Hi Everyone!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Duchess2118

Member Since 2018
Hi everyone! My name is Pam and I am Cookie's mom. Cookie is a 9 y.o., 18 lb bundle of love. Cookie was diagnosed earlier this month. I am a full-time student and am usually gone during the day, but I had been home during the day recently studying for exams and noticed that Cookie had a little less energy and was drinking more than usual, then he started going outside the litter box. I took him in thinking it was a UTI (he has had them in the past) and the vet found that he had glucose in his urine. Cookie's blood glucose result at the vet that day was 350. The vet was hesitant to start him on insulin right away and sent off fructosamine labs. Unfortunately the results were delayed a few days due to a snow storm in our area.

While waiting on Cookie's labs I found this site and tried to absorb as much as I could in the event the vet thought it was necessary to start him on insulin. The results came back at 577 and Cookie was prescribed Lantus (1.5 units 2x day). We began injections the evening of 12/13/18. I think we have been doing well so far (I've only poked myself once!). Cookie is very laid back and has tolerated the poking and prodding very well.

My biggest fear is that he might go too low while I am out of the house. There have been a few times where Cookie has tested a bit low (the vet said not to inject if he was at or below 80) and I cut his dose in half, but other than that I think he is slowly getting back to his normal self. My goal is to get him down to a healthier weight and into remission. If anyone has tips we are all ears. I am sure we will be popping in with questions as we continue on this journey!
 
Welcome to FDMB Pam and Cookie. Glad you found us. Looks like you are finding your way around and got yourself all set up for the forum. And kudos for home testing. That is the best tool we have to keep our furry ones safe and healthy. Glad you only poked yourself once.....one of the hazards of this dance!:woot:

A dose of 1.5u twice daily is a bit higher than we usually recommend. Most kitties are started on a dose of 0.5 to 1.0u unless they are a particularly big cat. We also recommend no shot unless BG at pre-shot is over at least 150. Until you get more data and know how Cookie is responding, shooting at 80 or just above could be dangerous.

Come join us over on the Health Forum with any and al questions you might have and have a peak at the stickies at the top of the Lantus forum for more information on how Lantus works and how to use it. We'll get you through the basics and help you get Cookie feeling top notch again.:D
 
Welcome Pam and Cookie! I am so glad you found FDMB and can get the information and support needed going forward. It sounds like you are really busy right now, full time student with all those exams and studying! Whew.
When you are done with classes and have a few minutes to breathe, please create a signature. This is going to display Cookie's pertinent information when you post. You can see our signatures below our responses in the lighter gray text. Here is a link on how to do that: SIGNATURE
We also use a spreadsheet to record the BG testing, plus the time/dosage of the insulin. It's very useful in seeing just how the insulin is working for Cookie, when the nadir is (lowest BG level in the 12 hour cycle between tests) and is invaluable with determining if dosing is correct. Here is a link to the area where the instructions, and how to understand the grid are found:
SPREADSHEET This spreadsheet is linked in the signature, so that members can readily see insulin effects and patterns.
The FAQs forum here on the board contains information that will also help, and it contains information about Hypos: what that is, how to be prepared, what to do in the event. I hope you never need it, but better safe than sorry. FAQS
Best wishes, I hope you are able to enjoy your holiday vacation from school. :cat:
 
Thank you all for the warm welcome! I worked on my signature earlier today and added Cookie's spreadsheet. I can see it at the bottom of my first my post, but please let me know if no one else can see it.

Now that I've heard back from a few folks I'm a little worried about Cookie's dose. I know weight is taken into consideration with the dose and Cookie is a bit over 18 lbs. Is 1.5 still too much for him given he is a bit on the heavy side?
 
Thank you all for the warm welcome! I worked on my signature earlier today and added Cookie's spreadsheet. I can see it at the bottom of my first my post, but please let me know if no one else can see it.

Now that I've heard back from a few folks I'm a little worried about Cookie's dose. I know weight is taken into consideration with the dose and Cookie is a bit over 18 lbs. Is 1.5 still too much for him given he is a bit on the heavy side?
great job getting everything set up!!
Dogs are dosed based on weight. Cats are dosed based on how they respond to the insulin. Cookies numbers are not much above normal. (I have a good feeling you will not have her on insulin long) You'll want to get as many mid cycle readings as you can. Can you grab some extra tests this weekend? Maybe a before bed test in the evening? Since she's on lantus I would start a dosing thread over there where the lantus experts are. This is just a welcome section.
 
Welcome! I just joined recently too. The folks here are AWESOME and so knowledgable on feline diabetes, more so than many vets (sad to say). you and your baby are in the right place:)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top