't improved more quickly.
We have gradually increased to 3 units of Lantus twice a day. Originally our vet wanted us to skip insulin if his BG was <150, but now she says as long as it's between 100 and 150 to give 1 unit. We haven't seen numbers that low though since she made this change.
Harvey eats well. He has 1/2 can DM for breakfast and supper each, before his shot. At lunchtime and bedtime, he gets 1/2 can of Fancy Feast pate. That's what he was eating before his diagnosis, and the vet said she recommends it for cats that refuse the DM, so I figured we should go ahead and use it up.
I took him to the vet because I was worried about recent weight loss (he was 17 pounds in November but has dropped down to 14 pounds this summer) and because of his feet. Instead of walking on his toes, he has lowered to walking on his entire front feet. The vet thinks some of his gait issues with his hind legs is due to arthritis, and we are going to try acupuncture starting Thursday.
I'm really disappointed that he hasn't improved more quickly.
